Page 114 of 133 FirstFirst ... 1464104112113114115116124 ... LastLast
Results 2,261 to 2,280 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    i'm lost here " a break from me " .... just wondering why shannon town seems strange choice .. why not the mighty park rangers surely a better standard of football..

as for oscar traynor V clare league matches ... can league actually suspend anybody for refusing to play oscar traynor .. seems very unlikley should it not be left to individuall players to deceide what they want to do ..
    old boy to clear it up for you, I played schoolboy football for both Newtown & Shannon Town in the days when you could play in Limerick in the winter & clare in the summer. When Shannon Town got promoted to the Limerick premier I was approached & having won both the Premier & 1st div titles with Newtown in the previous 3 years( along with relegation/promotion in between) it was a good time to try out the Limerick league. It could only be with Shannon Town as I could never play with the blue jokes. I do have some principles
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

[QUOTE=tommy]
    Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    i'm lost here " a break from me " .... just wondering why shannon town seems strange choice .. why not the mighty park rangers surely a better standard of football..

old boy....if you look back at papa's last few post's you will see that it is Spudd that claims that Papa is Newtown true and true not papa-j himself.

and to add to that,,,players have the right to play for who ever they want...

look at some of the GREATS of Newtown FC that have played with other clubs.....Rocksy played with Park Rangers so did Tom MC Dade...

so its a load of ****e your talking...
    tommy.... if u look back at my posts also u will see i was asking spudd the question ,,, of course you are entitled to play for anybody you want ,,, but again asking question why shannon town over park rangers ... i know rangers are not the most popular club around !!! but would they not be playing a better standard of football & have better facilites ..... so i dont see were i am talking a load of ****e .. you seem to be getting very upset over this

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    old boy to clear it up for you, I played schoolboy football for both Newtown & Shannon Town in the days when you could play in Limerick in the winter & clare in the summer. When Shannon Town got promoted to the Limerick premier I was approached & having won both the Premier & 1st div titles with Newtown in the previous 3 years( along with relegation/promotion in between) it was a good time to try out the Limerick league. It could only be with Shannon Town as I could never play with the blue jokes. I do have some principles
    fair enough.... did not know you had played schoolboy football with shannon town... enough on these post now good principles also

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    rangers are not the most popular club around

theres your answer

i stand corrected

i think we are being very kind & polite saying not the most popular club around..

could think of a few better names , but i might get banned of foot.ie

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    I've been watching this CL/OT debate from the sidelines and it seems obvious to me that no matter what the league do, some people are going to find fault with it. The OT game is down for Saturday, nothing to do with the league. The question facing them was, should they have fixtures on Sunday? Historically, with OT games on a Sunday, the decision was simple, teams with players involven in OT had weekend off and others had games, a couple of seasons ago, when Clare progressed whole programme was called off to allow others go along and support team ... all fair enough. Ordinarily, this weekend you could say same shaould apply, i.e. no games for teams with players on OT, however, some clubs actually wanted to have games regardless, as in some cases, they have MJC games the following weekend and don't want to be heading into that with no game played in 6 or maybe 7 weeks. The league decided to accomodate this situation but now are getting hammered for it. I would imagine that no club will be forced to play this weekend, as has been shown by Olympic. Perhaps, instead of sounding off here, people who have a problem should get on to their clubs to do something about it. As has been mentioned before, league officials do their jobs voluntarily and, so people who aren't happy with their performance should maybe be more constructive in their criticism, come up with suggestions, put yourself up for election, not just get up on your soap-box from a safe distance. Rant over, thank you and good night!!!
    point taken... hope all clare players return from west cork with 3 points and all limbs attached ready for sunday!!

On Sunday the 22nd January Lifford will play Newtown at u16 level in the first official soccer league match to take place in Clare under lights.The game will kick off at 4.15 at the Lees Road all weather pitch.There will also be an under 8s smallsided game at half time between the 2 clubs.All Support and sponsors wellcome

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    I see on A2Z that Lifford are top of the league and Newtown on the bottom...
    A must win game for Newtown and if Lifford win they stay top.

Very small league with only 4 teams in it How many times do they play each other or is it just 1 home and 1 away.... Im sure that when i played under age in clare that there was always about 8 teams at least..

Lee's Road all weather.Great pitch for football... Also a good chance to see the future of Clare soccer....

Wonder would they ever play a junior game there under lights..Oscar Traynor played friendly there.
    Newtown have only played one game so far and lost it.Only reason they entred was to make aleague with 4 teams otherwise there would have been no u16 league which is unusual ,as in the other age groups and other influence is the fact that there is an u-17 league in the Junior league most of their players are u 15.Because of the weather,there have been many cancellations so the original plan to play 3 rounds may go by the wayside.

Oscar Traynors Lose !!!

The Clare Oscar Traynor side lost 1-0 this morning in their clash with West Cork in Skibbereen. That pretty much puts them out of the competition as far as I know. Anybody got any details ??

Results...

Clare conceded with 4 mins to go on Saturday to lose 1-0 and go out of the OT for this year...

Premier Results.

Newtown 3-1 Cratloe
    Bridge Celtic 3-5 Avenue
    Mntshn 2-1 Newmarket
    Lifford 2-0 Bridge Utd

Fixtures...

Lynch Hotels Clare & District Soccer League Fixtures
    Saturday 28/01/06
    Munster Youths Cup 4th Round
    Rathkeale: Rathkeale V Newtown
    Desmond League Officials 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penaltys if necessary

Clare U17 Soccer League
    Bunratty: Bunratty V Turnpike Rovers
    P.Markham 11.00

Gallivan Kennedy Youths League
    Newmarket: Newmarket V Hermitage
    J.Deniffee 11.00

Liscannor: Moher Celtic V St.Pats
    D.McCarthy 11.00

Ruan: Lifford V Bridge United
    J.Stanford 11.00

Sunday 22/01/06
    Munster Junior Cup 4th Round
    Lees Road Pitch 2: Avenue United V Star Rovers (Limerick) Referee: D.McCarthy 2.00
    Assisiant Referees: J.Stanford, P.Cullen

Nenagh: Nenagh Celtic V Newtown A
    North Tipperary Officials 2.00

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time & penaltys if necessary

Maloney Hardware Shannon Premier Division League
    Lees Road Pitch 2: Lifford A V Mountshannon Celtic D.Mccarthy 11.00

O`Briensbridge: Bridge Celtic A V Rinnanna Rovers
    P.Mulready 11.00

Clare Hire & Sales First Division League
    Kilkishen: Kilkishen Celtic V Connolly Celtic
    A.Murphy 2.30

Corofin: Corofin Harps V Moher Celtic
    P.Markham 11.00

Lees Road Pitch4: Rock Rovers V Hermitage
    J.Stanford 11.00

Mullagh: Burren United V Kilmaley united
    P.Cullen 11.00

Shannon: Shannon Olympic A V Avenue United B
    A.Murphy 11.00

SEL Print Second Division League
    Cooraclare: Cooraclare Celtic V St.Pats A

CBS Kilrush: Kilrush Rangers V Turnpike Rovers
    N.Bennett 11.00

Sixmilebridge: Bridge United B V Kildysart Celtic

Kilkee: Kilkee V Tulla United
    P.Markham 2.30

Suttons Lightings Third Division League
    Lees Road Pitch 4: Inch Crusaders V Rhine Rovers

Newmarket: Newmarket Celtic B V Newtown B 11.00

Kilmhill: St.Pats B V Bridge Celtic B

Rinnanna Rinnanna Rovers B V Lifford B

Clare threw away the Oscar Traynor match yesterday.
    Totally on top in first half but just as in the first game couldnt create one single clearcut chance. West Cork dominated second half once Clare went down to ten men. Davy Wall sent off after linesman pulled him for dissent. Clare not happy with the decision. Defence did well under constant pressure and looked to have earned a point with 3-4 mins left. Clare on the attack Rochford heads into the Keepers arms and he kicks long ball down the middle. Heath calls but doesnt hold it and they score from a tap in. Only themselves to blame as didnt create enough chances over the 90min against a very poor side. Playing a centre half (manjr) as a left winger wasn't ever going to work no surprise he was replaced after 20mins - a little unfair to be played out of position. Clare having dominated totally for the first half will feel they could have it wrapped up after 45mins.

Player ratings: Heath (6), Fahy (7), O'Reilly (6), O'Connor (7), Rochford (8), Lawlor (7), O'Malley (8), Jocks (8), Manjr (5), O'Connell (6), Wall (6). Subs Ryan (7), Maxwell (6), Carmody (6)

Quote Originally Posted by the boss
    Where are all the Bridge Utd boys gone today????
    Could they be licking their wounds after losing to the best side in Clare.
    Twice in one season!!
    Just like the premiership ye might as well scrap for second behind the masters.
    Jeez ye are a clever bunch up there in Lifford!!!!!!!

After a good win yesterday ye needed some cocky comments on here today. The rest of the challengers will really lie down and give up after reading this...

Quote Originally Posted by oldspice
    It looks like the boss has recovered from that bump on the head last season .... the one he got from that massive fall he set himself up for. Any chance history could repeat itself??
    Yeah seems strange he did not learn from his mistakes last season on here...

I mean they have played 11 games which is just starting into the 2nd half of the season... Its only now it starts really in the race for the premier.

Who have lifford left to play...

Mntshn
    Newmarket (x2)
    Newtown
    Rineanna
    Bridge Celtic
    Avenue

Nothing easy there....

only lost one league game this season.
    Bring them on we are not afraid of anyone.
    Last year teams thought they could kick us cos we are a young side. Not any more. We are up for the battles this year. None bigger than mountshannon some scores to settle next sunday from last time we played them.

Quote Originally Posted by the boss
    only lost one league game this season.
    Bring them on we are not afraid of anyone.
    Last year teams thought they could kick us cos we are a young side. Not any more. We are up for the battles this year. None bigger than mountshannon some scores to settle next sunday from last time we played them.
    Boss, don't be a muppet. Fair play yesterday, ye put away the two chances ye got. Even though the first one was well against the run of play and a very dubious penalty decision. However it seems Phil Markham can make calls from 60 yards away. I'm sure you don't represent the majority of the Lifford lads who seem down to earth but as the Tayto ad goes 'there's always one'. Fair play, you are the muppet of the day.
    Take six points from a battling Newmarket side and ye will deserve to win the league.

Any other results from yesterday. 1st, 2nd and 3rd divisions please.

With some of the comments made by the Boss you would nearly have to think he is an Avenue/Bridge lad or something trying to rally the other teams into beating Lifford.

Surely no-one can be that stupid to talk about his team like the Boss is with the lg just about half way thru....

I must give John O'Neill a ring later and ask him does he know of any such "Boss".... It might start an interesting conversation in the Lifford dressing room if they know the opinions of 1 such Boss

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    With some of the comments made by the Boss you would nearly have to think he is an Avenue/Bridge lad or something trying to rally the other teams into beating Lifford.

Surely no-one can be that stupid to talk about his team like the Boss is with the lg just about half way thru....

I must give John O'Neill a ring later and ask him does he know of any such "Boss".... It might start an interesting conversation in the Lifford dressing room if they know the opinions of 1 such Boss
    must agree cousin syl.... i dont know of any such boss in lifford dressing room. he can message me to identify himself.
    boss u dont speak on behalf of the lifford club. you are not helping the club and quiet honestly you only come on this site when u have something negative to say about another club. you should learn to be a gracious winner aswell as a gracious loser. i think your comments last stirred newtown and didnt help us. so boss you probably know who i am and i will have no problem shuting your mouth in the dressing room!!!

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch
    must agree cousin syl.... i dont know of any such boss in lifford dressing room. he can message me to identify himself.
    boss u dont speak on behalf of the lifford club. you are not helping the club and quiet honestly you only come on this site when u have something negative to say about another club. you should learn to be a gracious winner aswell as a gracious loser. i think your comments last stirred newtown and didnt help us. so boss you probably know who i am and i will have no problem shuting your mouth in the dressing room!!!
    Fair play PlasticPitch, as I said earlier all the Lifford lads were grand yesterday. No problems during or after the match. Title is for you to lose at this stage. Ye were the best team we have played this year to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
    Fair play PlasticPitch, as I said earlier all the Lifford lads were grand yesterday. No problems during or after the match. Title is for you to lose at this stage. Ye were the best team we have played this year to be honest.
    Ok Prem Rep fair play at least we agree on something then.