Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Germany - Thursday, 8th October 2015 - Euro 2016 Qualifier

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    The rain, here she comes, for our parade.
    I hate to break it to you BS but the North are through with a game to spare.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Why was Keogh wearing the bandage round his head for the first-half but not the second, by the way? Just adding to the old "lunatic hell-bent on destruction" look?
    Keogh think he's Neymar. Or possibly the other way around.

2,081 Posts
    Keogh got a bad, but accidental, kick in the forehead against Leeds a few weeks back. It was live on Sky actually, lots of blood and looked a really deep cut. He played on though and has been wearing it since. I don't know why he disposed of it at half time though, which was probably the main part of your question

2,081 Posts
    It was actually the three substitutes that combined for our goal. It was Meyler who tidied up after Reus had nutmegged O'Shea, playing it back to Randolph just seconds after his introduction. It's a squad game indeed!

2,284 Posts
    Is there anywhere or way I'd be able to re-watch the RTÉ coverage of the game? I thought the game would be on Sky Go Catch-Up but they just have a four-minute highlights reel, which isn't great for re-living the whole thing. I'm assuming it's on RTÉ Player, but Hola stopped working with that a good while back and I've not known any costless way around it since. Anyone else aware of anything or would anyone have a recording they could somehow send me?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Nice to see a goal from "caveman football". There's more than one way to skin a cat. I haven't decided whether it was a masterful stroke to bring Long on late to replace the ineffective Murphy or whether he should start with him. The goal would seem to indicate the former. While I don't deny all the plaudits for Hoolahan, some are over the top as he did give the ball away twice in a dangerous position from which the Germans almost scored twice. On another day... Man of the match: Keogh/O'Shea followed by Hoolahan and McCarthy<br>
    <br>
    The Dutch comparison is very true. Which was better? I bought Champagne all round after the Dutch game. I didn't last night. I think I enjoyed the Dutch the more because we were down to 10 men and we owed the Dutch big time after some terrible disappointments. Last night was a bigger surprise because we had no Roy Keane in the side and was against the Weltmeisters.<br>
    <br>
    Days like that don't come around that often. Enjoy. Is it too much to hope for back to back victories and put that away hoodoo to bed? Probably but as ever the Poles only need a draw and that is a hard one for them: to stick or twist. Ask France when they only needed a draw against us.
    I might as well just watch our game again, in a more relaxed mode, after the televised duel in Tallaght of course.
    My impression was that we had done very well in the 2002 qual which had earned us 9 lives before that Holland game and we used them all to get through that game, but at the same time we played really good football with the emerging Duff, young Robbie and Roy in regal form.

Although Germany had a couple of gilt chances I thought they were outscrapped and there was nothing to compare with the many heart stopping moments v Holland, eg just after Kelly got sent off when Stan headed back to Given.

Other news
    RTE have revealed that 920,000 viewers were watching RTÉ2 when Shane Long scored Ireland’s winning goal, with close to 1.6m viewers tuned in throughout the course of last night’s Euro 2016 qualifier.<br>
    An additional 71,655 watched the match via the live stream on RTÉ Player.

2,081 Posts
    Memories of scares from Netherlands game...

-Kluivert slotting just wide in the opening minutes when clean through. Thought it was in.
    -Zenden with a fairly easy chance but didn't get enough elevation on the bouncing ball to put it over Given.
    -The Van Nistelrooy penalty scare.

From last night...

-Boateng free header in opening minutes.
    -Ozil missing the target with practically an open goal with Given stuck to the floor.
    -Schurrle missing a very good chance after the lovely cross from Reus. Somebody said Brady did well to put him off, I'm not so sure. All Brady did was look at him really but at least he was back there.
    -Hummels header that came at him kind of fast from a corner just after we scored. Thought it was in.
    -Muller chance. Thought it was in (yet again!) and still can't believe he missed.
    -Hummels heading straight into Randolph's arms in injury time. Either side of him and it was a goal.
    -Loads of last ditch goal saving interceptions/blocks... O'Shea from Gundogan, Keogh in the six yard box, Ward a couple of times and Christie that I can remember.

In fairness, the game last night is much fresher in the memory!
    Last edited by DeLorean; 09/10/2015 at 9:27 PM.

214 Posts
    The team we beat last night was a lot better than the Dutch team in 2001. We also had a better team back then. Prime Keano, Robbie, Duff, Dunne, Stan and Given etc.

Still cannot believe that we finally got a huge scalp in a competitive game. Just goes to show that energy, passion, commitment and a bit of luck can beat superstars. The argument of 'how can you expect a team made up of mid table PL or Championship players' to compete against the top sides has hopefully been put to bed. Northern Ireland have had some massive scalps in recent years, Costa Rica got out of a group of death at the World Cup last year etc etc.

We looked like a team had a plan and the players ran to a standstill. Also delighted for MO'N, he has delivered the shot in the arm the sport needed. It's games and results like that get kids falling in love with the game. I hope every kid in the country were out trying to replicating Shane Long this morning.

Buzzing.

130 Posts
    Absolutely to see the kids around me and on the radio after completely amazed by it all is nothing short of fantastic. The more kids the Ireland bug bites the better.

33 Posts
    The stars fairly aligned for us last night. I'm not so sure about all this criticism of the German performance. Sure they probably approached the game with arrogance but it's not like they didn't try a leg. They had a world of corners inside the first 20 minutes and it looked like a goal was coming any second. I seriously thought we would get gubbed and took to thinking to myself if I'd take a three nil loss if offered it around the 20 minute mark! Their passing was nice and neat and incisive for most of the game and in reality they created enough to reasonably expect to have won that with a bit to spare.

By contrast we only had the one clear chance and it wasn't even near being a chance when Long took off behind the Kraut back line. I feel Longs first touch is being overlooked in the euphoria. What an amazing touch to kill the ball from a long high punt while simultaneously setting it up perfectly for the strike with out breaking stride and sprinting full pelt! Did he mean to cushion it down to himself so perfectly and run on to it off his left knee?? Probably, but 9 times out of 10 that touch is running straight through to the keeper or is a fraction inside giving the advantage to the covering defender, or is a fraction to the right making a clean strike much more difficult. I doubt his controlling touch could have been more perfect to set up the hit and the fact he bobbled it off his knee right down into the turf while at full sprint and it ended up where it did is amazing.

There was a bit of talk about luck earlier. Yes, I believe we had luck in some way last night. Or like I said, the stars just aligned for us at last.
    The dude abides....

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    It was actually the three substitutes that combined for our goal. It was Meyler who tidied up after Reus had nutmegged O'Shea, playing it back to Randolph just seconds after his introduction. It's a squad game indeed!
    Yep, just saw the second half again and noted the Meyler involvement too.

Actually, on watching the second half again on telly we were actually much better than I remembered at the game. It's probably the emotional involvement being there live. A lot of the time watching Ireland from the stands is like being tied to a chair while your favourite pet is being tortured.

2,796 Posts
    Long's first touch was excellent alright, and well improvised. So much was made by rugby folk a few years ago about Zebo's heel flick against Wales - a nice piece of skill but hardly extraordinary - yet barely a mention of Long's touch last night.

And yes, it'd be churlish to day it was a lucky win but it was absolutely the case that the stars were aligned. When all the usual doom mongers here never give us a chance against whoever we're playing I usually respond by saying we'll get a few chances and we need to take them. This applies to anyone. Ok, so we got none against Spain in 2012 and quite frankly I think we really only got one last night, but it still applies. This type of result rarely happens but it happens all the time in football when a plucky underdog mugs a sophisticated superior team. I know, I'm an Arsenal fan

2,081 Posts
    Ronnie Whelan, in fairness to him, made a big fuss about Long's first touch. The Sky Sports guys noted it also. I suppose Zebo's bit of skill was a bit unorthodox and off the cuff in Rugby circles and they're not really expected to be as skilful with their feet. You've a lot of mental issues when it comes to rugby Stutts!

2,796 Posts
    Totally. See my post just now on the RTE Panel thread I think.

Edit: no, it was Jack Byrne.

But seriously, I think that there a big imbalance between how the two national teams are perceived, and my rugby mates agree.

The media / corporate Ireland / official Ireland / middle class dolly bird Ireland all annoy the fcuk out of me when it comes to sport!
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 09/10/2015 at 9:20 PM.

19. Thanks From:

358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Totally. See my post just now on the RTE Panel thread I think.

Edit: no, it was Jack Byrne.

But seriously, I think that there a big imbalance between how the two national teams are perceived, and my rugby mates agree.

The media / corporate Ireland / official Ireland / middle class dolly bird Ireland all annoy the fcuk out of me when it comes to sport!
    Stutts, You would be one of the latex, dazzle shirt wearers that should be banned from rugby pubs and rightly so too!

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugb...lide-1.2385948

33 Posts
    I caught Ronnie making a mention of the touch during the later highlights show but maybe I wasn't paying right attention to it. Never saw any Sky coverage. Read a few reports on the times and indo sites today and nothing from what I recall on the most vital touch in the whole game. The control on the run was 20 times more skilful than the finish itself which was super it goes without saying. As an aside I enjoyed Malachy Clerkins and Mary Hannigans pieces today, as I usually do with those two top quality writers. The indo website was full of cheap, rushed ********. No surprise I guess.

And on Stutts rugby points. Yeah, I'm annoyed with that ****e as well despite enjoying our rugby side and the epic games they play. The buzz that was evident from the BIG game last night though shows me that football/soccer is still the bigger draw for the ordinary Joe despite what script the media are trying to write and the ensuing herd like behaviour of the casual sports fan in this fair island.

I put on Off The Ball for the last few mins of the commute home from work today circa 7pm, the day after one of our most glorious victories in arguably the nations most popular sport and all I got was bluster and teeth knashing about how humid it was and then tension during the Irish Rugby press conference today. Barely a mention of MON and the lads. I'm sure it came later but still. The rugby talk scheduled in should have been jettisoned for analysis / celebration of a result the underachieving ruggers chaps can only dream of.
    The dude abides....

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Well I am a happy bunny, just found the full match on-line and downloading as I type.

I found yesterday my usually download site had been shut down.

It was a pain to use anyway too, slow you could usually only get one half, so I hope they have learned their
    lesson, ie if you provide a carp service the USA will shut you down for copyright infringement.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bottle of Tonic View Post
    I caught Ronnie making a mention of the touch during the later highlights show but maybe I wasn't paying right attention to it. Never saw any Sky coverage. Read a few reports on the times and indo sites today and nothing from what I recall on the most vital touch in the whole game. The control on the run was 20 times more skilful than the finish itself which was super it goes without saying. As an aside I enjoyed Malachy Clerkins and Mary Hannigans pieces today, as I usually do with those two top quality writers. The indo website was full of cheap, rushed ********. No surprise I guess.

And on Stutts rugby points. Yeah, I'm annoyed with that ****e as well despite enjoying our rugby side and the epic games they play. The buzz that was evident from the BIG game last night though shows me that football/soccer is still the bigger draw for the ordinary Joe despite what script the media are trying to write and the ensuing herd like behaviour of the casual sports fan in this fair island.

I put on Off The Ball for the last few mins of the commute home from work today circa 7pm, the day after one of our most glorious victories in arguably the nations most popular sport and all I got was bluster and teeth knashing about how humid it was and then tension during the Irish Rugby press conference today. Barely a mention of MON and the lads. I'm sure it came later but still. The rugby talk scheduled in should have been jettisoned for analysis / celebration of a result the underachieving ruggers chaps can only dream of.
    Was listening as well, they had Ray Houghton on after the eight o'clock news bulletin talking about what it's going to be like for Shane Long, people coming up to him in 20 years telling him they were at the game when he scored against Germany.

I has written a reply.feck.stupid phone.dolly bird is class stutts.

My mate put up on Facebook yesterday we may be better at the rugby but coybig have shown they are the nations favourite. It's very true.

We're soccer people Darragh as gilesy said to Darragh Maloney. That made me feel good.

Ya those rugger clowns and Jersey tuggers and half the people who've never even played the sport jumping on the bandwagon I'm with stutts. When ye've been embedded with those gomeys for as long as stutts it gets to ye ye've a right to feel aggrieved.. What really annoys me is when they take delight in not knowing when Ireland are playing . or just downright dismissal

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    Well I am a happy bunny, just found the full match on-line and downloading as I type.
    Where'd you find it? Is it RTÉ's coverage?

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast