Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers ask RTÉ to stay away from Tallaght to boost crowds

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Couch Potato View Post
    Why do people feel there will be a need for extra guards and stewards, that would only be the case if an always closed part of the ground was being opened to allow extra fans to the game.
    The number of matchday staff matches the potential capacity of any ground it MUST especially in this league when no one has a clue how many people will be there otherwise games could be under staffed.

There are usually more guards in Tallaght for games then you see in the Aviva so I'm not buying that as an excuse.
    I can't see any Dundlak fan who wants a ticket not being able to get one granted they may have to go colourless but just buy a ticket for home stand and goin early and sit at the end nearest away fans.
    Perhaps Shamrock Rovers can give Pats a phonecall and ask them how to manage a game with a big away crowd?

445 Posts
    This happens every time we play in Tallaght, our allocation sells out and some always have to buy tickets for the home end. Cover up your colours, get a ticket and walk down and sit beside the away end. There'll be plenty of room in the home end I'm sure.
    Here on a technicality.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    This happens every time we play in Tallaght, our allocation sells out and some always have to buy tickets for the home end. Cover up your colours, get a ticket and walk down and sit beside the away end. There'll be plenty of room in the home end I'm sure.
    Thanks for the advice.

I'm hearing that the ticket allocation sold out this morning and that no tickets will go on sale tomorrow to non season ticket holders.

222 Posts
    If we have sold out 700 just to season tickets holders we'll probably have about the same again paying into the home end. Surely from Rovers' point of view it makes more sense to push the plastic barrier down a few rows and contain the additional Dundalk fans in that end of the main stand. The alternative is a load of aggro with at least a third of the rest of the stand occupied with Dundalk fans spread among the Rovers fans. I'd suggest there might be a bit of 'banter' between rivals too. It's going to be nuts.

89 Posts
    Tickets all gone in Oriel.

Id recommend anyone going to Tallaght from Dundalk to arrive early as its gonna be mayhem outside the ground

399 Posts
    Dundalk getting an additional 100 tickets. Seems to be the limit.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/shamrock-rovers-ticket-update/
    Last edited by oriel; 06/10/2015 at 9:20 AM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Dundalk getting an addict all 100. Seems to be the limit.

Seriously, they restrict our numbers attending the game and are now pawning their junkies off on us aswell.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Dundalk getting an addict all 100. Seems to be the limit.

Have since heard that these will be snapped up by season ticket holders and no tickets will go on general sale.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Have since heard that these will be snapped up by season ticket holders and no tickets will go on general sale.
    This could get very messy. I can't get over the number of buses that are fully booked and hardly a season ticket holder on any of them.

I'm going to be in the ground an hour before kick off. The outside of the ground will not be a nice place to be.

185 Posts
    jaysis, the amount of hot air on here would have got the Graff Zeppelin off the ground!
    if you have a ticket for the game then whats the problem? if you dont just watch it on the tv at home, or in your local.
    and perhaps calm the f**k down a bt , ye.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Very handy. Saves taking time off work and queuing up at Oriel Park at 10am on Monday.

https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/online...product_id=144
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    This could get very messy. I can't get over the number of buses that are fully booked and hardly a season ticket holder on any of them.

I'm going to be in the ground an hour before kick off. The outside of the ground will not be a nice place to be.
    Yeh their will be as many going without tickets than with tickets

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Exactly what Party Saint said. It's been done before by other clubs so don't see what the big deal is. You'd swear you were the 1st club to sell out their allocation for the away end. There is always an acceptable solution.

555 Posts
    We didn't realise that going into the home end was such an accepted practice.

222 Posts
    It'll all work out but Rovers could have saved a load of hassle by just giving Dundalk half the west stand in the first place. Regardless of what they do there'll be 1,000+ there from Dundalk, their handling of the situation has guaranteed a significant number of possibly drunk probably obnoxiously triumphalist* Dundalk fans sprinkled among their family/corporate/neutral section.

(* Yes, I intend to be obnoxiously triumphalist if we seal the deal)

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seand View Post
    It'll all work out but Rovers could have saved a load of hassle by just giving Dundalk half the west stand in the first place. Regardless of what they do there'll be 1,000+ there from Dundalk, their handling of the situation has guaranteed a significant number of possibly drunk probably obnoxiously triumphalist* Dundalk fans sprinkled among their family/corporate/neutral section.

(* Yes, I intend to be obnoxiously triumphalist if we seal the deal)
    Like it or not the reality is that the Gardai set the security requirements and that includes leaving a tranche of empty seats in the Main stand between the away support and they the home support , that allied to the design of the stand means you can't 'split' the allocation in two.

In relation to comments here that away fans will easily get tickets on the night for the home end - that happened once before against Pats and caused serious problems - the 'security plan for Friday will ensure that won't happen- downside might be a number of Dundalk fans may purchase tickets but then won't gain admission and also won't get a refund- so don't say you weren't warned.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    In relation to comments here that away fans will easily get tickets on the night for the home end - that happened once before against Pats and caused serious problems - the 'security plan for Friday will ensure that won't happen- downside might be a number of Dundalk fans may purchase tickets but then won't gain admission and also won't get a refund- so don't say you weren't warned.
    Which is it?

Some people are saying it's a non issue. Just pay in to the home end and you'll be grand.

You're saying it won't be grand.

There are at least five coaches booked by people without tickets.

82 Posts
    What would be worse have a couple of hundred lads in a stand where they can be controlled or a couple of hundred lads walking around tallaght looking for somewhere to watch the game

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    What would be worse have a couple of hundred lads in a stand where they can be controlled or a couple of hundred lads walking around tallaght looking for somewhere to watch the game
    They'll get in, the game won't be anywhere close to a sell out.

How hard can it be to walk up to a ticket office and say 'One ticket please' and walk into the ground?

Anyone who wants to get in will get in.
    Here on a technicality.

All the Dundalk lads planning on arriving without tickets have to do is practise their German accents. Just don't mention the war.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    Like it or not the reality is that the Gardai set the security requirements and that includes leaving a tranche of empty seats in the Main stand between the away support and they the home support , that allied to the design of the stand means you can't 'split' the allocation in two.
    None of that stops Rovers moving the orange plastic divider two or three blocks down the stand though. Logisitically it is not a problem to accomodate 1,000 - 3,000 away fans in Tallaght- astounding as it seems they managed to host large away crowds for Setanta and EA finals recently. The unmovable sacrosanct orange plastic divider was shifted down the stand. I understand that Rovers want to do what's best for Rovers and they may well want to fook Dundalk over considering the grimness of the away section in Oriel, but logistics isn't the reason for the ticket restrictions.

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast