Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Ground /fans experience

The aim was always to finish the stadium with four stands once it was affordable. The council has an unexpected surplus and building prices are still down on where they were, so it makes sense to get it done, especially as they'll be looking to compete for the same sort of events as the apparently 10,000-capacity Dalymount.

37 Posts
    Best experience? No mention of the Mon Dog. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    The aim was always to finish the stadium with four stands once it was affordable. The council has an unexpected surplus and building prices are still down on where they were, so it makes sense to get it done, especially as they'll be looking to compete for the same sort of events as the apparently 10,000-capacity Dalymount.
    Inter club slaggings aside fair play to SDCC for having some semblance of cop on to get it done now, which is a rare occurance at the best of times in this league never mind the country and those that run it.

555 Posts
    Fair play to the councils in Dublin for getting behind their teams. Between Shamrock Rovers and Bohs, there are millions being spent on providing facilities.

I wish other councils would follow their example.

179 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Fair play to the councils in Dublin for getting behind their teams. Between Shamrock Rovers and Bohs, there are millions being spent on providing facilities.

I wish other councils would follow their example.
    Most councils outside Dublin haven't a pot to p1ss in.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

226 Posts
    No noticeable change in grounds this year for me.

Sigo/Drogheda still the worst. Sligo has been made slightly better due to the fact that that anti-climb paint is now fully dry and you can lean on the wall. You can now actually see the whole pitch. Not great if it's raining though.
    Best in the League, IMO, is still UCD. Perfect for what the club requires.

I would add that Bohs have been messing with my love of Dalymount recently, by constantly switching the stands we're sent to. Much prefer the Jodi. Was bad form earlier in the season they sent some of our fans into the Jodi and some into the Des Kelly, then wouldn't let us across to the chippy at half time. Would really put me off making the trip down in future.

1,525 Posts
    Enjoyed my trip to Tolka this year- there may be two stands out of use but the ones that are open are good and the bar is very nice.
    Athlone remains a bit soulless, perhaps because they're having a bad year so crowds were low. It's improved by the building on the far side- although not part of the ground it helps it feel more enclosed.
    Cobh is one of my favourite trips. There's a slight air of madness about the place that I enjoy immensely.
    Cabinteely was pretty good. Because there's a bar and it did not rain too much. There were a ridiculous number of security staff there, no idea what they were expecting.
    Have not made it to the Bowl yet but Friday night will tell the tale.
    Didn't make Waterford this year but don't like the distance from the pitch or from pubs (great town to visit though) and have never made Wexford (but seems like a nice town).

2,360 Posts
    I'm glad someone else said UCD. Despite the fact they put poles down through the stand for the roof, it's the best small ground in the league bar none. Despite Athlone having a better single stand ground in terms of the stand itself and viewing, UCD utilised the rest of the ground well, putting trees and fences around the pitch and having the gantry on the opposite side of the ground.
    Last edited by nigel-harps1954; 21/10/2015 at 1:31 PM.

Best for atmosphere: Drawda
    Worst for atmosphere: Tallaght
    Best for viewing game: Bray
    Worst for viewing game: Sligo (cant see one of the corners)

Before anyone starts on not seeing the ground from Oriel, I know!

539 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    No noticeable change in grounds this year for me.

Sigo/Drogheda still the worst. Sligo has been made slightly better due to the fact that that anti-climb paint is now fully dry and you can lean on the wall. You can now actually see the whole pitch. Not great if it's raining though.
    Best in the League, IMO, is still UCD. Perfect for what the club requires.

I would add that Bohs have been messing with my love of Dalymount recently, by constantly switching the stands we're sent to. Much prefer the Jodi. Was bad form earlier in the season they sent some of our fans into the Jodi and some into the Des Kelly, then wouldn't let us across to the chippy at half time. Would really put me off making the trip down in future.
    pardon my ignorance what on earth is anti climb paint?

2,360 Posts
    It's really slippy.

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It's really slippy.
    😂😂😂😂😂

Tallaght getting the 3rd stand is brilliant news and will defo add to the atmosphere in the Stadium
    allot of bitterness towards Tallaght, me thinks people are jealous of the best stadium in country
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

3,272 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I'm glad someone else said UCD. Despite the fact they put poles down through the stand for the roof, it's the best small ground in the league bar none.
    I think the plan was to remove the poles and extend the roof after we moved in, but then the country went pop.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    Tallaght getting the 3rd stand is brilliant news and will defo add to the atmosphere in the Stadium
    allot of bitterness towards Tallaght, me thinks people are jealous of the best stadium in country
    Its great news and should improve the stadium substantially.

What you refer to as "bitterness" is caused by the atmosphere being the most sterile in the league. Add in the violence away fans experience trying to get to and from the ground, and it's no surprise that Tallaght is not lauded as much as you would like.

Having said all that, we had a great party there two weeks ago.

445 Posts
    Tallaght nearly complete, The Brandywell getting done up, Harps getting a new ground, Dalymount redevelopment, Turners Cross, Eamon Deacy Park, Athlone, we're a few years away from marking poor facilities off the list of why people don't go to games.

Ireland looking to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup, I'm sure the DCC and the SDCC will be looking to host games in Dalymount and Tallaght.

Unfortunately from a Pats point of view (and a Shels one) our biggest rivals for competing for new fans are both going to have top notch 8,000 - 10,000 all seater stadiums soon, it's hard to compete with that.
    Here on a technicality.

I've been to every ground in the country ecxept Oriel park, i have seen Rovers supporters attacked in Cork, Drog, Boh's, Sligo, St Pats and Derry, nothing major most of the time it's handbag stuff really and its mainly the lads who call themselves casuals or kids
    I am really lost with the sterile atmosphere in Tallaght you all describe, i think the supporters stand has an unreal atmosphere, loud and great colour from Ultra section.
    Last edited by ForzaHoop; 22/10/2015 at 11:37 AM.
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

226 Posts
    It's actually not slippy, but really sticky, thick stuff that will cling to anything that touches it. You won't get it out of your clothes, for example. It's like a thicker version of tar, ridiculous to have it in a football ground.

Regarding Tallaght; it's a nice ground, stand is comfortable, good toilets, plenty of parking, offy-adjacent, etc., but the atmosphere is really lacking, especially if it's a small-ish crowd. An extra stand at the end might help keep the noise in, but it'll be a very empty stadium.
    Whilst not directly a stadium issue, it's a great location for driving to, handy off the M50. But the location is let down by the fact that there's no real soul to the area around it; a shopping centre and a sterile hotel. Would love a pub handy to the ground. A proper pub that is, not the Maldron - that bar's just a sad place to be in.

23. Thanks From:

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    I've been to every ground in the country ecxept Oriel park, i have seen Rovers supporters attacked in Cork, Drog, Boh's, Sligo, St Pats and Derry, nothing major most of the time it's handbag stuff really and its mainly the lads who call themselves casuals or kids
    So we should not be concerned because some Rovers fans have also been victims?

Or are you suggesting that football violence is in some way acceptable?

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Would love a pub handy to the ground. A proper pub that is, not the Maldron - that bar's just a sad place to be in.
    The Killinarden Inn is a lovely spot. Very close, 5 minute walk.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast