Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: The Worst Covers Ever

430 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    should be locked up for murdering 'Father And Son'.
    Can't believe Cat Stevens let him away with that one.
    Must be trying to keep the fbi off his back.
    They have done a duet now

Quote Originally Posted by joey B
    They have done a duet now

Nothing against Ronan Keating because, fair play to him, he's making a mint but it was always dangerous for him to sing with an acomplished artist like Cat. If you listen to the song you instantly hear the limitations in Ronans voice when Cat does his bit.
    That said, all the proceeds are going to charity and if I had to pick which charity cover I'd want as the Christmas No.1 it certainly wouldn't be that pathetic spew called Band Aid 20.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby
    Although he reworked Marvin Gaye's 'Wherever I lay my hat' pretty well
    No he did a pretty appalling version of that too.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

430 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Nothing against Ronan Keating because, fair play to him, he's making a mint but it was always dangerous for him to sing with an acomplished artist like Cat. If you listen to the song you instantly hear the limitations in Ronans voice when Cat does his bit.
    That said, all the proceeds are going to charity and if I had to pick which charity cover I'd want as the Christmas No.1 it certainly wouldn't be that pathetic spew called Band Aid 20.
    Its a mighty shame cat dosent sing more on this track

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    The only cat about that song is it is CAT
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

112 Posts
    terrible covers - heard a new one this morning, ELectric Six cover of QUeen’s Radio Gaga, even more annoyting than the original.didnt Pet Shop Boys do a version of U2’s ‘Where ther Streets Have No Name’? and of course all of Robbie Willaims and Westlife’s swing covers... incidentally why did yer man Cat Stevens change from Yuseelf Islam to just Yssuef?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

20 Posts
    He didn't shorten it, probably just written that way some places. Pet Shop Boys did the only Elvis cover I like with "You were always on my mind" but their version of "Where the streets have no name" is quite poor.

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu
    Don't know how I forgot these two

Don't dream it's over - Paul Young
    Don't dream it's over - Dove

Both butchered the Corwded House song.
    Dove's sucked big time

Paul Young's version of Love Will Tear Us Apart was worse
    than his version of Crowded House's song.

He didn't shorten it, probably just written that way some places. Pet Shop Boys did the only Elvis cover I like with "You were always on my mind" but their version of "Where the streets have no name" is quite poor.
    Willie Nelson does a nice 'Always On My Mind' aswell.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

30 Posts
    Anything by Chris Doran.

Last edited by Partizan; 18/12/2004 at 12:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    Anything by Chris Doran.

Well now even Brian Mc Fadden thinks " If My World Stops Turning " is sh1t. which begs the question which pr1ck nominated it as one of the best entries as original song for the whole competition? Might account for the complete change in panel of judges for this year's competition.... will yer wan Kaneswaren ever lose the red dye ?it's bleedin hideous

I don't think MM's Tainted Love hit the spot like the old classic by softcell, it lost the whole meaning of the song . Knocking on heavens doors by GNR is savage though- Slash is da bomb

Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    I don't think MM's Tainted Love hit the spot like the old classic by softcell, it lost the whole meaning of the song . Knocking on heavens doors by GNR is savage though- Slash is da bomb
    " Hey hey hey hey hey hey"

3,491 Posts
    Three pages in and no mention of Band Aid II (from 1989) or Bank Aid 20? Very pale versions of the original, I thought.

Actually picked up the Band Aid single in a record sale ages back but never played it...only put it on recently and found out that it was the 1989 version... Featuring such luminaries as Big Fun, Cathy Dennis, D Mob, Kevin Godley, Glen Goldsmith, The Pasadenas, Jimmy Sommerville, Sonia and Technotronics...

Did have at least some people you've heard of though - Bananarama, Jason Donovan, Kylie Minogue, Chris Rea, Cliff Richard, Lisa Stansfield and Wet Wet Wet - but it shows how much downhill music went in those five years...

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Three pages in and no mention of Band Aid II (from 1989) or Bank Aid 20? Very pale versions of the original, I thought.

Actually picked up the Band Aid single in a record sale ages back but never played it...only put it on recently and found out that it was the 1989 version... Featuring such luminaries as Big Fun, Cathy Dennis, D Mob, Kevin Godley, Glen Goldsmith, The Pasadenas, Jimmy Sommerville, Sonia and Technotronics...

Did have at least some people you've heard of though - Bananarama, Jason Donovan, Kylie Minogue, Chris Rea, Cliff Richard, Lisa Stansfield and Wet Wet Wet - but it shows how much downhill music went in those five years...
    pineapple.

Who the f*** is Glen Goldsmith?

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    pineapple.

Who the f*** is Glen Goldsmith?
    Chesney Hawkes anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    Chesney Hawkes anyone?
    No Chesney Hawkes was his real name. His old man was Chip Hawkes and he was in one of those 1960's bands like The Love Affair or somebody like that.

20 Posts
    Didn't think Cathy Dennis was around in 1989, thought she had her one hit wonder around 1990/91.

Quote Originally Posted by samuel
    No 1-his version of Fairytale of New York-people have been deported for less.
    I blame the producers and the record companies.

Didn't think Cathy Dennis was around in 1989, thought she had her one hit wonder around 1990/91.
    Yeah but Scott Aitken and Waterman produced the 89 one, so possible they bunged her on there.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast