Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: World Player Of The Year

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Would that be the game he set up the fist goal and scored the winner in then?
    Lads I'm kinda playing a bit of devil's advocate here as I've the upmost respect for Ronaldinho - it's just the one rule for one, one rule for another vibe I don't get. Maybe you just don't like the man, I dunno, but I can't see how so may respected people in world football rate Henry and yet he get's rubbished here.

I have heard many people critisise Henry for his sending off agianst Uraquay in 2002 and rightly so but now we seem to be saying here that because Ronaldinho scored a goal the act of pure petulance he committed on the sending off can be over looked. It's possible that against a better team he could have cost his country the game. He missed the sem-final. He got lucky becuase his actions could have had as bad reprecusions as Beckham's infamous kick with Simone and we all know what the media did with that.

Had that been Henry I get the feeling it would be off to Spike Island as opposed to well what about the goal, maybe I'm wrong. It seems we can tolerate negativity in people we like in this country (me included when it comes to Vieria & co) & like Roy Keane for example in some people's eyes.

People here are talking about Brazilans been role models & by far the best team and playing with a smile etc.... yet two of their players in Ronaldinho and Rivaldo(for the worst acting ever against Turkey) in that particular tournament displayed characteristics of unsporting behaviour of the highest order. That wasn't forgotten by me in the hype of winning - brazilian footballers possibly come with more hype than even sky sports could produce and people often overlook the reality of the situation!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Sendings off don't effect his ability as a footballer, I don't hold any of Henrys red cards against him. Just as a footballer, Ronnie is better and is better than anyone, not that Henry isn't a great player, he is, he's just no Ronaldinho.

by that logic then zidane should win it every year .

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    by that logic then zidane should win it every year .
    How so? Zidane was not the best player over the past 12 months so how by that logic should he win it?

well u said henry is no ronaldinho so by that i thought you were speaking about their relative skills as a player not about the football they have played over the last 12 months.

Well, going by what they've shown over the past 12 months Henry is no Ronaldinho imo anyway, and that's what the award is based on. Though speaking about their relative skills as a player it'd still be true imo.

seeing as you said previously that you have never watched a premiership match how can you judge these premiership players. thats like all the barstoolers who dont watch the eL but still say its crap

Because ive seen the players hes mentioned playing in european competition and at international level. Havent seen a premiership match on TV but ive been to one (Aston villa v Tottenham Hotspur) as i used to travel to the midlands of england fairly often. Have to say it was a crap match with a crap atmosphere.

Maybe seeing these players playing against teams other than West Brom and the likes and not listening to Sky schmultz gives me a better perspective.
    Last edited by eoinh; 21/12/2004 at 10:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    Lads I'm kinda playing a bit of devil's advocate here as I've the upmost respect for Ronaldinho - it's just the one rule for one, one rule for another vibe I don't get. Maybe you just don't like the man, I dunno, but I can't see how so may respected people in world football rate Henry and yet he get's rubbished here.
    if anything its ronaldinho I don't like seeing as he plays for that shower of shít from catalunya. Henry is a superb player- one of the best. Just not better than Ronaldinho

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    if anything its ronaldinho I don't like seeing as he plays for that shower of shít from catalunya. Henry is a superb player- one of the best. Just not better than Ronaldinho

just a quick question - away from the whole ronnie V henry debate

why do you hate catlan so much?

i see you hate Shels as well !!

He has a thing against good teams

gypsyfella
    just seems to be a bitter wee sod- rare for Cork eh!

Just for interest purposes, thought I'd have a look at the 2004/2005 stats for the 3 players - You can see from the stats that while Ronaldinho has a huge influenence on his team, Henry & Shevchenko deliver an amazing strike rate and are vital to their teams success.

Ronaldinho

Brazil - 1 game, 1 Goal (strike rate: goal a game)
    Champions League - 5 games, 2 Goals (strike rate: 1 goal every 2.5 games)
    La Liga - 15 games, 3 Goals (strike rate: 1 goal every 5 games)

Henry

France - 5 games, 1 Goal (strike rate: 1 goal every 5 games)
    Champions League - 6 Games, 4 Goals (strike rate: 1 goal every 1.5 game)
    Premier League - 18 games, 15 Goals (strike rate: 1 goal every 1.2 game)

Shevchenko

Ukraine - 4 games, 4 goals (strike rate: goal a game)
    Champions League - 5 games, 3 goals (strike rate: I goal every 1.6 games)
    Serie A - 13 games, 11 goals (strike rate: 1 goal every 1.18 games)

Just for interest purposes, thought I'd have a look at the 2004/2005 stats for the 3 players - You can see from the stats that while Ronaldinho has a huge influenence on his team, Henry & Shevchenko deliver an amazing strike rate and are vital to their teams success.
    That's an unfair comparison, Ronaldinho is not an out and out striker, you can't measure the influence of a player like him in statistics.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    That's an unfair comparison, Ronaldinho is not an out and out striker, you can't measure the influence of a player like him in statistics.
    Theirry Henry was never been an out and out stiker either btw but do
    agree with ya on Ronaldinho and I did say I did it out of interest. I posted a comment from Ronaldinho himself a few posts back saying he he wasn't near Henry and Shevchenko when it comes to finishing and he is right.

It was others in this thread who claimed the goalscoring record of Henry was reason enough to not be considered in the same league as Ronaldinho & Shevchenko particulary in reference to champions league etc.
    I knew that was ridiculous before looking at the stats. Unfortunetly some people can't see past goals scored as a measure of talent (people even suggesting that Ronaldinho had to put up with more difficult defences as a way of covering his lack of a prolific goal scoring record). Ronaldinho may not be prolific but he certainly makes up for it in other areas and I believe Henry combines elements of the flare & skill of Ronaldinho with a similar proflific strike rate to Shevchenko.

Quote Originally Posted by oconghc2
    just a quick question - away from the whole ronnie V henry debate

why do you hate catlan so much?
    I'm a Real Madrid fan. Have been for years, and lived there for a while. So it kinda goes with the territory

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I'm a Real Madrid fan. Have been for years, and lived there for a while. So it kinda goes with the territory
    Good stuff Eanna, you can be the lone voice boo-ing Ludovic Guily while the rangers hating lads boo Boumsong when we play France at Lansdowne!

I'll listen out for ya, just don't go boo-ing Henry or this thread could turn ugly in the future!!

Good stuff Eanna, you can be the lone voice boo-ing Ludovic Guily while the rangers hating lads boo Boumsong when we play France at Lansdowne!
    nah. You won't find me at landsdowne I'm afraid. I feel like I've left the country every time I go there. Anyway, its an international- club football is forgotten.

Likkle Ludo ain't worth booing anyway

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123