View Poll Results: Do you agree with extending civil marriage to Same Sex couples?

Voters
35. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

31 88.57%
  • No

4 11.43%
Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Marriage Equality Referendum - how will you vote?

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I'm surprised William Binchy, a very highly-esteemed family law professor, amongst other specialisms, has been adding serious academic weight, by virtue of his standing rather than his intellectual contribution, to the most popular and misleading arguments in favour of a 'yes' vote.
    Are you surprised? That is exactly what he has been doing for years - at least since his involvement in the constitutional ban abortion in 1983.

398 Posts
    The first good discussion I heard was on the Marian show this weekend, Jerry Buttimer was brilliant and concise, as was the No campaigner. Both of them spoke politely, clearly and I believe that much of this was down to the polls results from the weekend.

I don't buy the polls that it is close, it should be a landslide for the Yes campaign as just from questioning family and friends, it's 18-5 in favour. And these are folks who always go out and vote.

What is embarassing is the nonsense - "Let's send a signal to the world of how progressive we are." What a load of sh!te. We were plamased with the same "Aren't ye great paying the bank bills." etc. This type of FG/Labour mindless rhetoric is going to turn people away from voting yes! The shrill yes eejits also forget this, that this is politics, and by keeping it local and calm, and relevant, it will pass at a canter. Ursula Halligan's coming out again (all for the cause) showed this as people began thinking different, same with Leo the lizard. But a quality, and really emotional pair were Una Mulally (as much of a mouth as she is) and Jerry Buttimer. Their stories are relevant to all families and if you wouldn't run out and vote yes after hearing/reading them, you'd have a heart of stone.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    What is embarassing is the nonsense - "Let's send a signal to the world of how progressive we are." What a load of sh!te. We were plamased with the same "Aren't ye great paying the bank bills." etc. This type of FG/Labour mindless rhetoric is going to turn people away from voting yes!
    I don't know how it is effecting voters, but I think I will find it embarrasing as an Irish Citizen, if a majority of the voters vote this one down to be honest. It will show us a backward country, imo. Nothing wrong with this being pointed out, and it's possible effect on our international standing. The world actually is watching!

I do think it will be close - the Yes voters have to get out and vote for starters. It's no good queues of young people to register, if they don't actually vote. The one saving grace of the No campaigns muddying of the waters tactic is that we'll get a fairly quick re-run if it does fall, on the basis of the confusion caused by their misinformation.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I don't know how it is effecting voters, but I think I will find it embarrasing as an Irish Citizen, if a majority of the voters vote this one down to be honest. It will show us a backward country, imo. Nothing wrong with this being pointed out, and it's possible effect on our international standing. The world actually is watching!
    We were one of the first nations to elect an openly gay statesman in Senator David Norris back in 1987 and I believe one of the first, if not the first, to elect female members of parliament and a cabinet minister. Our courts do have a good reputation for generally protecting minority rights, but I do think a 'no' vote would do damage to our reputation across Europe at the very least. Not that fear of shame is why we should be passing this, mind.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IsMiseSean View Post
    That's nonsense...
    The same can be said about the No campaign. I've had No leaflets handed to me in Shopping Centres in Galway. Priests/Bishops up & down the country badgered people at masses today to vote No.
    The whole point of a campaign is to push your side of the argument.
    Exactly.

And, if there are people over-stepping the mark and trying to push things down people's throats, it's worth acknowledging you'll get idiots on both sides.

See here for just one example of unsavoury behaviour from 'no' voters: http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/...cle1557500.ece

Quote Originally Posted by The Sunday Times
    DONEGAL star Eamon McGee has revealed he received hate mail as a result of his support for a Yes vote in next Friday’s marriage equality referendum in the Republic of Ireland.

The All-Ireland winner, who will anchor down Donegal’s defence today as they face the first challenge to their Ulster title against Tyrone, initially expressed his support for a Yes vote having been invited to a Yes Equality ‘Pledge to Vote’ campaign launch at Letterkenny IT in February.

“There’s been letters to the house with no names on them saying that I’m going to hell and leading the people of Ireland to hell, all this off-the-wall stuff,” says McGee. “Obviously, you’d prefer it didn’t happen but I feel I’m doing the right thing.”
    It's important for people to make their decision based upon the arguments and not on the perceived tactics used by some campaigners on a particular side. The latter would be just incredibly petty and idiotic.

201 Posts
    So, John McGuinness will vote No, and it would seem that Eamon O'Cuiv is leaning that way - will FF lurch to the right if there is a shock result, and the by-election is lost?

Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    So, John McGuinness will vote No, and it would seem that Eamon O'Cuiv is leaning that way - will FF lurch to the right if there is a shock result, and the by-election is lost?
    Isn't that where their membership base is these days? Old, conservative, Catholic fundamentalist?

201 Posts
    True, but Martin was at least keeping them in the centre, and they won't break out of the 20% bracket by sticking solely with the over-fifties!

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Has O'Cuiv given any indication on which way he'll be voting? So far he has refused to comment when asked by the Galway Independent & the Journal.

Quote Originally Posted by IsMiseSean View Post
    Has O'Cuiv given any indication on which way he'll be voting? So far he has refused to comment when asked by the Galway Independent & the Journal.
    I imagine he'll wait until the results from his constituency come in and then tell us he voted the same way.

199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I imagine he'll wait until the results from his constituency come in and then tell us he voted the same way.
    The ultimate fence sitter is our Dev Og.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    Anytime I hear or remember "No" voters complaining about intolerance during the campaign, I'm going to think of this tweet: https://twitter.com/UnaMullally/stat...87521132113924
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

2,284 Posts
    Further thoughts of mine on the referendum and the disingenuous 'no' campaign in blog form: https://danieldcollins.wordpress.com...-the-children/

2,337 Posts
    Got a good laugh from this video, highlighting just how ridiculous the discrimination can be. Hailo taxis are running free pre-booked services to the polling stations. Fair play to them.

201 Posts
    Also, the USI really seem to have played a blinder with their voter registration drive - the result might be the same in any case, but it could tip the balance in some of the rural constituencies.

500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Anytime I hear or remember "No" voters complaining about intolerance during the campaign, I'm going to think of this tweet: https://twitter.com/UnaMullally/stat...87521132113924
    I don't have a problem with Una, but she knows damned well she's just feeding the trolls with this. It's attention wh*ring.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    581 Posts
    I think she's absolutely trying to draw attention, and more power to her, considering how the "No" side have managed to create this fantastical perception among many that they are a bullied minority.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    I think she's absolutely trying to draw attention, and more power to her, considering how the "No" side have managed to create this fantastical perception among many that they are a bullied minority.
    I agree. Fair play. Shame them and expose the baloney. She's a victim here; not to blame.

500 Posts
    There's a big difference between saying she's attention whoring and saying she's to blame, I absolutely did not say the latter and your attempt to paint it that way is obnoxious.

And there's a big difference between drawing attention and looking for attention. She hasn't exposed anyone, only an ignorant minority that we're all already aware of. If she had exposed the person responsible, that would be another matter entirely.

These people WANT her to post their bile on the web, it's exactly what they're trying to achieve, and Una is media-savvy enough to know this.

Seriously, you're on Foot.ie, land of the troll. I'm surprised you're unable to recognise one.

25. Thanks From:

2,284 Posts
    Sincerest apologies, Adam. I should have said "not in the wrong for attention-whoring" rather than relying on a brevity and carelessness that misrepresented your point. Sorry. I was in no way judging you negatively, nor would I suggest you were trying to pin her up as a baddy here/portray her sense of victimisation as invalid. I maybe tried to make my point sound like more of a snappy soundbite than I should have.

I completely see your point, but I say if she wants to "attention-whore" when victimised, let her. Nothing wrong with that. What she was subjected to was wrong; expose it and expose it again, even if many of us are already aware of the shameful nature of it. It's a difficult question; do you try and challenge the bullsh*t, thereby possibly giving the troll oxygen or validation, or do you ignore them and let their ideas fester and potentially influence naive impressionables? Unfortunately, that question causes me greater struggles than it does you.

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast