Results 2,221 to 2,240 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    What about Shamey Bracken.He was so bad ,one time the manager, Red Austin, had only 11 players and picked him as 12th man.This is a fact!!!!!
    jesus he must have been bad...

anybody else got any stories of bad signings / players
    i'd say every club must have signed this one the player who arrives in town & comes to training telling everybody he played senior league in roscomon / offaly / aul dublin and shows his lack of talent on pitch ..

I dont have the info thats why Im asking.Michael Lydon has to have all this.All thats missing is to publish it.Every other league table including the 9 schoolboy divisions is in the paper on a regular basis.Why are the 17s and youths ommitted??Baffling!!!!
    Not too baffling Shel, I'm guessing that these details are taken directly from a2z, youths and 17's only leagues not updated there so that would make sense. As I said earlier I will try to get updated as soon as possible. Just haven't had a chance to do it.

Yeah i remember a player coming down to olympic, having told a co-worker that he had played for luton youths team only to be let go after he turned eighteen. This guy turned out to be the second worst player i ever saw. That was the year Olympic got one point in the premier.

And the worst???? :-)

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    Newtown Had A Fella Playing For Them About 4 Or 5 Years Back...
    Same Year That Newtown Got Relegated...he Couldn't Get On The Newtown B Team But Somehow He Got To Play For The A Team...maybe Tom Mcdade Would Remember His Name As He Gave Him A Jersey To Play Or Even Papa-j Would Know Him As I Think He Tried To Do A Cantona Kung Fu Kick On Him even tough they were on the same team....he Was Probably The Worst Player I Have Ever Seen In A Newtown Jersey

Should there not be a new thread set up just for the Newtown boys.
    I'll update this next year.

Quote Originally Posted by First
    Should there not be a new thread set up just for the Newtown boys.
    c'mon so first change the subject then give everbody something else to talk about

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    jesus he must have been bad...

anybody else got any stories of bad signings / players
    i'd say every club must have signed this one the player who arrives in town & comes to training telling everybody he played senior league in roscomon / offaly / aul dublin and shows his lack of talent on pitch ..

20 years ago there was a bar man in the Knights who said he could play and had played for Crystal Palace youths.He played half a match for Newtown but said he had to come off at half time saying he wasnt feeling well.He went away there and then but we found out afterwards he had a mild heart attack!!No one can remember his name but he is forever remembered as Crystal Palace!

Another beaut was Lenny the Lion from Laoise.Looked magic in training and nutmegged afew guys.When he finally got a game he was taken off before half because he was so bad and was never seen again.

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    Newtown Had A Fella Playing For Them About 4 Or 5 Years Back...
    Same Year That Newtown Got Relegated...he Couldn't Get On The Newtown B Team But Somehow He Got To Play For The A Team...maybe Tom Mcdade Would Remember His Name As He Gave Him A Jersey To Play Or Even Papa-j Would Know Him As I Think He Tried To Do A Cantona Kung Fu Kick On Him even tough they were on the same team....he Was Probably The Worst Player I Have Ever Seen In A Newtown Jersey
    Trying to forget that season...Stephen Lynch you are talking about. Hes since went on to represent Ireland in the biathlon or triathalon. He was not related to a footballer...the best kick he had that year was the one he tried on me! But I've seen worse, Newtown have had some wonderfully talentless goalkeepers over the years.......
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
    Not too baffling Shel, I'm guessing that these details are taken directly from a2z, youths and 17's only leagues not updated there so that would make sense. As I said earlier I will try to get updated as soon as possible. Just haven't had a chance to do it.

I didnt mean to criticise this site what I meant was why hadnt the league published the tables!!

results

I didnt mean to criticise this site what I meant was why hadnt the league published the tables!!
    if any of yee have u-17 or youths results so far put them in so league tables can be updated.

Cratloe youths results so far

St Pats (h) won 2-1
    Bridge Utd (a) won 1-0
    St Pats (a) won 2-1
    Moher (a) drew 1-1

[QUOTE=hacker]
    Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    have u inside information that the games will be called off if players dont travel..
    I have no inside information... I was making the point that if players are withdrawn from the county panel by clubs then HK and the Clare Lg will not sit back and accept it.
    CL chairman has stated before that any player that refuses to play for the county team will be at risk of being suspended by the lg and not eligible to play for his club games...

I was told Sunday by the Lg that every club with players on the panel was contacted and asked if they wanted to play or not... How true this is I dont know.

I can totally see the point of any club not wanting to play the day after an 8 hour round trip and a game + a session if they win I presume.

We at Bunratty were asked would we like a game and said yes.... We have 1 player on the panel who it looks like will not start. We have had no game since mid December so why not. Rineanna said no game which they are totally entitled to say... 2 players involved who will play 90 mins.

Whats the opinion of Oly, Newmarket, Bridge Utd, Newtown????
    Do ye intend withdrawing players or asking for the Sunday game off????

Heard today that bridge utd are going to use the death of some bridge native that got killed in the states a day or two ago as an excuse to call it off??
    i dont know how true that is or not...
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Whats the opinion of Oly, Newmarket, Bridge Utd, Newtown????
    Do ye intend withdrawing players or asking for the Sunday game off????[/QUOTE]

At Newtown its catch 22. We'll have Davy Wall playing Sat who we obviously want in our team Sunday & normally we would object to this scenario but on the other hand we are away in Nenagh the following Sunday in the MJC & need a game for the benefit of the other players.
    If pitches are playable we will want to play.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd
    Heard today that bridge utd are going to use the death of some bridge native that got killed in the states a day or two ago as an excuse to call it off??
    i dont know how true that is or not...
    Hey Spudd, have a bit of respect would you? The deceased man you speak of was a Bridge player for 10 years before he left for the states plus the Kelly and Murphy families have had much involvement in the club through the years. I don't know what you do at your club but in the Bridge we like to honour past members with a guard of honour. Funeral will not be on until the weekend but at the moment we believe this will be Friday and Saturday so it will not interfere with the game on Sunday.

We cannot wait for Sunday and would want to play whether we had OT involvement or not but until funeral arrangements are confirmed we will not know. So no, it's not an excuse and maybe you should get your facts straight before you suggest we would USE somebody's misfortune to get games postponed.

Thumbs down

Hey Spudd, have a bit of respect would you? The deceased man you speak of was a Bridge player for 10 years before he left for the states plus the Kelly and Murphy families have had much involvement in the club through the years. I don't know what you do at your club but in the Bridge we like to honour past members with a guard of honour. Funeral will not be on until the weekend but at the moment we believe this will be Friday and Saturday so it will not interfere with the game on Sunday.

We cannot wait for Sunday and would want to play whether we had OT involvement or not but until funeral arrangements are confirmed we will not know. So no, it's not an excuse and maybe you should get your facts straight before you suggest we would USE somebody's misfortune to get games postponed.
    Well said Prem Rep, Spudd put brain in gear before posting
    I'll update this next year.

43 Posts
    OK I stand corrrected,must be alzheimers...but I still remember him leaving the winger to go inside and the ball played out to the winger who scored.Was it the same guy (outside left) who scored the penno also???
    i think the wingers name was o'riordian and the guy that scored the pen was no.6 balding fellow with a tash kieran flynn. (9 mins second half)
    cherry midfielder chested ball outside in semi circle played it over top. mannix running across tried to deal with it and it bounced over him. winger stole it hit it at jp who got a touch, under his body and dribbled in.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    would we be talking red & white centre forward (b.C) if so would back up clifford on quote " tried to mark "
    et tu bruti....
    same team different initials. (k.c) different class.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Prem rep Spudd doesn't speak for our club. His comments are well out of order. Our sympathies go to the families involved.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    . Our sympathies go to the families involved.
    That goes for most of us on here.Spudd,show a bit of respect for the Relatives & Friends of the bereaved.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 18/01/2006 at 10:54 AM.

Ot

[QUOTE=tommy]
    Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    Has nothing to do with the club.These players are refusing to play OT unless games are off sunday.Fair play to them at least they have the balls to do this.No other league in the country would treat their players like this.A joke of a league.Oh nearly forgot i hear bunratty also said they didnt want to play sunday.
    Clare league HAHAHA.... can the committee actually be taken seriously after putting matches for lads representing their county the day after a game??
    just remember that Anthony Daly threatened to resign from hurling if any club matches were played while clare were still in the all ireland. it just goes to show that they(clare league committee) haven't a clue... and Jim Madden i know you read this thread from time to time... you should resign if games go ahead cause you obviously don't know what you are doing!!!