Dont forget the muckersOriginally Posted by Schumi
€€€€ I'd assume.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Dont forget the muckersOriginally Posted by Schumi
You're not putting any stock into CTID's post about Waterford not having any money then?Originally Posted by Schumi
One of the factors in Doyle moving to UCD from Bohs last year was, incidentally, the fact that we were offering more than Bohs! (First-team rate v. U-21 rate)
Anyhoo, I e-mailed his mum about it before I saw the press release, so will let youz know what, if anything, comes back!
I'm sure they still pay wages.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
'Far too soon to write us off'
Fair enough point - only saw you 3 times last season (all in the cup though) and was very impressed with ye for a 1st division side and i reckon you mightve held your own last season in the El premier, just- (especially against Cork -said afterwards that you'd be the one team I wouldnt like to meet in the next round).
However, this seasons EL premier will be alot stronger and tougher than last season. The majority of teams seem to have or will strengthen their squads - coincide that with you losing key players it looks tough from here - thats all im saying.
I think we'll have to agree to disagree on this one. Have seen you 21's a few times this season as well Vs. Bray21's and on each occasion without winning any of the matches Bray were by far the much better side, you are right, your 21's do have some good players but at the moment they are not premier league class, just as i would say the same with our 21's.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
It's going to be harder, definitely. But especially with the 12-team Premier and only one automatic spot, we should be OK. Add in various clubs' money problems and bottom two seems a bit pessimistic. But then I would say that, wouldn't I?Originally Posted by Cosmo
By the way, youz ever hear any more about that Pat Sullivan rumour?
Watch out for Paul Byrne (three goals in 75 minutes for the first team) and Brian Gannon (had that run from the half-way line to the six-yard box, skinning three or four of your players, on the opening day before getting into a row with Maurice Farrell). Byrne can replace Doyle, Gannon/Sully can replace Finn. Back to where we started. Hopefully!Originally Posted by Roo69
A year ago, Willie Doyle was an under 21 player for Bohs.
I tell a lie. Finn played both Cup games.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Wonder if this has anything to do with Finn being dropped for the last round of games (since Kildare?) Did the same with Robbie Doyle in 2003.
doyle has definately definately gone. got an offer to big to turn down after ucd couldnt offer what he thought he deserved...Byrne will be the new fan favourite!! after all he's the only one that celebrates with the fans when he scores... hostile reception for judas doyle i reckon he should take what he's given the hungry savage
In fairness, he was only signed on a 1 year deal and UCD would probably ot be in the premier today if he had not scored 16 league goals !Originally Posted by ilovejam
15 goals, but the rest is true. Also, he did give thank us at the end of the Kilkenny game. But we move on. Byrne is on an average of 3.6 goals per game at the moment. If he can keep that up...![]()
I take it this Link is wrong then ? Was a great move by UCD to bring him in but in the true fashion of the eircom League players have more clubs than clean jocks ! Looking forward to seeing yer man Byrne now after all this hype !Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Monopoly money for the first Waterford game anyone?Originally Posted by ilovejam
It is, yeah. There were all sorts of quare goings-on with his goals - the media gave him a goal in Limerick which wasn't his at all, and gave Micko (Mick O'Donnell) a goal in Dundalk which was Doyle's. Think the programme counted accurately (though, to be honest, I would trust us!), and we ended up with 15. Which still broke our record... Last July, we were wondering if he'd make our top ten scorers of all time list by the end of the season! And now he'll be stuck 8 off it for ever and ever! [SIZE=1]Unless he comes back![/SIZE]Originally Posted by Roo69
Extract from to-day's Star:
WATERFORD EYE UCD DUE
Both players are out of contact and won't command a fee if they do move to the RSC. College supremo Pete Mahon is keen to keep Finn and Doyle, but knows he can't offer the same money that Waterford can.
If Finn doesn't command a fee, that can only mean we've let him go surely?
Amateur contract would mean that he doesn't command a fee wouldn't it?Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Feck. Hadn't thought of that. Probably means there was never a contract at all.
To be fair, we signed him from Manchester United.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
Ssssssssshhhhhhhh!!!!!![]()
We gave him his chance, is what I meant. Doyle was at Bohs, Kenna and Gannon at Shels, but we gave them their breakthrough.
And no "To be fair"ing on this board!![]()