125 Posts
    Ein ticket bitte. Danke, auf wiedersen

123 Posts
    Did the tweet mention the champions elect? Seeing as they're so keen to market the game they would want to mention the only decent thing that'll be on show

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Rovers now have tweeted a match poster in German, translated 'all German fans welcome'

Still only 700 tickets going to the away side. Pure and utter arrogance.
    More like desperation.

Small club😩

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    German colours are the same as Dundalk's too. Might be a lot of Germans there. Most of them cheering on Dundalk strangely.

1,025 Posts
    Ein ticket por favor. Merci, auf wiedersen
    Fixed your post there Del Boy.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Fixed your post there Del Boy.
    Oh mongetout

399 Posts
    I've heard the 700 tickets is on advice by the Gardai. Would an additional 500 or so really be that much of a big deal?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

123 Posts
    I've heard the 700 tickets is on advice by the Gardai. Would an additional 500 or so really be that much of a big deal?
    Shhhh it's more craic blaming Rovers.

I do think that the away section could be slightly extended to make up to 1000 without creating security concerns. Realistically there won't be many Rovers, also there was no problem putting Rovers fans in the west stand with us for the setanta cup a few years ago

230 Posts
    Papellen bitte.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    That is possible - but I really doubt it. If the Gardai had significant security concerns, the first step would be to make the match all ticket. It is not so for very obvious reasons

68 Posts
    With the additional cost of more people running the turnstiles, more stewards, more Garda etc. and with the cost of expanding the away section area whilst potentially p***ing off regulars whom may not be able to sit in there regular spot. And with the increased risk of trouble, is it really worth for Shams Rovers to give additional tickets ATM then what the current away section holds? If the benefit to Rovers was a couple of hundred quid then imo it isn't worthwhile to have say potentially 2,000 home supporters and 1,500 away supports as it won't feel like a home game and any advantage they have from playing at home is out the window for the say of small money.

Plus if Dundalk requested more tickets a day or two before the game who is to say they'll be able to get more security (Gardas, stewards etc) at such little notice to meet the demands.

I highly doubt Dundalk would give away half of their ground if you swap the situations round. Nor should they be expected to or any club for that matter

Have the allocation for away supporters sold out?
    Have Dundalk brought more then 700 to a league game on there travels this season?
    Last edited by sulywaterfordfc; 04/10/2015 at 5:50 PM.

399 Posts
    Not this season, but this is a possible chance to win the league on Friday. The last biggest away league support in recent years was between 1k and 1300 v Pats in Sept 2013.

I still think Rovers could have made more available. It's not as if there will be a massive over demand from Rovers fans for the match.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Have the allocation for away supporters sold out?
    Have Dundalk brought more then 700 to a league game on there travels this season?
    Tickets going on sale tomorrow. Expected to see out quickly.

We brought over 700 to Drogheda, but normally our away support doesn't reach those levels. It takes a really big game to get people to travel in those sort of numbers. The last one that comes to mind was the "decider" in 2013 when we brought about 1,000 to Inchicore. Pats gave us about half the ground that day.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Pats gave us about half the ground that day.
    Small club mentality.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Tickets going on sale tomorrow. Expected to see out quickly.

We brought over 700 to Drogheda, but normally our away support doesn't reach those levels. It takes a really big game to get people to travel in those sort of numbers. The last one that comes to mind was the "decider" in 2013 when we brought about 1,000 to Inchicore. Pats gave us about half the ground that day.
    I forgot about the Drogs a away games, 20 mins trip down the M1 helps ofcourse.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    I highly doubt Dundalk would give away half of their ground if you swap the situations round. Nor should they be expected to or any club for that matter
    In previous seasons when we could only get around a thousand at a match we may have. Of course that would depend if we were in the same position as Rovers moaning of loss of revenue and looking like fools when there is potential to increase revenue.

1,550 Posts
    A lot of moaning going on but I'd seriously doubt anyone half way determined to make the game will miss it.

21. Thanks From:

Why do people feel there will be a need for extra guards and stewards, that would only be the case if an always closed part of the ground was being opened to allow extra fans to the game.
    The number of matchday staff matches the potential capacity of any ground it MUST especially in this league when no one has a clue how many people will be there otherwise games could be under staffed.

There are usually more guards in Tallaght for games then you see in the Aviva so I'm not buying that as an excuse.
    I can't see any Dundlak fan who wants a ticket not being able to get one granted they may have to go colourless but just buy a ticket for home stand and goin early and sit at the end nearest away fans.

222 Posts
    Well we had a somewhat similar situation in Oriel last season. For the League Cup final instead of giving Rovers half the ground we just extended the capacity of a truly awful away end. (And then the FAI stewards wouldn't let them use the new stand.)

This is primarily revenge and frankly it's hilarious to see Rovers reduced to such pettiness, especially when their whining about attendances and actively targeting Germans tourists. It's amazing how far they've slipped in the past couple of years. If only they could have found a decent manager after Mick O'Neill departed. Still at least they've got that situation sorted now with Nutsy in place. Step 1 in the master plan... replace Ronan Finn with Gavin Brennan. (At least they didn't let Finn go to a rival club.)

24. Thanks From:

89 Posts
    This is just going to be mayhem on Friday in Tallaght. I know of my own bus which is full with 52, at least 30 will have home tickets and I know of another bus which is full and nobody on it has a Season Ticket (which means they will all be in the home end)

You do have to wonder how the Gardai come up with these ideas. I still see they are selling tickets online aswell!

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast