Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion/Relegation play off

296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MattB11 View Post
    I went to harps game in Jackman park a number of years ago and was charged 8 bloody euro for a burger and can of fanta, what the hell is with the massive over charging for food and drink? Do you Limerick fans pay these prices or do ye just take **** with away fans?
    The Rats of Limerick don't catch & cook themselves it's high quality cuisine they are offering.

1,025 Posts
    Away section tickets being sold to home fans is wrong even if there is no late bus on the way.

The 17euro thing confuses me.

How many were charged that amount? Were they handing over 20 quid and only being given back 3 or what? Did the booth only have 1 or 2 euro coins as change? If so, why not hand over 30 quid for 4 and get 2 euro change?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Away section tickets being sold to home fans is wrong even if there is no late bus on the way.

The 17euro thing confuses me.

How many were charged that amount? Were they handing over 20 quid and only being given back 3 or what? Did the booth only have 1 or 2 euro coins as change? If so, why not hand over 30 quid for 4 and get 2 euro change?
    I've no idea, but I'd assume it was all of the 33 people on the bus charged that much. I wasn't on the bus myself and got ticket at normal price myself, just know what I was told by the lads who were on the bus.

Harps officials have been informed and they're passing on all the info the Limerick to investigate anyway.

It's up to the burger place to set their price. Ya a meal deal I got last week (first time ever going to the burger van) was like €9. Burger, Chips and Drink. It's a complete rip off. First and last time I'll buy food inside.

Edit: that was in the home section.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    It's up to the burger place to set their price. Ya a meal deal I got last week (first time ever going to the burger van) was like €9. Burger, Chips and Drink. It's a complete rip off. First and last time I'll buy food inside.

Edit: that was in the home section.
    Ah jeasus, I got something, I think the last time I did would have been against Dundalk, or maybe Bohs and prices were half that..

On the the price of the food, it has nothing to do with Limerick FC as the pitch is leased to the Food seller and he has complete control over what he charges, There are 3 very good take a ways with 250m of the ground. Any way you went to the away end you'd have had to pass one of them. Its a new ground and there are a lot of teething problems and for sure, nights like last night will help going forward to make things better in future. the club want to do things right and i'm sure they will listen to any complaints. Looking forward to going up Friday but have to say your place looks a right tip from the footage i saw on tv last night. Sorry but it looks old and in need of a face lift.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

238 Posts
    Feck it lads, the kebab place round the corner from the ground was only €7 for a kebab meal. Couldn't beat it.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    On the the price of the food, it has nothing to do with Limerick FC as the pitch is leased to the Food seller and he has complete control over what he charges, There are 3 very good take a ways with 250m of the ground. Any way you went to the away end you'd have had to pass one of them. Its a new ground and there are a lot of teething problems and for sure, nights like last night will help going forward to make things better in future. the club want to do things right and i'm sure they will listen to any complaints. Looking forward to going up Friday but have to say your place looks a right tip from the footage i saw on tv last night. Sorry but it looks old and in need of a face lift.
    Finn Parks not a tip, it's not old, it's just full of charm.

Charm I can do 👍.

1,550 Posts
    I was on the blowout bus and was charged €15. I was directed to the terrace but when I said I had paid for a seat was let into the away stand. I was only aware of a few lads getting hit for €17. Things just seemed very confused but people were so frustrated withe being late they just accepted it to get into the ground. In nice time to see the sodding goal as well!

Limerick's crowds have mushroomed so it's inevitable there will be some issues.

Yeah - the bloke in the ticket booth only had a handful of euro coins left so some of the younger lads got shafted.

Bizarrely, myself and my son didn't get charged at all on the way in. With the €30 I saved, the socialist in me spent it on cider to share with the back of the bus on the way home.

The situation with the bus on the way there was balls for us but it really was one of those things that can just happen and thankfully no one was hurt, which was the main thing.

Don't think that it was ideal that there were so many home fans in the away section with little to no segregation. That said, the Limerick fans were a very friendly bunch and there were zero issues. The lack of toilets was also a bit annoying but thankfully, the strategically placed Transit van behind the away stand worked out well!

Must say fair play to Limerick. The Market Fields looks great and you can see the club are building something good there. Good to see the people of the city come out and support them.

Hopefully we'll see a few hundred of them up on Friday night in Ballybofey for what should be another tense and dramatic playoff in front of another massive crowd. We should have a few of our lads back from injury but regardless, we'll certainly give them a game of it.

UTH.

2,446 Posts
    Something fbtn mentions there I just have to point out too which I probably unfairly didn't mention, the majority of Limerick fans were very friendly indeed and a few of them moved, and had no problem doing so, when we mentioned there was a bus load of fans coming along.

46 Posts
    Limerick chairman paying for 4 buses for supporters

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Limerick chairman paying for 4 buses for supporters
    That's pretty cool.

Maybe he will treat all the fans of a 'Best Of' compilation CD of his rousing speeches to listen to on the journey!

In all seriousness, the Delia Smith speech at half time was like something straight out of Alan Partridge.

Most teams in the premier have been treated to the half time Pat speeches at this stage. He even made a speech to MK Dons about what they should do in the Championship.

2,446 Posts
    Jesus, fair play to him. Four half decent buses that length of the country will cost probably the guts of €2,500 euro.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Jesus, fair play to him. Four half decent buses that length of the country will cost probably the guts of €2,500 euro.
    I know of 3 50 seaters I'm running one and its costing us €1000.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    He owes a lot of people down there that were involved with the club money. He should look at paying them off first of all.

28 Posts
    Away section for this will be bottom end of the stand towards the river end and not the gantry side.

Some turnaround for O'Sullivan. Banning fans earlier in the year and paying for them to go to Donegal now. If they don't get a result, I'd be afraid there wouldn't be a bus home to Limerick for the lads

Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast