Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast

Thread: Promotion/Relegation play off

Never been any complaints by Barry Ryan or Freddy Hall about Eddie Hickeys goalkeeping training. They do one on one goalkeeping specific training in every session as far as I know. It's easy when you have been absolutely shocking to blame the intensity of the training. Not being able to catch a ball, kick a ball or command an area is down to the individual player.

On last night, we deserve to go down. If you can't beat a first division side over two games then you do not deserve to be in the higher division. Throw into that we couldn't acore away from home then there really are no complaints.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Never been any complaints by Barry Ryan or Freddy Hall about Eddie Hickeys goalkeeping training. They do one on one goalkeeping specific training in every session as far as I know. It's easy when you have been absolutely shocking to blame the intensity of the training.
    I think it was just how wrecked he was after training with us which was the indicator; it's not that he was off openly blaming Limerick. (Apparently, third-hand, fan rumour, etc, etc, etc)

But yeah, other keepers didn't do as badly with ye. Russell's weakness has always been defending (look at our record) - so probably the usual mix from both sides. As I say, with us, he was an exceptional shot-stopper at times, but with a brain fart per game. His confidence could easily go one way or the other like that - either you eliminate the brain farts and get better, or they take over and you get worse.

Anyways, if Limerick can keep even a modicum of the momentum built up over the last third of the season, they should easily be pushing for play-offs next year I would say. And I can (for about the third or fourth time) tick off all the grounds in the league again. Until someone else moves or arrives in.

When Martin took the job I said it, he needs to change his philosophy a bit and not over play from the back. It costs some decent UCD teams a lot of goals and in the end it has had the same effect on us. When you sign a certain type of player you need to play to your players strengths not your players play to your philosophy. When Kanyuka came in he was a bit of no nonsense in his first few games but as it went on he started playing the ball more and more from the back and continued to go downhill.

On Martins son I think in the last two games he actually had fine performances. People just have it out for him. Fair enough last night he missed a great chance but when he came on we actually got our midfield on the ball a lot more and he won back quiet a number of balls too. On Monday night he ran himself into the ground and did the simple thing.

555 Posts
    On last night, we deserve to go down. If you can't beat a first division side over two games then you do not deserve to be in the higher division. Throw into that we couldn't acore away from home then there really are no complaints.
    The play off was lost in the first tie at home. I always thought you needed a two goal lead going to Finn Park.

Harps punished you were you are weak, defenders trying to play too much ball.

While I congratulate Harps, the division will be poorer without Limerick. I'll get slammed for this, but Harps and Wexford add nothing to the division.

397 Posts
    I probably would have preferred Limerick to stay up and possibly agreed they may have brought more to the PD, however you can't argue Finn Harps didn't deserve this, so congratulations to them, they had a very strong finish to their season and got through two tough FD Play Off games also remember.

Limerick lost too many games, even after getting themselves back into contention from August, turning even one of those defeats in Sept or Oct into a win could have saved them. They need to make sure they have the right attitude now to get out of the FD quick. The momentum they build up over those last 3 months was impressive as was the support and facilities they have in the Market Fields.

Finn Harps have a huge potential support so that will add to their return to the PD, they will probably need a huge turnover in players though to compete. What's the latest on their ground move by the way ? Must check on stadium updates, as can't see them spending much money in Finn Park if they are due to move anytime soon, even if it does need upgrading for the PD.
    Last edited by oriel; 07/11/2015 at 1:40 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    The play off was lost in the first tie at home. I always thought you needed a two goal lead going to Finn Park.

While I congratulate Harps, the division will be poorer without Limerick. I'll get slammed for this, but Harps and Wexford add nothing to the division.
    Dundalk will add nothing to the cup final tomorrow. Better off with UCD there..

Why exactly will Wexford and Harps add nothing to the division if you don't mind me asking?

On the game last night. It was intense. From the first whistle, both teams gave it everything, but Horgan had his game plan, stuck to it, and Russell had no answer for the tactics. Harps sat back when we needed to sit back, and we attacked when we needed to attack. Limerick had a couple of excellent chances from relative long range, but they never really had anything clear cut where you'd have expected them to score. Our defence has been the backbone of our promotion chase and last night again, the centre halves Keith Cowan, Damien McNulty and Packie Mailey in particular, were absolutely immense.

A note on the atmosphere though. Finn Park was rocking last night. Limerick fans came in their numbers and they created a serious bit of noise which we had trouble keeping up with, a bit annoying that a lot of our lads didn't get sold out stand tickets last night, despite being sold out, there was space for at least another 300 or 400 people in the stand. Thanks to the FAI for that.

Can't truly believe that it's really happened though. It's incredible. Letterkenny and Ballybofey were insane last night after the game. Partying with the team until 4 O'clock in Letterkenny was just something else.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    No. Just, no, not by a long long way.
    I should have said I can only comment on the few games I've seen - he's always been one of the better of a rubbish group of players. All the better as he was being booed by his own fans (do you only cheer for the opposition down there?) in one of the games.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I should have said I can only comment on the few games I've seen - he's always been one of the better of a rubbish group of players. All the better as he was being booed by his own fans (do you only cheer for the opposition down there?) in one of the games.
    One of the moments of the season for me was Russell getting boo'd on to the pitch only to score under a minute later.
    I thought he was hit and miss, but stepped up to the plate as much if not more than anyone else for the last 3 games of the season. There are other players who deserve more abuse.

238 Posts
    3200 (plus a few more....) watched a hard fought but fully deserved win for Harps last night.

Limerick fans were superb, great atmosphere. Finn Park was rocking. That would have been a superb advert for LOI if it had of been on TV.

I'm in bits.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

If you know you'll get hammered why not state some of your reasons for thinking they'll bring nothing to the division? What was it limerick brought that was so much better?

238 Posts
    Say what ye like folks, we're up, I don't give a fiddlers f**k what anyone says.

Looking forward to ****ing off some Premier Division sides in 2016.

Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    If you know you'll get hammered why not state some of your reasons for thinking they'll bring nothing to the division? What was it limerick brought that was so much better?
    An extra 1,000 Dundalk fans.

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Say what ye like folks, we're up, I don't give a fiddlers f**k what anyone says.

Looking forward to ****ing off some Premier Division sides in 2016.
    Thems fightin words..

420 Posts
    When Martin took the job I said it, he needs to change his philosophy a bit and not over play from the back. It costs some decent UCD teams a lot of goals and in the end it has had the same effect on us. When you sign a certain type of player you need to play to your players strengths not your players play to your philosophy. When Kanyuka came in he was a bit of no nonsense in his first few games but as it went on he started playing the ball more and more from the back and continued to go downhill.

On Martins son I think in the last two games he actually had fine performances. People just have it out for him. Fair enough last night he missed a great chance but when he came on we actually got our midfield on the ball a lot more and he won back quiet a number of balls too. On Monday night he ran himself into the ground and did the simple thing.
    No-one said he didn't play well the last 2 games he was very good but there is a long jump from having a few good games to looking like one of the better players in the team. I actually have huge respect for the lad the way he handled himself and worked even harder after getting a bit of stick but he isn't one of the better players in the team.

1,101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    They'll both certainly bring more than Drogheda did this year.

420 Posts
    Also have seen loads talk about how solid Harps were and this and that but I think it needs to be said for as much as Russell is this beautiful football playing manager and as much as we have played lovely stuff at times lately Harps played way better football than us lastnight. I honestly thought they would kick their way to the premier if they got there but some of their passing play and movement was very good and a lot better than the long diagonals we tried about 10,000 times in the first 75 mins.

19. Thanks From:

I'd sooner have us play kick and rush football all day long and be in the premier division than Martins beautiful game in the first division.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    I'd sooner have us play kick and rush football all day long and be in the premier division than Martins beautiful game in the first division.
    Winning football is good football.

True, I'd love to hear the chant 1 nil to the super blues all season long. That'll do me.

147 Posts
    Congrats to Harps, commiserations to Limerick. That is all.

25. Thanks From:

Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast