Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup Final. Cork City V Dundalk 8/11/15

Oh what a night. great atmosphere for the final yesterday. on a sour note the seats didn't get broken. The metal bar collapsed. its designed to do that in the event of crowd congestion. that section was oversold by the fai when taking into account they closed off the first 4 rows of seats so more people had to crowd at the back.

Also the same happened with derry fans and seats in a final a few years back.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Will you sort out the away section in Oriel first?
    If it was a choice between that and world peace, I'd pick world peace.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CuanaD View Post
    It's terrible journalism - there's certainly only 12 seats in those photos.

Looks to me like shoddy workmanship there - I see three weld-joints that have given way, I'd worry about the quality of the metals & joints here - all the damage is done to the metal parts & none to the plastic.

IMO I don't think any club should just 'pay the costs' - I'd be more for asking questions about the build & fit-out quality of the stadium here.
    Back in the day when there were telephone kiosks, in Copenhagen they eventually designed their telephone kiosks to withstand an assault from 4 drunken Swedes.
    Perhaps the seats in Lansdowne rd could be designed to an A+++ standard --> can withstand a battering from two 'excited' Dundalk fans.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Nice of Caulfield to go and talk to the dundalk dressing room after the game

https://mobile.twitter.com/inphospor...69333810393088

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Nice of Caulfield to go and talk to the dundalk dressing room after the game

https://mobile.twitter.com/inphospor...69333810393088
    Yes, and not going through the motions either. I heard the players were very impressed with how sincere he was.

Congratulations Dundalk. Was a rank horrible game but Cork wilted visibly and the goal was inevitable when it came, as was the lack of a fightback. Both teams have played better this season but cup finals tend to do that to you, especially when it's been a few years since either was there.

777 Posts
    Don’t buy the argument that we were less fit than Dundalk.

The team that are less technically gifted always have to run more than the team that are more technically gifted. Dundalk can keep hold of possession for long spells and we had to do a lot of chasing closing down etc. just to keep them at bay and not allow them any space. Simply put, that took its toll. Tough loss for us, but we will bounce back.

Got to say despite the Baltic conditions, it was an enjoyable game to be at. The Dundalk fans were a credit to the club – it was a tremendous atmosphere at times. Both sets of supporters were very vocal. Bit dangerous with the flares and fireworks maybe – don’t like to see that kind of thing, but apart from that it was brilliant.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Don’t buy the argument that we were less fit than Dundalk.

The team that are less technically gifted always have to run more than the team that are more technically gifted. Dundalk can keep hold of possession for long spells and we had to do a lot of chasing closing down etc. just to keep them at bay and not allow them any space. Simply put, that took its toll.
    Interesting thought. I would like to see the distance covered stats to see if your theory is correct.

I notice the Dundalk players are getting irritated with the media consensus that a lot of their success is down to superior fitness. They constantly reply to questions about fitness by pointing our their skill level.

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Interesting thought. I would like to see the distance covered stats to see if your theory is correct.

I notice the Dundalk players are getting irritated with the media consensus that a lot of their success is down to superior fitness. They constantly reply to questions about fitness by pointing our their skill level.
    Its always more energy sapping when you don't have the ball & skill has a lot to do with ball retention.

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Bit dangerous with the flares and fireworks maybe – don’t like to see that kind of thing.
    Yeah punk was supposed to have done away with them for all time but they keep on flapping back again

Agree with Real Ale Madrid. The Limerick players were training 3 or 4 times a week and also doing gym sessions so the fitness wasn't really a key factor in our lack of success. Fair enough one or two don't have their fitness where it should be but The vast majority of our players are very fit. Our lack of technical ability and defense errors were more of a factor.

The point about the technically better players have less work to do I always find from playing is correct. If it was as easy as just getting fit then you would have teams doing nothing but running.

Dundalk had the perfect combination of both. They had a very fit squad that were conditioned well, like most the top teams but they also were technically far superior and implemented the teams tactics and game plans much better with accuracy.

In my opinion if you are not fit then you have no business playing football at any higher than junior grade.

555 Posts
    I noticed no difference in fitness levels when Dundalk and Limerick played in the Markets Field.

The media appear to have settled on a consensus that Dundalk are miles fitter than everyone else. This was epitomised by Rico's rant on Soccer Republic last night. This could well be lazy thinking on their part.

I suspect a lot of players will be cursing this lazy consensus as clubs give them gym programmes for the off season.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Congratulations Dundalk. Was a rank horrible game but Cork wilted visibly and the goal was inevitable when it came, as was the lack of a fightback. Both teams have played better this season but cup finals tend to do that to you, especially when it's been a few years since either was there.
    It was lacking a quality that has characterised both teams play this season but rank horrible it was not and not in the context of a cup final (and double winner prospect)where the intrigue value of both teams coping with that pressure from the 2nd half onwards, has also worth

125 Posts
    But its not just about fitness, it's how you use it. Dundalk have enough quality in the middle 3 to allow one to sit back and the other 2 to work more for it. It switches over and over. Also in the full back and the wingers there is enough support there when required either in defence and attack.

Pre season has a lot to do also. We had a longer preseason than other clubs because the squad was sorted shortly after last xmas.

There is a saying that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work. In our case we were the hardest working team, also the most talented but even key players spoke about th admiration for squad members pushing them all the way in training.

I think it's beyond question Dundalk have an edge in the fitness stakes. It's not a bad thing, so did Barcelona at their peak, so do the All Blacks. There are very skillful teams and very fit teams but the best ones are both.

555 Posts
    Just saw this interview with Graham Byrne after the final:

"I am always trying to push the lads to their limits whether it is fitness or in nutrition. We are always looking for inches everywhere. This process started three years ago. I told the lads it would take three years for them to feel the absolute true benefit of this. We have streaked away from the other clubs. I’m only as good as people buying into my messages telling them to eat certain things and train a certain way. There was a culture in this country before that players didn’t buy into it and we have the first group of players who have bought into it."

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/art...ouble-winners/

1,025 Posts
    As some others have said, I think that Dundalk making other teams run themselves into the ground defending against them has a lot to do with how much fitter they look.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    It wasn’t a great game, and the first half was terrible really. As the match wore on it was clear Dundalk would be the one pressing to win the game and especially in ET, I thought at that point it was just one sided, such was the fitness of Dundalk.

I got the impression if ever there was a game for Cork to beat Dundalk yesterday was that match, especially in the first half as we struggled to get a grip of the MF. I thought the same when Cork visited after we played BATE in July (1-1 draw), however once O’Donnell got going, and started his short passing, this seemed to breathe more life and belief into the side. Shields did well to slot into right full, however Towell was quiet enough in normal time, much more lively in ET, and Finn and Horgan were magnificent for most of the game. Mountney made a big difference when he came on, and will be thinking he should have started on the right. For Cork, Bennett was quality at the back, and Gaynor showed some great pace with decent crossing at times. We just got the feeling once it went to ET, there was going to be one winner only.

On Cork’s re-building, I would start with getting rid of Healy, he is far too slow, decent passer and can put in a tackle, but he offers little when the team are on the back foot, not sure about Miller either, but I`d be looking for younger guys in the middle, it’s an area that appears to be holding Cork back, just too slow. Thought that was a dreadful challenge on Gannon, especially the follow up leg coming through, nasty stuff, think this was Buckley, he didn’t even get booked.

Disappointing to read about the seats, and like another fan who mentioned this, it was the first thing someone said to me at work this am, FFS, it had to be negative. The fans have said it was only due to standing, but the photos suggest differently, another fine and probably a deduction from the prize money.

Overall it was a great day out, fantastic to see so many there with their small kids, ourselves included, it was a real big day out for all who went, 25,100 was good turnout, definitely over 10k there from DLK . Achieving another double and the clubs 3rd in total was just a great feeling.

Commiserations to Cork, but who knows if they have more self belief, they could have got something yesterday.
    Very honest post Oriel. A lot of us have been saying it for ages now about the way City play. Your spot on when you said Sunday was our chance to beat ye, but we didn't take it and we were not brave enough. Dundalk had a great crowd down fair play to ye. See yous all again next year when we'll do it all again.

958 Posts
    I think City are adapting their game and a little more bravery especially away from Turners Cross could lead to a tighter affair in the league again. If we can convert some of that 10-12k support in to season ticket holder or more regular visitors to Oriel Park then it is icing on the cake for winning the double. The atmosphere at times was amazing, Ive not been to an Ireland game so cant compare but 25k of fans that are passionate about their team, a sell-out game at the Aviva would be incredible!

24. Thanks From:

Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast