Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: LOI Fixtures 23rd/24th October

86 Posts
    I'm trying to figure out if this is a wind-up by the Dundalk fans.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    I'm trying to figure out if this is a mass wind-up by the Dundalk fans.
    Shure it is.
    We're all still drunk here hey don't ya know!
    As the FAI cup final gets closer the more we'll wind it up!
    We'll also be expecting a guard of honour that day to!

Last edited by Dunny; 24/10/2015 at 7:46 AM.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo Escobar View Post
    I'm trying to figure out if this is a wind-up by the Dundalk fans.
    Na Kid they do wind ups....sure some of their own are being wound up so if thats the case. Don't mind them.

271 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    St.Pats = waste of space of a football club this season
    leave the club out of this , useless football team is more accurate we were absolutely crap last night.

3,223 Posts
    Really frustrating game in the Bowl last night. Goal for Harps inside 30 seconds. We get more and more into the game and by the second half are dominating possession; Harps are mainly hoofing clear and waiting for the ball to return. Kevin McHugh should have been sent off for blatant timewasting inside 30 seconds. First actually picking up a ball when we'd placed it for a free (he was booked for that), then less than a minute later blocking a free from two yards away (amazingly, the ref allowed play on).

By any measure of the game other than goals scored, we were far better than Harps. Unfortunately, goals scored is the only measure used. Just got to be satisfied with seeing Benson back, and knowing if we go to Donegal next week with the team that ended last night (none of this Swaninho on the wing crap), we still have a great chance of winning.

But in general - **** football.

Also, the disallowed Harps goal that went straight in from a throw was funny.

2,346 Posts
    Really frustrating game in the Bowl last night. Goal for Harps inside 30 seconds. We get more and more into the game and by the second half are dominating possession; Harps are mainly hoofing clear and waiting for the ball to return. Kevin McHugh should have been sent off for blatant timewasting inside 30 seconds. First actually picking up a ball when we'd placed it for a free (he was booked for that), then less than a minute later blocking a free from two yards away (amazingly, the ref allowed play on).

By any measure of the game other than goals scored, we were far better than Harps. Unfortunately, goals scored is the only measure used. Just got to be satisfied with seeing Benson back, and knowing if we go to Donegal next week with the team that ended last night (none of this Swaninho on the wing crap), we still have a great chance of winning.

But in general - **** football.

Also, the disallowed Harps goal that went straight in from a throw was funny.

Was actually thinking about it on the way back. Every single Harps fan I talked to after the game bemoaned how disgraceful the refereeing was. In reality, he was crap for both sides. Had a couple of major calls on the night, bottled one or two of them, got another few right.

UCD penalty appeals. Booking for a dive was spot on, I'll have to see the handball incident again but it would have been a soft penalty in either case.

McHugh just showed all his experience last night. Sending him off would have been ludicrous. McHugh wasn't even given a chance to walk away from the free kick, and I'd say that's why the ref played on. It was stupidity on the part of the UCD player to simply place the ball on the ground and kick it off McHugh.

UCD played much the better football at times, but wasted possession far too much. Horgan said so after the game he was very disappointed with Harps performance, and a lot of Harps fans were more-so breathing a sigh of relief than celebrating a brilliant win. We have played so, so much better recently, but grinding out the win is the most important stat.

I'm convinced Conor O'Donnell got a fingertip to the throw that went into the net. That'll be interesting to see again. UCD players were walking away thinking they'd conceded a second goal.

Furious that the referee done everything to let UCD back into the game though. The amount of really ridiculous free kicks awarded to UCD when chasing the game was mind-blowing.

Delighted with the win though, the game in Finn Park is going to be huge next week. There's set to be a bumper crowd too which will really help.

3,223 Posts
    Funny, we were giving out that the ref was letting everything go - mostly heavy Harps challenges. Football fans, eh?

Agree the "penalty" at the end was a dive. The other penalty wasn't one either - not sure it even hit the guy's hand at all, but it was blasted at him from two yards away, so never a penalty anyway.

O'Donnell had a complete brain fart (his one per game) getting caught under the bounce of the throw, but presumably rescued himself by not touching it in the end. So crap physical goalkeeping just about averted by good mental goalkeeping. Maybe time in my mind slowed down on the McHugh thing - I reckoned he had time to move away, in which case he should have been sent off. Maybe not though.

Will completely disagree though that we got a lot of ridiculous free kicks. Harps are a physical side, and conceding free kicks is part of that. Though in fairness, ye've moved much towards the fair side of physical than earlier in the year, when ye were just dirty (as shown by seven yellows and a red).

Still. We know we can win, which is something. Going to be a different game in Harps of course.

2,346 Posts
    Going to be a much more different game alright in Finn Park. Ciaran Coll shouldn't have played last night due to tonsillitis (although I'm glad he did so now), and he'll hopefully be fit for next week. Nathan Boyle also on the bench didn't play due to a back injury.

If we have a fully fit squad next week, I'm confident we'll see it out comfortably with a much better performance in front of a big home crowd.

A huge queue of people outside the gate didn't get in before the kick-off and I know of a a minimum of one Harps fan that was fed up waiting and climbed over the fence and potentially a few more that followed him. You'd almost think UCD weren't expecting a big crowd..

Goal here, before half the crowd got in the gate:

Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 24/10/2015 at 10:50 AM.

364 Posts
    The away unbeaten record by Dundalk has been confirmed as a new club record, previously the closest was one defeat in each of 4 separate seasons, all were league winning years too.

It turns out our only defeat on the road this year was away to BATE, but I can think of one that we certainly got out of jail, Towell equalising in the 94th min away to Bohs at the end of August.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Gary bloody Shaw breaks his goal-less steak on 30 games or something like that. 3 mins in and Town are 1 up. He's been a bit unlucky to date, he's better than that record suggests.
    it was actually 31 games in all competitions for Shawsy. I remember Paul Keegan went through somethin like that from the start of the season when he scored his first goal in the FAI Cup final 2004.
    Unbelieveably for someone who hasnt scored in a long while Gary is only one behind in the top scorer list! Sully on 7 and Shawsy on 6 in all competitions!

81 Posts
    [QUOTE=strikeforce;1844912]
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Cork show their class and don't offer Dundalk a guard of honour.[/QUOTE
    Class ..... you talk of class when your team try their level best to get opposing players sent off every week. At it again tonight at every opportunity, for a team that claim to be the physically strongest team in the league they were falling like leaves from a tree tonight.
    Nonsense, absolute nonsense. Cork were very dirty last night and very lucky to not have a lot more than three booked or even a player or two sent off. Your players are so off they pace they could only kick Dundalk players. I'm even giving you the benefit of the doubt that it was intentional as the Cork players reactions were so slow they may not have even meant it!!

As for the guard of honour. What a load of ******. If players want to congratulate each other do it in the tunnel or shake their hand after the game. Expecting somebody to clap you on to the pitch is something you'd expect in a Disney movie.

151 Posts
    Yeah, you can see that the place was packed alright.

122 Posts
    Ended 1-1 at the Carlisle Grounds. Still not mathematically safe but it would require us to lose to Pats at home next Friday, Drogheda to win and a seven goal swing.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Ended 1-1 at the Carlisle Grounds. Still not mathematically safe but it would require us to lose to Pats at home next Friday, Drogheda to win and a seven goal swing.
    Some things are more certain than mathematics.

Congratulations on staying up. Galway tried to play football this season. Next season will be the better for the experience.

364 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    Now you know how big that point was you got away to Dundalk last week, well deserved too may I add.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I know of a a minimum of one Harps fan that was fed up waiting and climbed over the fence and potentially a few more that followed him. You'd almost think UCD weren't expecting a big crowd..
    A whole fan? Wow.
    You've got no fans.

875 Posts
    [QUOTE=Louth4sam;1845023]
    Quote Originally Posted by strikeforce View Post
    As for the guard of honour. What a load of ******. If players want to congratulate each other do it in the tunnel or shake their hand after the game. Expecting somebody to clap you on to the pitch is something you'd expect in a Disney movie.
    Booooo L4S you are no fun at all. The most virtuous team in the league should surely have done the honourable thing and applaud the champions on to the pitch even if it was a ploy to seem all nice and friendly before taking lumps out of our boys. As for Disney movies - dont knock 'em! if the last 3 season were made into a movie it would go into a obscure sci-fi category as so unbelievable they'd provide puke bags for viewers!!!

63 Posts
    Back from Bray, a point earned by a very nervous Galway that looks like keeping them up. A poor enough game, but I think it is a great achievement to (hopefully) avoid the bottom two with a small and fairly inexperienced squad. Fair play to all the fans as well, there is a good core support there that can be built upon. So remaining in the top division is vital.

I don't remember if Galway gave us a guard of honour in 2011 but if they didn't I sincerely hope that any of our fans complaining about it would be told to cop on.

433 Posts
    I think one Dundalk fan got annoyed about there being no league victory parade ( Guard of honour) in Cork,rest just had a craic and let on about it,no big deal.It's done
    Last edited by Dunny; 25/10/2015 at 1:05 AM.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast