Thread: Foot.ie advertising

186 Posts

Foot.ie advertising

WTF. Some very young looking Asian girls been advertised on here lately. If somebody sees it on your screen in passing, God only knows what they are thinking.. When you work in an open plan office or have kids I just don't bother opening Foot anymore in case of the type of advertising that might pop up or who might see it. I know advertising is important but ffs lads.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

229 Posts
    Are ads based on cookies and possibly reflective of the websites someone might have on recently?

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Are ads based on cookies and possibly reflective of the websites someone might have on recently?
    Yes, but they can be a bit... strange in the way they handle them. You look up Thai food, next time you load up the page, you get ads for Thai prostitutes.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by legendz View Post
    Well trust me I aint, unless the boss or the wife is using my computer and likes Asian food.

Its only ever on Foot.ie website that it happens is why I was wondering.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Yeah, I only ever seem to get ads for World of Warplanes recently, and I haven't a clue why.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Ad blocker does the trick.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    Yes, but they can be a bit... strange in the way they handle them. You look up Thai food, next time you load up the page, you get ads for Thai prostitutes.

I've had the same thing happen to me, but the other way around. And I don't even like green curry!!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    But denies the site revenue.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    Wouldn't normally endorse it because websites like this rely on them but if you're at work it's always a good idea.

98 Posts
    This is the one site i disable adblock for. But i do find the ads on it are rather "strange" at times.
    Athlone Town AFC 1887-2017

186 Posts
    Cheers lads. Glad to hear Im not the only one getting some mad advertisements on here. (odd its only this website too).

Done the add blocker there and it works a treat. I understand websites are advertising supported, but in fairness what can you do. Especially at work in an open plan office.

Edit: That adblocker is dead handy for P2P sports websites like First Row Sports who have a million pop ups.
    Last edited by redobit; 08/12/2013 at 4:18 PM.

229 Posts
    You should be working harder anyways!! In fairness this site works well on mobile unlike some other sites. Useful for anyone having to use mobile due to some restrictive websites at work.

2,446 Posts
    I do find some very interesting advertisements on here too. This is the only website I disable adblock for, but at times, I find myself putting it on because of some of the strange ads putting me off.

105 Posts
    I use ad blocker here too. Don't see why you'd turn it off either.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    I use ad blocker here too. Don't see why you'd turn it off either.
    Foot.ie makes it's money from advertising. When you use adblock, that ceases. I'd prefer, personally, to see foot.ie make it's money every time I visit than to deny the site of necessary revenue.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Of course you could become a member and both support the site and avoid ads...
    http://foot.ie/payments.php
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    Of course you could become a member and both support the site and avoid ads...
    http://foot.ie/payments.php
    Ah yes, forgot about this actually, something I meant to do for a long time now and never got around to it. Cheers for the reminder.

521 Posts
    Jaysus, why would you post this in the league forum for feck's sake!? I did see some rather suggestive skyscraper ads last week, I thought they'd dropped out of rotation, but I see they're back now. These seem to be for thaimatches.com, which I've blocked now.

I'm always happy to do this if someone will click on the ad for me to get the URL. (I actually got ticked off by Google for clicking ads to do this in the past, but it turns out you can find the destination by copying the URL and scanning the 1000-odd characters for an hour and a half looking for something that resembles one.)

Google also allows you to block categories, but I'd prefer to avoid that; for example I wouldn't like to block dating sites completely just because of these dodgy hoors, when you're all a bunch of hard-up good-for-nothings that couldn't get a girl if she offered it up on a platter. Ye need the hoors.

No offense like.

EDIT: Forgot to add, this'll take an hour or two to take effect. Thanks for tipping me off.
    Last edited by dahamsta; 10/12/2013 at 12:08 PM.

291 Posts
    It's a disgrace. An absolute disgrace.

Why haven't I seen any of these?

521 Posts
    I knew I should've taken a screenshot...