Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: 2015 Fixtures

25 Posts
    Well that's pretty much that. Hate to see a fella lose his job but Russell's got to go. Team selection has been terrible. Persisting with Price? And O'Connor? And Russell Jr.? It's over now, let's get rid, go someway local with a gaffer and players who have nothing to lose really. Stick a fork in us.

420 Posts
    No matter how much people want to keep the myth of him being a great manager going Russell should be sacked not much to work with but when you still haven't a clue how to use what little you have we haven't a hope. Lack of effort by some players most of this season has been disgusting and again tonight.

That was a horrible display. Russel is a joke. He has picked the same team every week and it keeps losing. That's a sure sign of madness. A must win home game and he plays 1 up front. Agree with previous poster bout Russel jnr & co. What was the point of bringing Prince back if your not going to play him? Its all too late now anyway, its First Division football from here on in. 1400 was a great attendance but sad it wont come back with the tripe that was out there tonight.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Genuine question for people if the club had the twenty grand or whatever to get rid of Russell in the mornin would you rather they spend it on sacking him or on two or three players??

Lookin at a serious wedge of money to keep us up now and were so far gone it would be very risky money anyway. Is the will there within the club to spend it??

420 Posts
    Genuine question for people if the club had the twenty grand or whatever to get rid of Russell in the mornin would you rather they spend it on sacking him or on two or three players??

Lookin at a serious wedge of money to keep us up now and were so far gone it would be very risky money anyway. Is the will there within the club to spend it??
    Sack him. Sign anyone you want now and we are still going down.

Not just keep him and save the few quid for the first division then? :P

I think we ll actually romp the first division next year it looks terrible

And Cabinteely have a bar in their ground

420 Posts
    Not just keep him and save the few quid for the first division then? :P

I think we ll actually romp the first division next year it looks terrible
    Its worth the few quid to not see his son anymore.

46 Posts
    Lads Russell is going nowhere I don't know if ye heard pat o sullivan this morning on live95fm he said absolutely 100% Russell will be staying ( wait for it) for as long as he wants.
    So unless he walks he will be here for a good while yet.

On the game o Donnell is the worst keeper iv seen ever at Limerick he sets up the wall scully runs up to strike the ball o Donnell runs across to the side his wall is protecting trying to anticipate if he actually stood on his side were he was suppose to he would of dropped his hat on it. It was embarrassing.
    Last edited by thomas72; 04/07/2015 at 8:55 PM.

I can't wait for the b******t Russell comes out with on Soccer Republic for that display - phucking shocking, pure p*ss from start to finish. He should be sacked pronto!

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    God damn, that is very dissapointing. Can't really defend Russell anymore, when his team can't beat a side training themselves without pay. All of the promo the club accounts have been doing for second MF game ring so hollow. Decent crowd again, and another awful advertisement.

Think only an off-field implosion at Bray will save Limerick now. You have to wonder how competitive the club would be in the First Division on the basis of this season. As good as Harps or Youths? Not really. That's really worrying.

The biggest complains I'd have of Russell tonight is leaving his son on for 90mins when he done **** all again , bringing on rainsford to do absolutely **** all again only lose the ball as usual, I'd agree we should have played 2 up front but the only thing I'll say to that is who else do you play??? None of the rest are good enough Hanlon dreadful Faherty not enough effort. Do I blame Russell for the season we've had no , how anyone taught that team was anywhere near capable of staying in prem not too sure what they expected. What a crying shame the club gets good momentum with markets field move but it came way too late in the season just like trying to bring in players now should have happened pre season.

3 of our players will not pass the ball to sean russell. Tracy, Duggan and williams. All very experienced so shows what they think of him. Clarke has lost his bottle. Our club has a habbit of rewarding failure (scullys 2 year contract extension) so if Russell stays so will his un substitutetional son and the real players leave. We started with 10 players tonight and sean russell,,,,,got a man sent off at went down to 9 wiith rainsford joining fellow passenger russell. Wait for the "we have the best man in place to take us up" stories

I said it at the start of the season that the team wouldnt be good enough for the season ahead.18 games without a win is scandalous and the buck stops with the manager.every week there is an excuse.unless they manage to get in a few quality players its down to the first div and they deserve it as results dont lie.half the current squad or more are just not good enough for this level.

1,025 Posts
    Duggan, Clarke, are players who would get a game for another premier division club. Tracy, Williams, maybe.

The rest are not good enough, and in most cases, nowhere near good enough. To what extent that squad was patched together as cheaply as possible, I don't know. What choices in personnel Russell made before the season, I don't know. Were there players he could have signed, but didn't? Who were they, and who did he bring in instead? Would Russel have known privately that we were totally screwed before the season started, or did he misjudge the quality of the squad?

I don't think we could get any manager who would keep that squad in the premier division. They are weak all over the field, deficient in almost every position. The only way we will stay up (I don't think there is any hope of that, to be honest) is if we get in a load of decent players. If there is another manager who would be able to bring a few quality players with him, then get him in, but lets hope he knows how to get a team promoted too.

What bothers me more than that is that we have not really altered our play in any way since the start of the season. We are still passing it aimlessly around the back. We are are atill looking for the ball over the top to Clarke every time. There is still a gaping hole between our midfield and our defence in every game, with loads of space for the opposition to exploit.

Russell doesn't address these problems, either between games or during games - yesterday Bray had acres of space between our midfield and back 3. It was crying out for Jason Hughes or somebody to fill that space and protect them, but he never made the switch, and we were under pressure there for most of the 2nd half.

And, while in most cases, our squad is so uniformly poor that I don't have too many complaints about who he selects over other players (Raisford, Hanlon, or Faherty alongside Clarke - it doesn't matter, none of them can do the job), his persistence with his son is unforgiveable.
    Last edited by osarusan; 05/07/2015 at 10:49 AM.

27 Posts
    60 seconds is a long time in football,lynch misses a sitter at one end and one minute later harding ,who was being hammered by Brays winger,acts the clown and gets sent off so Bray who would have gladly taken a point now had the incentive for all three and they went and got them.now at the risk of sounding like the ould broken record ,.....ffs better not sure everyone knows it already,however what was Russell doing with the shape of the team with ten men ??and those who think lynch will be some sort of saviour better think again young and possibly talented but how many clubs is it now[lack of game time or not he had a shocker ]this Bray team came in to this in turmoiland at times made us look so poor and shapeless.best players on the pitch Duggan[again] ,Brays right full and the ref.....oh ya ..might as well 20 GAMES NO WIN.

I would like to see Prince and Hughes in for O'Connor and Russell next week. And Abass in goal. Actually thought we played quiet well for a lot of the game lastnight and did not deserve to lose at all. Was that even a foul for the free kick?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    I would like to see Prince and Hughes in for O'Connor and Russell next week. And Abass in goal. Actually thought we played quiet well for a lot of the game lastnight and did not deserve to lose at all. Was that even a foul for the free kick?
    I thought Bray had the best of the opening 15 mins of the game then we had the rest of the first half but don't think we kept it going in the 2nd half at all. I can only remember one chance in the 2nd half really and that was Lynches.

Ali is supposedly in quarantine in the regional with suspected malaria I was told.

Looked a definite foul for free from my view thought they could very well have had a penalty too.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I thought Bray had the best of the opening 15 mins of the game then we had the rest of the first half but don't think we kept it going in the 2nd half at all. I can only remember one chance in the 2nd half really and that was Lynches.

Ali is supposedly in quarantine in the regional with suspected malaria I was told.

Looked a definite foul for free from my view thought they could very well have had a penalty too.
    Jesus of that's true hopefully he makes a speedy recovery.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Jesus of that's true hopefully he makes a speedy recovery.
    Ya would hope if it is the case the lad will be ok. New keeper arriving before next game apparently.

Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast