Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion/Relegation play off

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Ha, I've really warmed to them over the last two years or so, used to find them very irritating sometimes.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Completely controlled the game. Very hard second half to watch. Harps came to keep the score down and try to nick a goal. They did half that job.

I'd be worried heading up to harps, especially if they narrow the pitch.

No attendance announced as far as I know. I reckon touching 5,000. Place completely full.

46 Posts
    Limerick really should have this tie dead and buried form the 2min missing a sitter 10mins later another one probably missed 2 or 3 free headesr which we should of scored.
    It nearly cost us midway through 2nd half the sub who came on keeper came out of his goal lad took it past him a bit wide 25yrds out put it wide should of done better.
    Buy IMO if Limerick do end up going down to finn harps I'll be very disappointed Limerick are a few steps ahead of them I'm quality.

28 Posts
    Well done the Harps tie very much still alive, took a 25 yarder to separate the sides, too bad Banda couldn't take his chance and the ref bottled the penalty decision, seemed like some half decent noise at times from the limerick fans.

Thought harps were very cynical and dirty. How they kept 11on the field is a mystery. That said we had enough chances to kill of the game in this first leg.

622 Posts
    Harps are very good at kicking the ball 50 yards in the air, and even better at kicking people. Limerick should have had the game dead and buried by half time.

Harps came more in to the match as both sides tired, missed an absolute sitter when Hall went walkabouts, and it probably was a peno. On the other hand, the harps right back should have been sent off, was good for at least 3 yellows if you count the amount of times fouls were made, two were blatant, one which he was carded for.

Massive crowd, I don't think it was 5k personally, but I couldn't see how many were on terraces to the left of the stand, so maybe it's possible. Limerick might struggle on a narrower pitch in the 2nd leg, but they should never lose to harps over two legs, there's a big gulf in footballing ability. You'd just worry about their ability to do all sorts of nonsense in defense.

On an aside, some sections of the crowd were so, so negative, and very vocal about it, jeering the players when they had the temerity to pass backwards and retain possession, I'm all for seizing the initiative and trying to win the game by more, Limerick were so obviously knackered and incapable of really stretching the game beyond the 60 min mark, still getting decent chances, but getting a fair amount of stick when they weren't piling men forward.

Quote Originally Posted by MattB11 View Post
    Well done the Harps tie very much still alive, took a 25 yarder to separate the sides, too bad Banda couldn't take his chance and the ref bottled the penalty decision, seemed like some half decent noise at times from the limerick fans.
    Think he bottled a lot more than just that penalty decision. Advantage must be with Harps now. We completely ran out of ideas on how to break down the 6 man midfield in the 2nd half.

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Harps are very good at kicking the ball 50 yards in the air, and even better at kicking people. Limerick should have had the game dead and buried by half time.

Harps came more in to the match as both sides tired, missed an absolute sitter when Hall went walkabouts, and it probably was a peno. On the other hand, the harps right back should have been sent off, was good for at least 3 yellows if you count the amount of times fouls were made, two were blatant, one which he was carded for.

Massive crowd, I don't think it was 5k personally, but I couldn't see how many were on terraces to the left of the stand, so maybe it's possible. Limerick might struggle on a narrower pitch in the 2nd leg, but they should never lose to harps over two legs, there's a big gulf in footballing ability. You'd just worry about their ability to do all sorts of nonsense in defense.

On an aside, some sections of the crowd were so, so negative, and very vocal about it, jeering the players when they had the temerity to pass backwards and retain possession, I'm all for seizing the initiative and trying to win the game by more, Limerick were so obviously knackered and incapable of really stretching the game beyond the 60 min mark, still getting decent chances, but getting a fair amount of stick when they weren't piling men forward.
    It was the same a few weeks ago against Rovers. As soon as rovers scored a large portion of the crowd just started turning on the team. A lot of those people are the type that started coming in mid August and seemed to think we would smash in 3 or 4 goals every game.

64 Posts
    With that result it should be a bumper crowd in Ballybofey(weather forecast not great but won't put off Donegal folk) and while it is impossible to keep all off these "floating/occasion" fans some have hopefully caught the loI bug. Limerick fans, am I correct in understanding that the home time got more tired in 2nd half compared to Harps? They looked fit enough to me a few weeks back at Galway.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    With that result it should be a bumper crowd in Ballybofey(weather forecast not great but won't put off Donegal folk) and while it is impossible to keep all off these "floating/occasion" fans some have hopefully caught the loI bug. Limerick fans, am I correct in understanding that the home time got more tired in 2nd half compared to Harps? They looked fit enough to me a few weeks back at Galway.
    Only difference was Harps bringing on some pace, helped them stretch the game more. Russell obviously doesn't trust the options he has on the bench, making only one sub, bringing on Lynch, for Clarke who was being hacked to death. Both sides looked tired enough, you'd imagine Limerick expelled a huge amount of energy in Sligo, emotionally and physically after everything. Limerick were still the better side at the death. You'd hope both are in better nick by Friday.
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 02/11/2015 at 10:47 PM.

1,025 Posts
    Harps were very defensive all night, defending deep, defending wide, and defending in numbers. They set us the challenge of breaking them down, and we never really did all night. We hit the crossbar and had a few chances from headers but we looked really limited for most of the game. We never had any space in the middle of the field and never found or made any.

Duggan, and Lynch when he came on, had to drop way too deep to look for the ball and try and create something.

Harps created very little (I have no memory of the penalty they might have had - when was it?) apart from Banda going in behind the defence but being pushed wide and shooting wide.

That we didn't put the tie to bed was evidence of just how poor we are and how little guile we have.

Harps will (rightly) feel they have every chance of nicking it on Friday. They'll have to be more attacking, so hopefully there will be more space for us to exploit.

EDIT: And that f**king announcer should be told to take a jump off the stand roof. Would he ever shut his mouth.
    Last edited by osarusan; 02/11/2015 at 11:11 PM.

622 Posts
    Kanyuka running through a man, a bit like the pen in Sligo.

As Brian Kerr would say, the man has the turning circle of a milk truck.

1,025 Posts
    Still have no memory of it - did the Harps players claim for one?

When was it?

622 Posts
    2nd half, left of the box, think it was before Banda's chance, harps player runs in, Paddy came in from the right and tumbled in to him with the subtlety of Boris Johnson.

Big calls from Harps if I remember correctly, most around me thought it was going to be given too. I was surprised it wasn't in the highlights at least, to have a 2nd look.

He's far too big and awkward to be over committing like he does, regardless.
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 02/11/2015 at 11:28 PM.

429 Posts
    The lads on 95FM were pretty convinced it was a penalty and also that it should have been a red card for Kelly. Friday will be one bag of nerves for everyone involved and one thing your gonna get up here is a battle may the best team win!
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

2,446 Posts
    Limerick are very poor at the back, but good going forward. We done what we set out to do, frustrate them and defend. We never went into that game attacking Limerick and it was clear from the first whistle we were looking to take the game back to Finn Park and have a go there.

In saying that, we missed two open nets, the first half Hall jumped for a catch and missed it completely and Boyle put it wide, second half Hall was rounded by Banda and on his weak left foot Banda shot wide when it should have been 1-1. Stonewall penalty turned down when Funston was bundled over in the box, and for all the suggestions of Harps hacking Limerick, Shaun Kelly should have been sent off for a horrible two footed challenge, only getting a yellow.

For us, there was an awful lot of heavy challenges went in and we were indeed lucky to remain with 11 on the field. It was more like the Harps of earlier in the season and even last season, but I think we went in physical on purpose knowing Limerick wouldn't be able to deal with it.

For match day organisation down there, Limerick need to take a good long hard look at themselves. They outsold the ground by far too much. The Popular side ended up being so crammed that half the crowd took down the barriers and ended up on the grass banks.

The away fans had one male toilet and one female toilet between them. 100 seats were kept for Harps fans, about 60 of which Harps fans got in the end with the rest either left standing in front of the terrace or standing on the steps in the stand. The head steward was a disgrace to deal with and when questioned why home fans were let into the away section became defensive that no home fans were in there. Despite also being told that a bus carrying 33 Harps fans had broken down and would be late, they almost refused to let them in the gate.

We'll not even go into the fact a burger and bottle of water cost 11 euro.

Limerick will not enjoy coming to Finn Park. Pitch is not in great shape, and it's been narrowed as much as it possibly can be. Can't wait for Friday now.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 03/11/2015 at 6:32 AM.

2,446 Posts
    Only found out this morning, the Harps fans that arrived late where charged €17 for student tickets because the lad in the ticket booth 'didn't have the correct change'. Not only did they miss the first twenty minutes of the game, they were grossly overcharged for the experience.

Fair play Limerick.

77 Posts
    After the atmosphere and attendance created at the Markets Field last nite, any chance RTE or Setanta are considering covering the second leg at Finn Park on friday!

There should be another 4000+ and another wonderful occasion.

622 Posts
    After the craic last night being allowed to go on, would it be safe/legal to allow 4k into Finn Park?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    After the craic last night being allowed to go on, would it be safe/legal to allow 4k into Finn Park?
    I think Finn Park is limited to 5,500 since they closed the river end. Used to be 7,000. It's a lot bigger than people think.

What'll hurt attendance size is if the entire gantry side of the ground is given to Limerick fans, then capacity will have to be limited greatly, but I'm sure provisions are being put in place by the club.

23. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast