Yeah! Did you see the job description as given on the website- looks like a glorified ticket seller/messenger boy - the kind of thing most of us do for free for our own clubs.
Managing Director indeed!
Paddy Gilley has been appointed as the first Managing Director of Cork City FC.
Full story on CorkCityFC.ie
Yeah! Did you see the job description as given on the website- looks like a glorified ticket seller/messenger boy - the kind of thing most of us do for free for our own clubs.
Managing Director indeed!
a 'yes man' in the extreame
it's hardly the best use of city's money is it? hiring a "managing director" to organise raffles and christmas parties. why don't they call him Managing Dogsbody and stop pretedning we've hired peter kenyon.
I'm sure it's more to do with licensing than anything else.Originally Posted by kingcolers
Lads, do ye actually know about everything that goes on behind the scenes at City?
Are ye so well informed that you know of all the comings and goings behind the scenes?
Are ye full sure that everyone who was there last year, is here again this year?
How do ye know that this is a bad move? It sounds like another step in the right direction to me.
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
Judging by the description if the job Paddy Gilley has and the role with City (sounds like Barbara's), this is obviously a part time role.
ISS sponsor the stewards and have advertising boards in the ground. This role might be a sign of how much money they are investing in City.
So let's keep the "for fecks sake" attitude until we know what is actually happening.
We are Football
of course i don't but i don't know what you're talking about either. from the way that city have presented this new appointment, it sounds like Brian has hired a right-hand man to help with basic admin stuff. fair enough. but then they call him the MD which makes the whole thing open to justified ridicule. if there's more to it (ie licensing, etc) why don't they say so. th epunters are not too thick to not understand that sort of stuff.Originally Posted by Gary
Obvious i'd be worried about any appointment, whether it is a worthwhile position and that there is a work-load for the position and that it is within the clubs scope and means to do so.
Other than that .... it think it is a good appointment ... the club is advancing in the right way, and it is good that things on the commercial side are being taken more seriously considering the vast untapped resources available ot City.
I'd have to second Garys comment ... how much do people actaully know when they see fit to pass comments like that.
I would presume the person best placed to know what is involved and whether this is a necessary appointment is Brian Lennox. He has made the appointment so we can consider that it is necessary, and Lennox feels this is the guy to do the job. Thats enough for me, and should be enough for all City fans.
agreed 100% and I second what Gary saidOriginally Posted by patsh
with his involvment in ISS.
does that mean hell be cleaning the bogs after matches too??
We can only go on what has been presented - this chap has been appointed to sell tickets, promote the ball etc...and he's been called a managing director.Why shouldn't we comment on this?
sorry, i didn't realise brian was above criticism or mild ridicule. i will agree obediently with all future announcements. all hail brian.Originally Posted by patsh
Originally Posted by kingcolers
The point Patsh was rightly making is that Lennox has been making the decisions at city for 2 years now. And he's made a lot of very good decisions and very few (if any) bad ones. So the least he deserves is a bit of respect, and a bit of faith.
I agree Eanna, since Lennox has taken over he has really transformed the club into a really professional one with ambitions and has made few mistakes.
The club and the Eircom league has become so professional that it must take a lot of work to run a club day-to-day so this looks like a justified appointment.
I don't know what all the fuss is about?
.. all I can say is that Lennox seems to be doing a very good job. Cork City have come on leaps and bounds.
LOI (whoops, EL) can no longer rely on well-intentioned volunteers to run clubs. All EL clubs should at least have two full-time members of staff (one secretarial, one as a commercial manager).
Fair play to Cork City, when I started supporting LOI in the '80s, you were regarded as a small club. The tables have turned.
Good to see a former United boy, Stuart Ashton, doing an excellent job for your underage teams. John Herrick is another legend who has given great service to both cities. For some reason, I have always liked Cork City.
But have always loved GUFC![]()
Well we've already got both of those before this appointment.Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne All
Champions!
Nobody is above criticism, but why criticise Brian Lennox for this appointment?Originally Posted by kingcolers
What is there to be critical about?
Do you know something about the inner workings of the club that means you can evaluate the appointment and judge Lennox to have made a wrong decision?
not even that patsh, I mean none of us are party to all the info within the club, and we can only comment on what we see or hear. but if people are going to criticise they could at least try to justfy that criticism or back it up. and attacking the appointment based on not liking the job title is hardly a justifiable reason.