Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: 2015 Fixtures

1,025 Posts
    What did Hughes do when getting subbed off?

The team deserve to be relegated full stop.the season has been a shambles and the table doesnt lie.team was never good enough from day one except for shane duggan and one or two more.its so dissappointing after the big return to the markets field.the club will struggle to get a thousand at the remainder of the home games and very few die hards at the first div games next season.backwards things have gone the last few weeks.

It looked like they all gave up at half time. No effort in second half. I am amazed by that as first half was quiet good. Was Lee J the only one getting them to work in the first half?

Team shape gave no protection to an exposed defence in 2nd either.

Tommy Holland despite conceeding 4 goals was pretty solid. Good on him.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    Team shape gave no protection to an exposed defence in 2nd either.
    This is a constant issue over the course of the season.

Whenever we are under the cosh, our defence is completely exposed. I literally wonder where our midfield players are at times when the opposition has the ball.

So much of the 2nd half was Galway attackers with the run of our half, and our back 4 racing back towards goal to try and get in front of runners.

A hat tip to Tommy Holland in goals, he kept that score down.

It's baffling how exposed that very inexperienced back line was left last night.

Ryan Connolly ran the show from midfield and was a constant that running at our back 4.

From here on we need to see some of the young lads given game time. Hopefully it will stand to them for next season. I actually don't want to see any signings coming in at this stage. No point in wasting money.

Which young lads though??

The club are deluded if they think the current crop are good enough to compete in the First Division next year.

Absolutely embarrassing yesterday but anyone could have told the board in February what was coming down the line. Strange, strange season.

Well let's be honest where will the money come to sign players next season so we need to give these lads plenty of game time.

Holland, Costello, Whitehead and Paudie should see out the rest of the season as starters. I'd throw Mann in there also and Colm Murphy if fit.

At least they will have plenty of games under their belts going into the first division. A bit of protection for the back 4 and those lads could thrive. They will have to do it next season and I don't want to hear the excuse next year that the lads need game time to adjust to LOI etc.. this is the time for them to get it. It's also a lot easier to convince locals to get behind some local young fellas for the rest of the season.

Hughes needs to be moved into midfield for his proper position also. Hughes and Prince in front of the back 4 will at least close up the space that teams have been walking through. Shane Tracey needs to be stuck with also, in a more advanced position.

The players that will most likely be gone for next season are Price, O'Connor, Clarke, Harding, O'Donnell and let's be honest Lynch.

On a side note the decision the club made with regards the under 17's is shocking.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 12/07/2015 at 9:17 PM.

420 Posts
    Which young lads though??

The club are deluded if they think the current crop are good enough to compete in the First Division next year.

Absolutely embarrassing yesterday but anyone could have told the board in February what was coming down the line. Strange, strange season.
    Ah no you must have forgotten we were just being negative for no reason and everything was going to be just fine remember?

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    On a side note the decision the club made with regards the under 17's is shocking.
    Jesus the last thing we need to do is destroy the underage system.

Care to elaborate?

Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Jesus the last thing we need to do is destroy the underage system.

Care to elaborate?
    Club held open trials for the under 17's team to play in the national league. Supposedly up to 80 young lads turned up. Some excellent players with international recognition from what I've been told.

The club decided to announce that they will not be taking any players from the trial but will instead only take players from their own current 15's and 16's. Basically making the club a closed shop in one swoop.

Hopefully the decision is reversed.

25 Posts
    That's one way of attracting players to the u15s and u16s but surely a team like that would get annihilated in a national league next season??

Don't know to be honest. There might be great quality in our current under 15's and 16's but you can't as a club representing a city and County rule out players who have gone to the effort of coming to trials and basically set a precedent for further trials. could you imagine if Manchester United saw a young lad at 17 that was very good and said nah your grand we only stick with what we have.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Club held open trials for the under 17's team to play in the national league. Supposedly up to 80 young lads turned up. Some excellent players with international recognition from what I've been told.

The club decided to announce that they will not be taking any players from the trial but will instead only take players from their own current 15's and 16's. Basically making the club a closed shop in one swoop.

Hopefully the decision is reversed.
    The thing with that is

1. Its a terrible decision

2. If you make this terrible decision there is absolutely no need to release a statement about it

3. If you insist on making the terrible decision and then the second poor decision to release a statement about it then make the statement better than what they did put out.

I'd love to know who actually made this decision is there some sort of committee involved in making decisions about the underage set up or is it just the board of the club? I know of one of the board that is or was involved with running the academy but I have no idea if he would have any say in this kind of thing and if he did how much of a say.

Sam alardyce. Hes available. 3 month contract with a holiday home in spanish point plus car. Hes made his millions so might with serious arm twisting and or large consumption of drugs take the job subject to Russell leaving. Grasping at straws lads i know.

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    60 seconds is a long time in football,lynch misses a sitter at one end and one minute later harding ,who was being hammered by Brays winger,acts the clown and gets sent off so Bray who would have gladly taken a point now had the incentive for all three and they went and got them.now at the risk of sounding like the ould broken record ,.....ffs better not sure everyone knows it already,however what was Russell doing with the shape of the team with ten men ??and those who think lynch will be some sort of saviour better think again young and possibly talented but how many clubs is it now[lack of game time or not he had a shocker ]this Bray team came in to this in turmoiland at times made us look so poor and shapeless.best players on the pitch Duggan[again] ,Brays right full and the ref.....oh ya ..might as well 20 GAMES NO WIN.
    I fear we could lose duggan to cork unless pat o sullivan dips into the kitty

1,025 Posts
    Russell's gaffe in the interview on Soccer Republic tonight summed it all up: "We never stopped giving up."

Seems to be a threat to local players playing with other clubs in the local leagues,come to limerick at u15s or dont come at all,whoever is advising o sullivan is brainless,another nail into local clubs and Limerick looking to get bums on seats,the only bums seems to be the ones making the decisions,a good course in PR is needed by sullivan and hangers on.

I had to laugh when I heard Russell say that on soccer republic alright , and pat o Sullivan's speech after the game last night ",to mk dons players keep fighting never give up just like our players do " if neither of them think the team gave up last Saturday what hope have we , I know a few people with kids involved in underage setup and from what they do be saying its no surprise the way they handled under 17 decision there well sick of the way things are organised

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    POS and Russell Are starting to sound like one of those governments that's about to be overthrown but insists everything is fine.

27 Posts
    The Greeks are ,The Greeks are coming.....all is well.

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast