Thread: Best Irish band?

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    ya have to agree bout hte saw doctors,

the saw doctors played in a little village outside madison in wisconsin, to a huge crowd and got a great response. they would outsell (concert wise) a load of bands globally. snow patrol only big in ireland and england.

ya im going to see them in brixton, i mean the pogues like, its their last nite, hopefully they will be good.
    I hope the pogues will be as good tonight as they were on monday. If you werent sure where you're going, come out of the station, and turn right, 2 mins down the road, on the left hand side. Was drinking in the beehive before hand, think it was a whetherspoons, so nice a cheap. Yuo pass that on the way to the venue.

The great thing about music, is everyone likes different stuff. For those who like the saw Docs, fair play, for those who dont, your missing a good night out when they play live, but each to their own.

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    ya my sister doesnt like the saw doctors at all, she would see it all as a bit stupid and country, but she saw them live once and said the atmosphere is unreal and she had a great nite, though she said she wouldnt go out and buy their cd she would def go again some time to see them. She also said everyone should go at some stage to a saw doctors gig cos they offer so much live
    Best description of the Doctors ever...."Designer Bog Music"

Great craic though

Does anyone have The Stunnings 'Brewing up a storm' on Mp3 that they can mail me????

U2 have to be up there, they've just being doing it for so long. quality.

personally any of the following would be there or thereabouts:
    Sawdoctors- great live and some really funny stuff.
    Dubliners- absolute class.
    Snow Patrol- love that album
    Paddy Casey- good albums and excellent live
    The Pogues- way better than they get credit for.
    Wolfe Tones- good for a session, and have some good ballads. (just don't take it all to heart )
    The Sultans- quality
    Ash- possibly my favourite group. Top notch
    Rory Gallagher- class.
    Free Beer- used to play trad sessions up in Limerick. Superb live.
    Christy Moore- surprised he hasn't got a mention up to now (or Planxty for that matter) Funny, serious and some very good commentary on Ireland over the last 40 years

No competition, the best Irish band ever Nun Attax\5 Go Down To The Sea.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son
    No competition, the best Irish band ever Nun Attax\5 Go Down To The Sea.
    well said that man!!!!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Free Beer- used to play trad sessions up in Limerick. Superb live.
    You are joking? A shower of mediocre pretty boys at best...

144 Posts
    The Frank and Walters boy!
    Tonight, Cruiscin Lan, Douglas Street
    Can't wait.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    You are joking? A shower of mediocre pretty boys at best...
    I always enjoyed going to see them. There was always a great atmosphere in the hurlers when they were playing.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    I always enjoyed going to see them. There was always a great atmosphere in the hurlers when they were playing.
    Well each to their own of course but I can't pretend not to be disappointed in you!

They're the lowest common denominator in my eyes, a sorta musical Big Mac...

It's not ALL about how good the band are, its about how enjoyable the gigs are too- and like i said, the atmosphere was always class up there

a sorta musical Big Mac...
    nice one SLK, post of the week

TOP 3 (From France )

in no order

Shane mcGowan
    Dubliners
    U2

Joyeux Noel .

Well each to their own of course but I can't pretend not to be disappointed in you!

Have never seen them but have heard that they are utterly brutal.
    Add to that the fact that in pretty much every college town in every country I've visited there's been a somewhere between dodgy and woeful pub band calling themselves Free Beer (where's the "roll eyes" emoticon?) and I'm willing to trust my sources on this one.

They seem to play frequently at those deviant "county colours nights" I've mentioned before that at least one of our colleges organise on a regular basis where freckly lads get woody eyeing up their sisters and cousins in wexford jerseys.

I can only guess the setlist.... slaughter a few U2 songs, crash a train into a sped up version of Dirty old town, bit of christy (moore and dignam), studentesque ripping of the hole outta Everybody hurts, ...then maybe a few "rebel songs" (where's that goddamn "roll eyes" emoticon?)
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

84 Posts
    Stiff Little Fingers
    Rory Gallagher
    The Undertones
    Luke Kelly
    The Pouges
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

U2
    Shane Mc Gowan
    The Saw Doctors
    Paddy Casey
    Rory Gallagher
    The Wolfe Tones

The Corrs, yer havin' a laugh - they're pants
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    I can only guess the setlist.... slaughter a few U2 songs, crash a train into a sped up version of Dirty old town, bit of christy (moore and dignam), studentesque ripping of the hole outta Everybody hurts, ...then maybe a few "rebel songs" (where's that goddamn "roll eyes" emoticon?)
    nearly all rebel songs actually. and they're damn good at them too.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie
    Have never seen them but have heard that they are utterly brutal.
    Add to that the fact that in pretty much every college town in every country I've visited there's been a somewhere between dodgy and woeful pub band calling themselves Free Beer (where's the "roll eyes" emoticon?) and I'm willing to trust my sources on this one.
    Brutal is only the tip of the iceberg, there are four lads, one of them is talented, one of them looks pretty and the other two are there because they're friends of the first two.

Allow me to for both of us!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I was thinking about this the other day and there's no doubt that U2 are one of the greatest bands in the world but what also struck me was the fact that no countries have had such an impact on music globally as Ireland and Britain have. People may argue that America has, but most American bands are surrounded by hype and fail to live up to expectation. They fall away after their second or third album.
    Many of the US success stories will tell you that their influence was a British or Irish band.
    I hate to say it Peadar, but there's one simple answer to why Ireland has boxed above it's weight on the world music scene. And the world Literature, TV, entertainment scenes etc etc. It's the English Language.

If we were churning out the same books, tunes, TV shows, films etc as Gaeilge, no bugger would have heard of them (although Inis Cuil has recently been bought by Dutch TV ).

It hurts to say it, but the only good thing about having your national language deliberately decimated by an outsider is when the language the outsider forces on you instead turns out to be the world's main one...

I'm sure there's plenty of good bands in other European countries - we just never get to hear them.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harpskid

The Corrs, yer havin' a laugh - they're pants
    Yes Chris, I agreeThe Coors are pants but at least their lookers, but Ash are just plain old fashioned pants
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast