Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Best Irish band?

Sultans of Ping were apparently very very big in Japan -which in money terms is comparable with being huge in Britain AND Germany at the same time.

In the second half of the 90's the Cranberries apparently sold the vast majority of their records in the non-English speaking territories of the world (wonder why that was? )
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Says it all about Japan when the Sultans of Ping can make it!!

Tha Cranberries were huge in America before they made it in Europe and are still a big draw in Asia today,I'm not into them myself,the first album was ok at the time,nothing great but sold alot,thanks to Linger.

Did no one mention Rory Gallagher? Theres a street named after him in France, He's sort of a band in his own kind of way.. U2 are obviously the best band to come out of this country, Im sure if there was a vote theyd win.. Or thin lizzy? How bout the saw doctors

Best Irish Band?

Yiz are all a bunch of children..... How is it none of ye even mentioned Horslips?

As regards some other bands who should be considered for any top 10 list who were Irish some successful others not....
    In no particular order: The Boomtown Rats; The Lookalikes; The Atrix; Stepaside; The Pop Mechanics; Les Enfants; Tuesday Blue (sadly neglected Limerick Band of the late 1980's and early 1990's) oh and representing the Occupied territories... Mama's Boys

And ones who qualify under FIFA Rules;
    Oasis, The Beatles, The Finns, Crowded House, Split Enz ( them Finn boys do get around)

Rory Gallagher should be considered under solo artists he was a real breakthorugh artist. Taste featuring Rory should be considered above too as should Them ( Van the Man), Skid Row ( Phillo and Gary Moore)
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 21/12/2004 at 10:52 PM.

Horslips were truely shocking.....

I used to like them for awhile, in a kind of "great for a mad ceili type dance when you were half-****ed" way, but there is not a single piece of theirs that has stood the test of time, with the very, very arguable exception of Dearg Doom.
    I had forgotten about John Borrowman and The Atrix, and the Rats did do some fine stuff, but
    The Lookalikes? , signed by Rod Stewarts label ?, and never made a decent record after?
    Stepaside? = MOR borefest
    RUBBISH!

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    Says it all about Japan when the Sultans of Ping can make it!!

Tha Cranberries were huge in America before they made it in Europe and are still a big draw in Asia today,I'm not into them myself,the first album was ok at the time,nothing great but sold alot,thanks to Linger.
    Says it all about Japan? what that they can think for themselves every once in a while and not like something just coz Tom Dunne, NME or Q told them to like it. The Japanese also buy U2 CDs in record numbers -what does that say about them?

Agreed about the Cranberries btw. Had to make it to the US top ten before they were asked to do the late late. compared with Boyzone who hadn't made a record yet being on a few weeks earlier coz Louis the cnut phoned and asked could the late late give one of his new "acts" a leg up. I'm telling ye this is a deeply corrupt land.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    AYE agree with ye tuff paddy -- again -- saw doctors are one of hte best acts live. And they write some very funny tunes.

oh the green and red of mayo i can see it sitll
    its soft and craggy bog lands
    its tall majestic hills
    where hte ocean kissess ireland and the waves caress its shores
    oh the feeling it came over me to stay forever more, foreeeeeeeever moooooooooreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!
    Superb band, such a great atmosphere live. i saw them 2 weeks ago in Shepherds bush, and it was fantastic.
    Also managed to see the pogues on Monday night. Absolutley amazing. Shane Mcgowan was on excellent form, and although no one could understand him when he was speaking, his singing is still excellent. A great night, made only better by the fact I got given the tickets as an xmas bonus at work. Happy days!

Therapy?
    Snow Patrol
    The Fat Lady Sings
    Whipping Boy
    U2
    Thin Lizzy
    Wilt/Kerbdog
    Reamonn (Irish singer/German band)
    Undetones

How in God's name has nobody else mentioned Therapy?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    How in God's name has nobody else mentioned Therapy?
    I did! :P
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    I did! :P
    Oh

Well done then!

THERAPY ??

greatest irish band ever??
    i think not

The Sawdoctors..don't make me laugh, they're pish!!,complete and utter pish!

Although not the best, i'm into ASLAN me-self. Class act like em or not. Playing in Bray tonight aswell. Weh hey....
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Quote Originally Posted by pronane
    babysis im going to see them tonight

hears hoping the fact it isnt the last nite it wont be the worst and will actually be the best.

cant fooken wait.

where in shepberds bush did they play?? was it in that place beside the walkabout?? damn didnt know about that would like to have gone.
    The pogues were on Monday night in Brixton, and the Saw Doctors were in the hammersmith appollo (I think - was a wee bit drunk)!

Who has sold the most , reckon it would be U2 , Westlife , Cheiftains?

Quote Originally Posted by James
    THERAPY ??

greatest irish band ever??
    i think not
    All about opinions James old man. Personally I can't stand the idea of giving that accolade to a band whose career has only lasted as long as it has by subtly chasing trends and pandering to the masses. I think U2 are an alright band but they're hit and miss to me, brilliant at times, rubbish at times, often on the same album.

For example, on 'All That You Can't Leave behind'

'Walk On' - great song
    'Elevation' - complete and utter pish that for some reason people nodded their heads to...

The greatest band ever is gonna have different criteria for everybody. Obviously if you ran a poll then U2 would win. All that proves is that the masses make a lot of mistakes. If you polled 100 people in the street at random they'd show more interest in English football than Irish football and I doubt that many people here would agree with the popular view there!

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    For the record, The Saw Doctors are more of an Irish band than Therapy or Snow Patrol. How many people would drive to Manchester on a freezing winter's night to see Snow Patrol or to sample the "craic" at a Therapy gig?
    QED
    You serious? You really think that the Saw Doctors pull bigger crowds than Snow Patrol? I'd probably give you Therapy? But man

the saw Doctors have gone the distance, and are still extremely popular. Their gigs sell out very quickly, and the attract a huge cross section of people. They are also huge in America. Says it all, I think they are great.

Fair enough your into them,to me they are a pantomine act who attract homesick Irish punters who are up for a bit of "craic"

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    the saw Doctors have gone the distance, and are still extremely popular. Their gigs sell out very quickly, and the attract a huge cross section of people. They are also huge in America. Says it all, I think they are great.
    Not disputing any of that Babysis (except for the huge in American bit, huge in America means doing a Hootie or Def Leppard and hitting 20 million in record sales. Touring Irish bars and packing them doesn't constitute huge for me personally). I certainly wouldn't have any fault with your championing of them but right now the Saw Doctors (much like my horse Therapy?) are a niche band, good for getting a crowd going at the odd festival but effectively preaching to the converted. They certainly can't compare to Snow Patrol right now, a band who are on the up and have the record sales to prove it.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast