Thread: LOI Fixtures 5th September.

370 Posts
    This wasn't good by Dundalk tonight, but we simply didn't do enough to win the game. Sligo will feel very happy with the point, not sure they worked that hard for it, probably got the point from a very poor second half display by Dundalk, but credit them to scoring two away goals. Not many have done that in oriel park over the past 2 seasons.

Cork will feel that was a last chance saloon missed tonight, but they are running out of games. It didn't feel like we are 8 pts clear walking out of the ground after that display, but we are.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

3,269 Posts
    The first division has changed in the last week. Three points dropped by us to goalkeeping howlers. Furlong back on fire and dragging Wexford along with him. Still technically in our own hands, but we pretty much need to beat Wexford home and away in the next two games. Should be helped by having the half a team we were missing tonight back. But it's still a tall order

141 Posts
    Important win for us tonight. Think Longford probably shaded first half, but we created the better chances; and then we just went ape for 10 min spell in second half. Relegation battle will go all the way to the last day I'd imagine. What has happened Limerick? And Pats for that matter - 4 defeats on the bounce now. Knowing our luck, they'll decide to turn up and give us a spanking in EA Cup final before resuming disaster football in the league

49 Posts
    [QUOTE=WoodquayBoy;1837207]Important win for us tonight. Think Longford probably shaded first half,

You should have been 4 nil up at half time Fair play to ye gave us a lesson in football as far as I'm concerned

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Cork will feel that was a last chance saloon missed tonight, but they are running out of games. It didn't feel like we are 8 pts clear walking out of the ground after that display, but we are.
    Well after the rovers game finished 1-1 I was thinking great chance to push ahead in the race for second, but with dundalk drawing it's disappointing not to have got the the win. Not that I think we will win the league but at least it would've made it a little interesting

141 Posts
    [QUOTE=Darklordsbane;1837209]
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Important win for us tonight. Think Longford probably shaded first half,

You should have been 4 nil up at half time Fair play to ye gave us a lesson in football as far as I'm concerned
    We certainly had the better chances in first half but thought ye looked more composed on the ball. Still, won't argue, massive win for us considering the wins for Limerick and Drogheda

2,360 Posts
    Harps were largely beaten by some absolutely mental decisions by the officials. Perfectly good goal ruled out for an offside that was so far onside that even the Waterford players had a laugh about it. Officiating in this league needs a proper good look at.

672 Posts
    Derry were a complete shambles yesterday. Drogheda deserved the win - only question was over a couple of penalty calls (we should've had a least one) from another poor refeering performance, but honestly that's a subplot compared to how poor we are.

A week after the best win of our season we just reverted to type. Outfought, out-thought and out-worked. Think it was a total balls-up from Pizza - played three at the back, one of them LB Dean Jarvis, with Mark Timlin and Stephen Dooley as wingers. Meant Drogheda got in down the flanks pretty much constantly.

Good to see Keith Treacy in the league, even if he is at least two stone overweight.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,360 Posts
    The first division has changed in the last week. Three points dropped by us to goalkeeping howlers. Furlong back on fire and dragging Wexford along with him. Still technically in our own hands, but we pretty much need to beat Wexford home and away in the next two games. Should be helped by having the half a team we were missing tonight back. But it's still a tall order
    Definitely Wexfords to lose from here. The only way they'll blow it now is if Danny Furlong gets injured.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Murphy at Shams probably best keeper in league. Rogers is prone to plenty of mistakes. He was at fault at the previous Sligo-Dundalk in the Showgrounds for a goal, very over rated in a bad league for keepers. I would still have him over Brush though who is calamitous.
    Schlingermann in Drogheda is probably the best 'keeper playing this season. Red bellied is yer man Coulter any good

Coulter is even worse, he had a spell in the side after Brush got injured early in the season. Sligo Rovers have arguably the two worst first and second choice keepers in tthe league.

2,360 Posts
    Extended highlights of Harps v Waterford including a couple of incredible refereeing decisions.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Harps were largely beaten by some absolutely mental decisions by the officials. Perfectly good goal ruled out for an offside that was so far onside that even the Waterford players had a laugh about it. Officiating in this league needs a proper good look at.

Going on the highlights you posted looked like both teams had a goal disallowed wrongly. Mehh Harps had the chances to win it, wouldn't blame the ref. Going on the highlights Harps had a couple of chances you'd expect to be scored that didn't even hit the target.