Results 2,301 to 2,320 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch
    its where newmarket play their home matches... head out of newmarket on old n18 road. about mile and a half you come to crossroads. there used to be a tractor tyre standing up 'roll on d banner'. turn left there and its out that road a mile... the pitch could be any field but for some reason they put goalposts on this one... i'd be worried leaving a donkey on this pitch that he might hurt himself
    cheers... have heard it was a bit dodgy ... but now i am really worried .. sounds like a c**P pitch

OT in clare champion

Folks, i think everyone should know of the interview that Hugh kelly gave to the clare champion after the clare team lost in west cork. 'The overall display from clare was crap', is the title. it goes on. Hugh manages to blame players , officials, basically everyone but himself. yet again this year the manager has blamed everyone except himself. as i predicted myself earlier in this thread this would happen. no wonder some of the best players in clare wont play for him and i dont blame them.
    Lets start he played 3 centre half with holding player. how many teams in clare play this way?? 1, avenue or maybe there is another . also he played manjer as a winger. he hasn't played in this position for years but hughie decided that he would experiment in this game. he took off ger o'connell who by all accounts was clares best player. he allowed davy wall to stay on after he has said on many occasios that he will take off any player that has been booked as not to risk doing down to 10.
    In fairness Hughie you are living in cookoo land. You have to take all resposibility for losing ... then again y should you be different from any other manager??
    Last edited by plasticpitch; 27/01/2006 at 12:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    cheers... have heard it was a bit dodgy ... but now i am really worried .. sounds like a c**P pitch
    it is... definetley the worst in the whole league

oscar traynor

to be fair lads hughie musnt be too great a manager as the clare team picked was no where near the best available! i heard barry keating laughing at jim madden out in lees rd few months ago saying that the eire og footballers would beat that oscar traynor team in soccer and he was prob right!

it is... definetley the worst in the whole league

Lads lets be honest here, the pitch we are playing on is bad, lets not use it as a whipping post for begrudgers. Newmarket are developing a first class ground which ye will all delight in visiting for years to come.We won alot of league titles playing on some serious cabbage patches down through the years and never used anyones pitch as an excuse. Also Newmarket have built dressing rooms and provided the basic facilities .i.e showers along time before any other club bothered. I remember travelling to away games and depending on the farmer grazing his cows , this decided which field someone threw done a bag of lime on and called it a soccer pitch.

We in Newmarket are trying to develop our own little part of the world and we would appreciate a small bit of commonsense from other so called football clubs. It would be alot easier if the county council built us these facilities but we don't have that luxury.
    I'll update this next year.

Folks, i think everyone should know of the interview that Hugh kelly gave to the clare champion after the clare team lost in west cork. 'The overall display from clare was crap', is the title. it goes on. Hugh manages to blame players , officials, basically everyone but himself. yet again this year the manager has blamed everyone except himself. as i predicted myself earlier in this thread this would happen. no wonder some of the best players in clare wont play for him and i dont blame them.
    Lets start he played 3 centre half with holding player. how many teams in clare play this way?? 1, avenue or maybe there is another . also he played manjer as a winger. he hasn't played in this position for years but hughie decided that he would experiment in this game. he took off ger o'connell who by all accounts was clares best player. he allowed davy wall to stay on after he has said on many occasios that he will take off any player that has been booked as not to risk doing down to 10.
    In fairness Hughie you are living in cookoo land. You have to take all resposibility for losing ... then again y should you be different from any other manager??
    Sounds alot like the **** he was at last year....get rid

Quote Originally Posted by First
    Lads lets be honest here, the pitch we are playing on is bad, lets not use it as a whipping post for begrudgers. Newmarket are developing a first class ground which ye will all delight in visiting for years to come.We won alot of league titles playing on some serious cabbage patches down through the years and never used anyones pitch as an excuse. Also Newmarket have built dressing rooms and provided the basic facilities .i.e showers along time before any other club bothered. I remember travelling to away games and depending on the farmer grazing his cows , this decided which field someone threw done a bag of lime on and called it a soccer pitch.We in Newmarket are trying to develop our own little part of the world and we would appreciate a small bit of commonsense from other so called football clubs. It would be alot easier if the county council built us these facilities but we don't have that luxury.
    Fair play to Newmarket for a)having been the first club to build their own dressing rooms and b)now developing new pitches.But and this is a big but...how on earth does a league committe allow a club to compete in the Premier League that has a cabbage patch as a pitch.I say again I know Newmarket are doing their best but the pitch is not up to any standard to play football on and should not have been accepted.As far as winning trophies on crap pitches it has to be remembered that a serious contributor to those victories was the old Nemarket pitch which noone could play on either.Having said all this I would hate to see Newmarket go down especially in the year they will open the new pitches.They have contributed an awfull lot to Clare football and always battled hard to keep the game alive as the number one sport in the Village.
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 27/01/2006 at 2:45 PM.

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    Fair play to Newmarket for a)having been the first club to build their own dressing rooms and b)now developing new pitches.But and this is a big but...how on earth does a league committe allow a club to compete in the Premier League that has a cabbage patch as a pitch.I say again I know Newmarket are doing their best but the pitch is not up to any standard to play football on and should not have been accepted.
    Would you prefer to have a Premier league without Newmarket, you are around long enough to remember when Clare soccer was using Our Lady's for all matches of importance.

Hopefully the drainage will be ok and we won't have our stalwarts standing in the middle of the field, in their waders ,having their photos taken.

Did anyone object to Newmarkets use of this temporary arrangement?

Did anyone object to Newmarkets use of this temporary arrangement?[/QUOTE]

Was anyone given a choice???

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    Did anyone object to Newmarkets use of this temporary arrangement?

Was anyone given a choice???[/QUOTE]

And if given the choice?

Was anyone given a choice???

And if given the choice?[/QUOTE]

The point is not that anyone would be given the choice.The point is that it is the job of the League Committee to make the right decisions and I am saying that they made a wrong decision allowing that pitch ...no matter who was using it to be allowed in the Premier...even on atemporary basis.Furthermore I have no doubt that the premier would not be as good withour Newmarket but thyat is a seperate issue.

Lads lets be honest here, the pitch we are playing on is bad, lets not use it as a whipping post for begrudgers. Newmarket are developing a first class ground which ye will all delight in visiting for years to come.We won alot of league titles playing on some serious cabbage patches down through the years and never used anyones pitch as an excuse. Also Newmarket have built dressing rooms and provided the basic facilities .i.e showers along time before any other club bothered. I remember travelling to away games and depending on the farmer grazing his cows , this decided which field someone threw done a bag of lime on and called it a soccer pitch.

We in Newmarket are trying to develop our own little part of the world and we would appreciate a small bit of commonsense from other so called football clubs. It would be alot easier if the county council built us these facilities but we don't have that luxury.
    i'm not a begrudger. i'm just stating a fact about the pitch. Clare soccer, i'm sure, has come a long way since the days you talk about and i'm also sure it will never return to those days.
    Currently lifford are devolping their own ground. They have been playing in Ruan for the last couple of years. However the pitch wasn't great and when lees road opened the junior teams agreed unaminously to play on the better surface in lees rd. I think this has been a big factor in our form this year. I hope that newmarket are not relegated but to be honest no team is exempt from relegation and i'm sure that none of the teams in the 1st division care who goes down. The league is very tight and only 5 points seperate 5th and 10th. it is very difficult to say who will be relegated but maybe newmarket home pitch could prove to be there achilles heel.

Results...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Results
    Saturday 28/01/06
    Munster Youths Cup 4th Round
    Rathkeale 1 Newtown 3

Clare U17 Soccer League
    Bunratty Scr Turnpike Rovers W/O

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Newmarket 1 Hermitage 2

Moher Celtic 5 St.Pats 2

Lifford 1 Bridge United 0

Sunday 22/01/06
    Munster Junior Cup 4th Round
    Avenue United 4 (3-1Pens) Star Rovers 4

Nenagh Celtic 2 Newtown A 1

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Lifford A 1 Mountshannon Celtic 1

Bridge Celtic A 1 Rinnanna Rovers A 2

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
    Kilkishen Celtic 1 Connolly Celtic 3

Corofin Harps 4 Moher Celtic 5

Rock Rovers (P-P) Hermitage

Burren United 0 Kilmaley united 2

Shannon Olympic A 5 Avenue United B 3

SEL Print Second Division League
    Cooraclare Celtic 3 St .Pats A 3

Kilrush Rangers 1 Turnpike Rovers 1

Bridge United B (P-P) Kildysart Celtic

Kilkee 3 Tulla United 5

Suttons Lightings Third Division League
    Inch Crusaders 2 Rhine Rovers 4

Newmarket Celtic B 2 Newtown B 2

St.Pats B 3 Bridge Celtic B 2

Rinnanna Rovers B 0 Lifford B 4

Fixtures...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 04/02/06
    Ladies West Senior League
    Lees Road Pitch 4: Clare V Roscommon
    F.Coote 2.00

Clare U17 Soccer League
    Bunratty: Bunratty V Connolly Celtic
    J.Deniffee 2.30

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Ballycasey: Newtown V Bridge United
    A.Murphy 11.00

Fairgreen: Hermitage V Cratloe Celtic
    F.Coote 11.00

Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic V Lifford
    J.Stanford 11.00

Sunday 15/01/06
    Munster Senior Cup 2nd Round
    Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United V Ballinhassig
    Referee: M.O`Brien
    Assistant Referees: P.Cullen, P.Markham 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penalty’s if necessary.

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic A V Lifford A D.McCarthy 11.00

Lees Road Pitch 4: Cratloe Celtic V Rinnanna Rovers A P.Mulready 11.00

Ballycasey: Newtown A V Bunratty
    D.McCarthy 2.30

Scariff: Mountshannon Celtic V Bridge Celtic A P.Sutton 11.00

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
    Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Corofin Harps
    P.Markham 11.00

Kilmaley School: Connolly Celtic V Rock Rovers
    J.Deniffee 2.30

Tiermaclane: Kilmaley United V Avenue United B P.Cullen 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Moher Celtic
    A.Murphy 11.00

SEL Print Second Division League
    Norrie Henchies: Tulla United V Bridge United B
    M.O`Brien 11.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats A V Kildysart Celtic
    F.Coote 11.00

Kilkee: Kilkee V Shannon Olympic B J.Stanford 2.30

Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V Turnpike Rovers
    F.Coote 2.30

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Ennistymon Town
    J.Stanford 11.00

Suttons Lightings Third Division League
    Lees Road Pitch 1: Inch Crusaders V Lifford B

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic V Newtown B
    N.Bennett 11.00

Tiermaclane: Manus Celtic V St.Pats B

did anyone watch the Avenue vs Star game yest? any good?

Quote Originally Posted by see's it
    Entertaining for us neutrals but Avenue management must have been planking it.Avenue can count themselves very lucky to progress.
    The better side for most of the match but 3-1 up with ten mins left they fell apart. Took off Pa Wilson prob their best player (strange decision). Their midfield fell apart and panic set in. Star completely took over. Finished 4-4 after 90mins.
    To be fair they were the better side in extra time once they got re-organised. Strange really cos looking at it we thought they were tired for the last 10mins but then raised it for extra time.
    Any team capable of conceding three goals in 10mins wont go far in this competition. Newtown went down yesterday so not much hope of a Clare team winning a munster or FAI on this evidence.

Quote Originally Posted by see's it
    match was very entertaining. avenue were the better team overall. star had them on the rack and left them off. if star had a bit of pace at the back they would have won. star 1st goal definite off side. i was standing in line with it. star 2nd goal free kick from 30 yards top corner ...great goal. ave 3rd goal very soft star player poor kick out . excellent finish by monaghan. ave keeper injured , defence really didn't inspire. they were muscled around by 2 big lads up front for star.
    extra time avenue stepped up a gear and fitness told. they played on pitch 4 which is a big b#stard.
    penalty shootout bit of an anticlimax after all that went before.
    all in all avenue deserved win ... think they have killarney celtic next

The home side looked like worlbeaters in the first half of this Munster Junior Cup game played on a woeful pitch.Newtown had no answer to the onslaught and should have been behind only for a brillant save by Trevor O'Donnell after a mistake by Noel Donnellan.While quite impressive on the break the visitors defence was torn as under time after time against a faster,hungrier and more aggressive home side.Nenagh got their reward when Ryan Kelly gave the ball away and the Nenagh winger crossed before a shot from 10 yards gave O'Donnell no chance.Celtic cotinued to dominate as they threatened to overun the younger lighter Clare side and went 2 up when a delicate chip caught the Shannon custodian embarrasingly off his line.

A serious metamorphisis took place at half time when the visitors tore into the homeside and the reasonable crowd witnessed a miraculous turnaround
    as the game swung completely in the Shannonsiders favour.Kelly,totally ineffective in the first half now set about beating his full back time after time which eventually led to the defenders substitution.From one of his crosses Declan McDonald expertly slotted home a great shot from 10 yards to add to the homesides collapse 15 minutes into the second period. 10 minutes later Mcdonald was guilty of a terrible miss when David Walls slide rule headed pass
    fell perfectly for him but his one one one effort was saved by the home keeper.MCDonald made ammends 5 minutes later when,with his back to goal he flicked the ball over his head and into the top corner for piece of brillant individual skill.As Newtown celebrated in step the home town linesman to rule the goal out for offside.This was one of many"dodgy" decision by the home officials frequently experienced by Clare teams away from without the pendulum swinging their way on home turf.Despite many periods of injury delays which bordered on the farscical, minimal extra time was added and Newtown went out of this years competition which they handed to the victors because of their inept first half performance against a team that they were clearly more talented than.

lifford

i heard a rumour that lifford slipt up a bit in their quest to win the premier! tragic...

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    Ya such a tragedy!Cant wait for next sunday when they play newmarket.I know a few newmarket lads really up for this one.Everyone wants to beat lifford now.....
    dont know why everyone is so worried... sur the lifford team have no 'bottle'.
    roll on sunday!!