Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: LOI week of May 15/16

225 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    They probably should have had at least one penalty, and the other was in the 'I've seen them given' category.
    Thought the challenge was a penalty myself, not sure about the handball.
    Disappointing and heartening at the same time, that match. We matched Dundalk on the pitch, especially in the second half. Not a whole lot of chances created, so pretty gutting when the late, deflected goal went in.
    In saying that, Byrne really should have made it 2-0 at the death. But if we can play like that against the better teams, we'll do alright.

On a side note, what was the craic with all the garda dogs outside the ground? Bit over the top, surely?

2,358 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    On a side note, what was the craic with all the garda dogs outside the ground? Bit over the top, surely?

Strongly resisting Derry and greyhound jokes...

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    I was a bit surprised when I saw that myself. The dogs must have needed a run out or something as there's never been any need for a public order unit when Derry are in town.

67 Posts
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=...&v=Rea66fCEKVw Highlights from the Blues 3-1 win over Cabinteely Friday last.

1,002 Posts
    Never seen as many police before as I saw at limerick v Cork.

Do not know what they were expecting to happen.

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Cork City are just pure filth in the numerous tackles they make per game....
    Thats just cos we keep giving the ball back after we win it. We have no interest in possession football!

880 Posts
    I doubt they were there for the decent Derry folk who traveled to the game but after Dundalk's last game in the Brandywell they were likely there to ensure no retaliation from the not so decent type in Dundalk that would neither be in Oriel or the Brandywell but need little excuse for a bit of rock chucking at visiting Derry fans!

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Seagull View Post
    Our PA chap needs to learn the word Wanderers- Bray Wanders is what he calls us.
    Get the older gentleman back! Very pleasant chap.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

272 Posts
    Lowering the volume wouldn't hurt either it could be heard in Greystones on Saturday it was that loud.

2,358 Posts
    Penalty decision for Galway was a disgrace. Great tackle by Lopes.

1,002 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Penalty decision for Galway was a disgrace. Great tackle by Lopes.
    Truly shocking decision.

555 Posts
    Never mind referreeing. Buttimer should be banned from all grounds in the league

1,002 Posts
    Jaysus, looked like a penalty for longford also.

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Jaysus, looked like a penalty for longford also.
    Said at the time I didn't think so and I'm even more convinced now that it wasn't. No contact Imo. Blanchard very clumsy but hasn't put a foot it and didn't push him. No peno. We should have buried rovers on the night no excuses

Certainly looked like no contact. Shaw presumably kicked his own heel.

1,002 Posts
    I thought the defender caused him to clip his own heel as he went to kick, but it wasn't that clear.

The slowed down replays of the same footage don't help much.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Never mind referreeing. Buttimer should be banned from all grounds in the league
    Genuinely can't remember the last time I've seen him ref without him making a huge mistake. Sometimes he's lucky and they don't cost clubs points, but he'll always get at least 2/3 simple decsions completely wrong

821 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Certainly looked like no contact. Shaw presumably kicked his own heel.
    Correct

218 Posts
    Just seen footage from soccer Republic and as suspected definite penalty. I thought so Friday night and even more so now. And considering the Rovers back room staff backed up those claims is even more disappointing. Outspoken, check out the footage on RTE player and I'm sure you will change your mind!

Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    Get the older gentleman back! Very pleasant chap.
    Somehow i don't think that will be happening...

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=1&theater

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast