Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Fixtures 14th - 17th August 2015

82 Posts
    Haven't seen the replays yet but thought at the time it looked nasty. Not sure if he meant to kick him in the face but he swung his leg back to catch him. Should have been a red. Had a feeling one off our players would do something stupid as ref had been letting a load of nasty stuff by Pats go all evening. Both Mountney and Shields busted by elbows and Gannon taken out numerous times late. Was surprised the game calmed down after the Towell incident

222 Posts
    Towell was a very naughty boy, it was nasty and completely unnecessary and inexpelicable- it's not like they had a running battle or anything.

First half performance was simply sensational from Dundalk. Second time in two seasons I think Pats could count themselves lucky to only concede 4 in 45 minutes. The pressing, passing, finishing was excellent. Bolger's attempted backheel clearance for the fourth was hilarious. Not really sure why Sean Gannon was being targeted in particular this time around. Still, at least Pats made sure we couldn't play Kilduff, goodness knows how many we'd have scored with him involved too ;-)

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    The second half was a little flat after what was a sensational first half display. In the circumstances my gratitude to the irate St Pats fan who entertained me with his tirades in the second half

" Bloody pitch is a disgrace! We would sort ye out easily on a grass pitch"

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    The second half was a little flat after what was a sensational first half display. In the circumstances my gratitude to the irate St Pats fan who entertained me with his tirades in the second half" Bloody pitch is a disgrace! We would sort ye out easily on a grass pitch"
    Madness to think Buckley didn't think Gannon was good enough for Pats. Easily the best RB in the league, As someone said to me last night, he's like Denis Irwin, guaranteed a 7/10 at least every week.

Finn was unplayable for 25/30 mins in the first half. McMillian, Horgan and O'Donnell were all excellent.

Game was over at Half Time so im not surprised our players took their foot off the gas

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    Who is injured at mo? Morrissey, Dunleavy and Holohan - who else?
    I think its clear that Kavanagh, Mark O'Sullivan and Kevin O'Connor are all carrying injuries and should not have played last night.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    I think its clear that Kavanagh, Mark O'Sullivan and Kevin O'Connor are all carrying injuries and should not have played last night.
    Cork do seem to pick up a lot of injuries.

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Cork do seem to pick up a lot of injuries.
    Must be their pitch ... yes someone was going to say it...

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    Madness to think Buckley didn't think Gannon was good enough for Pats.
    In fairness I don't think it was a case of not thinking he was good enough, he couldn't guarantee Gannon that he would play him every week so Gannon left, which is fair enough. When he left at the end of 2013 Ger O'Brien was the best RB in the league so it seemed unlikely that he would get in ahead of him
    Here on a technicality.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Tony Cousins needs to go far away and never return.
    2 year contract he's going no where only down the tunnel with no regard for the fans like he does every week. Such a dislikable manager not to mention a poor one

296 Posts
    Jamie McGrath had his nose broken last night that thug Towell & the Dundalk fans that booed the youngfella of the pitch should be ashamed of themselves.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    In fairness I don't think it was a case of not thinking he was good enough, he couldn't guarantee Gannon that he would play him every week so Gannon left, which is fair enough. When he left at the end of 2013 Ger O'Brien was the best RB in the league so it seemed unlikely that he would get in ahead of him
    This, plus Gannon was two years younger at the time. He was bound to develop, would have at Pats too had he stayed. At the time though you couldn't have left Ger O'Brien out of the Pats side for him.

We haven't been able to live with Dundalk this season. We just haven't matched them physically in any of the games. They've been quicker and stronger than us, with the result that we haven't been able to control the games against them, as we can with most teams.

Finally, Towell, what a scumbaggy thing to do. You could give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he didn't know it was McGraths face he would connect with, but I'm not sure I'd be inclined to do that. If he had any class he'd apologise.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Jamie McGrath had his nose broken last night that thug Towell & the Dundalk fans that booed the youngfella of the pitch should be ashamed of themselves.
    I was one of those Dundalk fans who saw the kick and I knew the lad was hurt. I certainly didn't boo him.

However, some of the fans around me thought that it was gamesmanship and that he was doing the same thing as Derek Foran last year. Feigning injury to get a player sent off.

Can you really get on your high horse and blame them?

296 Posts
    The lad was clearly hurt when getting help off the pitch the booing by some was out of order.He is not a player with a bad reputation so I couldn't understand it some in Oriel have taken being a Partizan crowd to the extreme.

123 Posts
    The lad was clearly hurt when getting help off the pitch the booing by some was out of order.He is not a player with a bad reputation so I couldn't understand it some in Oriel have taken being a Partizan crowd to the extreme.
    Ah Jaysus give over will you. Are you telling me if that was a Dundalk player in Richmond he wouldn't have been booed by some? High horse indeed. If there can be a plus side to a bad injury it takes the focus off another inept performance by Pats against Dundalk

296 Posts
    Dundalk are the best side in the league this has nothing to do with that it has everything to do with an 18 year old player getting kicked in the face & having his nose broken then getting booed off the pitch just because you are the best team in the land doesn't give Dundalk carte blache to do what they what if you haven't got the guts to accept what happened was wrong then that's your prerogative.

555 Posts
    It wasn't clear he was injured as he walked off. I knew he was hurt as I saw the kick but others didn't see it. There is no reason to demonise them for not seeing it.

123 Posts
    Dundalk are the best side in the league this has nothing to do with that it has everything to do with an 18 year old player getting kicked in the face & having his nose broken then getting booed off the pitch just because you are the best team in the land doesn't give Dundalk carte blache to do what they what if you haven't got the guts to accept what happened was wrong then that's your prerogative.
    What are you talking about? Who said it wasn't wrong? I just think your mad if you think that with a crowd of nearly 4k there won't be some who will boo an opposing player. Also emotions were high after hard man Foresters reaction

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    This, plus Gannon was two years younger at the time. He was bound to develop, would have at Pats too had he stayed. At the time though you couldn't have left Ger O'Brien out of the Pats side for him.

We haven't been able to live with Dundalk this season. We just haven't matched them physically in any of the games. They've been quicker and stronger than us, with the result that we haven't been able to control the games against them, as we can with most teams.

Finally, Towell, what a scumbaggy thing to do. You could give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he didn't know it was McGraths face he would connect with, but I'm not sure I'd be inclined to do that. If he had any class he'd apologise.
    Is this Philip Gannon you're talking about lads as in the lad we just signed? We've been playing him CM looks very nervous and slight in the 2 games he's played

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    I think you need to get a little perspective here.

The consistent feature of matches between these sides over the last 2 - 3 season has been the aggressive approach of St Pats including cynical rotational fouling of Richie Towell. The number of red cards issued to St Pats players in these games is further testament to this approach.

This was again in evidence on Monday evening and shortly before the Towell - McGrath incident there was very strong complaints by Chris Shields to the referee - these appeared to be based on an allegation of of being struck off-the-ball.

None of this excuses Richie Towell, but it may have contributed to tempers rising on the pitch and then in the fans reactions surrounding McGrath leaving the pitch after treatment.

Jamie McGrath is a talented young player with tremendous potential - I hope Richie Towell has spoken to him directly and apologised for what happended.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I think you need to get a little perspective here.

The consistent feature of matches between these sides over the last 2 - 3 season has been the aggressive approach of St Pats including cynical rotational fouling of Richie Towell. The number of red cards issued to St Pats players in these games is further testament to this approach.

This was again in evidence on Monday evening and shortly before the Towell - McGrath incident there was very strong complaints by Chris Shields to the referee - these appeared to be based on an allegation of of being struck off-the-ball.

None of this excuses Richie Towell, but it may have contributed to tempers rising on the pitch and then in the fans reactions surrounding McGrath leaving the pitch after treatment.

Jamie McGrath is a talented young player with tremendous potential - I hope Richie Towell has spoken to him directly and apologised for what happended.
    Yep Richard has rang Jamie so we can all relax now.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast