Results 2,201 to 2,220 of 2655

Thread: Clare Junior Soccer

Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904
    Foe sheers class, skill and guts theres only one Sean Lyndsay,next Tommy Mcdade a very cute centrfoward,also played cetre half and won Newtowns first league as a midfield general.Dont forget Rocksy for great guts and energy and he did it up till he was about 50!!!Donal Magee Snr was also rock solid and great in the air at centre half even though he wasnt a big man.What a bout Alan Meehan??
    would only disagree on one of above ... alan meehan good player
    but did not play long enough to mentioned with players above ..

how about steve russell tought tackling full back .. i stiil have a few bruises left even now

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan
    All clubs with players involved were contacted and asked if they wanted to play next Sunday or not. Rineanna were the only team to say they would prefer not to play. All other teams asked to play....

Good call from the Lg to give clubs the choice. Lets give them some credit when its due...
    ya fair play. Some teams have munster games on 28th & wont have played
    in the last 4 weeks so all league games are welcome.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Also good to see that if the weather picks up a bit we may be finished leagues by March instead having to play three times a week in April and May.

We weren't contacted either but we are in favour ofplaying Sunday so it wouldn't have mattered.

Quote Originally Posted by old boy

would only disagree on one of above ... alan meehan good player
    but did not play long enough to mentioned with players above ..

how about steve russell tought tackling full back .. i stiil have a few bruises left even now

Agreed,I tossed for Steve or Alan but Alan played for Munster but you are right Steve was there along time at full back or midfield.One mistake ...how could I forget Brendan(Oscar) Mackell.. the vulture.A gem..........pity we have to look back abit for the best though!!!!!

Angry Youths and Under 17s

Cousinsyl,
    Have you any influence to get the league to publish the Youths and u-17 league table????????????????????

Agreed,I tossed for Steve or Alan but Alan played for Munster but you are right Steve was there along time at full back or midfield.One mistake ...how could I forget Brendan(Oscar) Mackell.. the vulture.A gem..........pity we have to look back abit for the best though!!!!!
    ah the good old days, when men were men. Before shinguards & when you could pass back to the keeper, when shorts were so tight your legs went numb from the lack of circulation.The old rose tinted glasses, it always happens to those in the twilight of their years
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Cousinsyl,
    Have you any influence to get the league to publish the Youths and u-17 league table????????????????????
    It would be done no problem to do it if the results were given to us every week. Also all results so far to date would be needed to catch up to date and get the current lg table....

Is there any way we could get this info.

Prem,
    I wonder could Ml. Ly help us out here to get this sorted.... Poor old Shels has been looking for this for ages... It needs to be done though to be fair.

[QUOTE=Prem,
    I wonder could Ml. Ly help us out here to get this sorted.... Poor old Shels has been looking for this for ages... It needs to be done though to be fair.[/QUOTE]

I'll have a look today, go through all the old reports. Shel's let me know the teams involved in both and I'll set up with the info I have received. Ye can fill the gaps after that.

yes a lot of good players mentioned there a pity as you said have to go back a few years for these players...

of current team probally only davy wall could be added to list above what u think ..

The current newtown teams very young,impossible to pick one or two out of it unless you have supernatural powers and can predict the future.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Hacker, Glad to hear it. About time too. Club football should be more important in any case, its what we are playing and training for week in, week out.

tommy, I didnt realise it was in skibereen. Could they not find a neutral ground and play it midweek? I'm all for lads representing their counties but if its going to ruin the league then something has to be done.

CousinSyl, yes, they deserve credit if indeed they did contact the clubs involved for their input, but if they didnt contact ALL clubs involved(see Hackers comment) then it was just a token effort. Its the thought that counts I suppose, lets hope they get it right the next time.

For the Newtown lads, must agree, Sean lindsay is a legend. Tough as nails and a class footballer to boot. As for Rocksy, he was a character alright!! Not sure he was a footballing legend, but I only caught the end of his "career" (35+) . How was he in his younger days??? Never saw Tommy Mc play.

Quote Originally Posted by OpenGoal
    Hacker, Glad to hear it. About time too. Club football should be more important in any case, its what we are playing and training for week in, week out.

tommy, I didnt realise it was in skibereen. Could they not find a neutral ground and play it midweek? I'm all for lads representing their counties but if its going to ruin the league then something has to be done.

CousinSyl, yes, they deserve credit if indeed they did contact the clubs involved for their input, but if they didnt contact ALL clubs involved(see Hackers comment) then it was just a token effort. Its the thought that counts I suppose, lets hope they get it right the next time.

For the Newtown lads, must agree, Sean lindsay is a legend. Tough as nails and a class footballer to boot. As for Rocksy, he was a character alright!! Not sure he was a footballing legend, but I only caught the end of his "career" (35+) . How was he in his younger days??? Never saw Tommy Mc play.
    crazy that clubs are expected to release players for oscar traynor the day before league matches... would agree club football would be more important.... cannot understand either why all clubs involved in oscar traynor were not contacted either.. was it a case of only telling the chosen few clubs...
    rocksy was apparently a class full back in his really younger days
    palyed a copuple of seasons in limerick ( with a good mungret team )
    and i may be wrong here he even won a clare sports award ?

I'm not arguing that some clubs were asked and some were not. I know Bunratty were asked and said we would play and Rineanna were asked and said they would prefer not to...as they are entitled to.

However I think withdrawing players from the OT team cos of a club game on Sunday will not solve things.... ie. its not going to happen.
    If players are withdrawn from OT team the clubs game on Sunday will be called off. You can be sure of that much.

Best of luck to HK and his team Saturday by the way. Not sure where all these negative vibes come from when it comes to OT. I think we should all get behind the team anyway and support them.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd
    The current newtown teams very young,impossible to pick one or two out of it unless you have supernatural powers and can predict the future.
    fair point... but would not agree with very young newtown team

the games i have seen newtown play in a lot of good older players
    lindsay / stretton / donnelan / coyle / alford

out of the younger player s .. butler looks a good prospect

hopefully newtown can keep them all for the next few years and start getting more consistent week in week out on the pitch and get back up to contesting the league title ..

Quote Originally Posted by Prem Rep!
    I'll have a look today, go through all the old reports. Shel's let me know the teams involved in both and I'll set up with the info I have received. Ye can fill the gaps after that.
    I dont have the info thats why Im asking.Michael Lydon has to have all this.All thats missing is to publish it.Every other league table including the 9 schoolboy divisions is in the paper on a regular basis.Why are the 17s and youths ommitted??Baffling!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by old boy
    yes a lot of good players mentioned there a pity as you said have to go back a few years for these players...

of current team probally only davy wall could be added to list above what u think ..
    Well I have to say that Jay Stretton was my all time favourite....but at left back!!!And thats hard to say with Glenn Coyle having stared in that position for so long.

And the fact that all of the old boys I mentioned played Oscar Traynor for so long has to stand up as a real measure and not a mist covered glimpse of the past.Someone else thought they were good also.The Oscar Traynor managers who picked them???

Quote Originally Posted by tommy
    I think yer all forgeting the 1 and only ..............ALEX...wHAT A PLAYER
    did not forget just did not even consider alex .. ( what a player is being very kind to him ) but he is the 1 & only

While we are being silly, why not include the one and only Andy O'mahoney too :-)

Newtown Greats

What about Shamey Bracken.He was so bad ,one time the manager, Red Austin, had only 11 players and picked him as 12th man.This is a fact!!!!!