Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion/Relegation play off

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    After the craic last night being allowed to go on, would it be safe/legal to allow 4k into Finn Park?
    probably not naw, sure the Harps players would end up 'hacking' at the spectators nearest the pitch
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

222 Posts
    Great to see a huge crowd at this one. When Limerick were getting less than a thousand into Jackman for Cork, Rovers and Dundalk I did wonder if there was any future for them, regardless of a ground move. Looks like there's real potential for LFC at Markets Field

Second leg will be interesting, the onus will be on Harps to come out of their shell, which should open things up a bit for Limerick.

3,488 Posts
    Second clean sheet of the season for Limerick. Have to think that in itself is a missed opportunity for Harps.

Though obviously still nicely balanced for the second leg. Have to imagine whichever team is in the First Division next season will start as title favourites.

Second clean sheet of the season for Limerick. Have to think that in itself is a missed opportunity for Harps.

Though obviously still nicely balanced for the second leg. Have to imagine whichever team is in the First Division next season will start as title favourites.
    If we go down I reckon we will have basically a whole new squad next season so I don't think us going down will make us favourites where as if harps stay down and keep the squad they will most likely be favourites.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    If we go down I reckon we will have basically a whole new squad next season so I don't think us going down will make us favourites where as if harps stay down and keep the squad they will most likely be favourites.
    If we stay down, McHugh is retiring and I'd say a few of the players will have better offers from Irish League clubs and possibly Derry/Sligo.

We really need to get promoted.

46 Posts
    I think between the two sides Limerick back 4 is poor more so centre half position but are excellent going forward.

Harps imo is the opposite I was impressed with there centre half's excellent in the air but up front they were very average lad that started worked his socks off but offered very little lad that missed there only real chance plenty of pace but lacked composure as show for that chance he could of taken a touch and composed himself and rolled it un but he snatched at it.

238 Posts
    Nathan Boyle had an open net in the first half after the centre half over hit the back pass to the keeper and it bounced over his head. Can't believe he nearly hit the fecking corner flag with his effort.
    Banda's chance was one he'd had scored 10 out of 10 times for the Under 19's, I think he saw his name in lights in only his 3rd appearance for the 1st team.
    Funston was cleaned inside the box in the 2nd half, stone wall pen.
    Shaun Kelly with a 2 footed lung at Tony McNamee should have been a red.

That's about the total of our positives.

With Raymond Foy and Kevin McHugh injured, it took alot away from the team as we didn't keep the ball well and had no burst of pace coming from midifeld.

We still looked threatening and would hold no fear of Limerick on Friday night as they are brutal at the back.

In saying that, they have players who could hurt us and are a surperior footballing side. Damian McNulty was roasted, it was amazing that he played having spent Friday night and Saturday in hospital with food poisoning. Limerick hit the crossbar but other than that, Ciaran Gallagher didn't have any real saves to make.

Great to see such a big crowd and decent atmosphere. Hopefully Finn Park will be something similar on Friday night.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Nathan Boyle had an open net in the first half after the centre half over hit the back pass to the keeper and it bounced over his head. Can't believe he nearly hit the fecking corner flag with his effort.
    Banda's chance was one he'd had scored 10 out of 10 times for the Under 19's, I think he saw his name in lights in only his 3rd appearance for the 1st team.
    Funston was cleaned inside the box in the 2nd half, stone wall pen.
    Shaun Kelly with a 2 footed lung at Tony McNamee should have been a red.

That's about the total of our positives.

With Raymond Foy and Kevin McHugh injured, it took alot away from the team as we didn't keep the ball well and had no burst of pace coming from midifeld.

We still looked threatening and would hold no fear of Limerick on Friday night as they are brutal at the back.

In saying that, they have players who could hurt us and are a surperior footballing side. Damian McNulty was roasted, it was amazing that he played having spent Friday night and Saturday in hospital with food poisoning. Limerick hit the crossbar but other than that, Ciaran Gallagher didn't have any real saves to make.

Great to see such a big crowd and decent atmosphere. Hopefully Finn Park will be something similar on Friday night.
    You must of been listening to the game on the radio Limerick should of been out of sight at half time your forgetting the two open goals in the first 15mins one hitting the bar another iv no idea what he was trying to do.
    Also the 2 or 3 free headers in the 6yrd box that went wide really have to be scoring them but I suppose be worse if we created nothing

238 Posts
    Were the lads on the radio making up what they saw??

I was at the game.

It wasn't clear headers unmarked, it was under serious pressure from our defenders. As I said, aside from hitting the bar, I don't remember Ciaran Gallagher making a save.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    You must of been listening to the game on the radio Limerick should of been out of sight at half time your forgetting the two open goals in the first 15mins one hitting the bar another iv no idea what he was trying to do.
    Also the 2 or 3 free headers in the 6yrd box that went wide really have to be scoring them but I suppose be worse if we created nothing
    The one that hit the bar was by Damien McNulty.

1,025 Posts
    Last time I was in Ballybofey, we were on some terrace behind the dugouts. I think the TV gantry was across from us.

Will we be on the opposite side this time?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Last time I was in Ballybofey, we were on some terrace behind the dugouts. I think the TV gantry was across from us.

Will we be on the opposite side this time?
    Yeah, ye will be in our state of the art away section.......

I wouldn't complain too much about the handing of our supporters other than the fact of over charging them and allowing some Limerick fans into the seats in the middle of us.

There were plenty of Harps fans standing at the fence behind the nets too and were perfectly happy to do so.

Nice stadium at Market fields, only draw back being the stands are so far away from the pitch.

Yeah you will be in the open terrace beside the TV gantry but i don't think they are anyway strict on the movements of supporters especially if it lashes down
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Only found out this morning, the Harps fans that arrived late where charged €17 for student tickets because the lad in the ticket booth 'didn't have the correct change'. Not only did they miss the first twenty minutes of the game, they were grossly overcharged for the experience.

Fair play Limerick.
    Whose fault was it that they missed the first twenty mins of the game? Are you suggesting they should receive a discount for arriving late for a game? How much is a stand ticket for an away supporter anyway cos im trying to work out what sort of financial transactions took place. Tell him write to the club for a refund

I can't understand where €17 would have come from if there was no change. If there was no change then surely they would have been charged €10, €15 or €20. To me €17 is the kind of price you would need to have change to charge.

I overheard the stewards talking on the radios and they were saying "a bus of fans has just arrived late, the stand is full, and no tickets are left, what will we do" And someone replied "just charge them for terrace and we'll sort something". Obviously I don't know what happened after that and what they were actually charged.

429 Posts
    I'm sure they aren't suggesting they get a discount were did you get that from?? They were late because the bus they were on got TWO tyre blowouts on the motorway coming into Limerick,
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

238 Posts
    I was charged €15 into the away section. I think it was something like €12 for students.

The lads were charged €17 each for some reason.

2,446 Posts
    A handful of the lads that got charged €17 each were 2nd level students, who were only meant to be charged €7. They were all told they had to be charged €17 because they didn't have correct change. All because the club sold away tickets to home fans. The lad in the ticket booth out on the road beckoned over home fans he told to go away once we walked away from the ticket booth.

The head steward was well warned in advance that there was a bus load of Harps fans that would be arriving late, but they kept letting in home fans regardless.

It was a shambles of an organisation.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 03/11/2015 at 1:36 PM.

28 Posts
    I went to harps game in Jackman park a number of years ago and was charged 8 bloody euro for a burger and can of fanta, what the hell is with the massive over charging for food and drink? Do you Limerick fans pay these prices or do ye just take **** with away fans?

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MattB11 View Post
    I went to harps game in Jackman park a number of years ago and was charged 8 bloody euro for a burger and can of fanta, what the hell is with the massive over charging for food and drink? Do you Limerick fans pay these prices or do ye just take **** with away fans?
    Didn't buy anything last night, but I think it's usually about 4.50 for a burger and chips in the home end. The times I sat in the away end with the Town lads I never got food so can't comment on away end prices, although they had no food in the away end in the MF when they played this year.

Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast