Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Away support

1,103 Posts
    Our side, I was selling the tickets..Waterford side the FAI I think it was Andy Needham or Paul Brady possibly..the attendance was 9,700 or so, as I say I sold our tickets which amounted to about 5, 500-6,000 on the day, Waterford at max 3,500, again according to the FAI

away fans to united park this season:

shels: not bad considering the abuse they always get. prob about 200 at both games, should be more considering their great season.

cork: excellent. more at the earlier game rather than the 2nd last game of the season which was surprising, both great support on both occasions.

bohs: good for first game and poor second time around, but to be expected considering how their season went

waterford: poor, just a handful

longford: poor for the league, but brought a good crowd for a monday night semi final replay, that made for an excellent atmosphere

derry : ok. normally derry bring much more. first game was a tuesday night clashing with arsenal chelsea champions league, so not sure if that affected it, second game numbers where there but we won 4-0 so they weren't singing too much.

pats: disappointing. pats normally bring much much more. even the cup game, there was less than for most league visits to united park. normally i would consider pats the best away fans to united park.

rovers: terrible this year. prob due to the sason they had, but their numbers where way down - brought much less than the crowd shels brought

dub city : didn't notice any away fans tbh

craptown: not bad, but it was a cup derby

ucd: more than dub city

as for our own away following. well its pretty poor outside of dublin or cup trips - where we seem to bring large numbers.
    Last edited by ColinR; 28/11/2004 at 10:45 AM. Reason: typo

All crap.

The away support at turners cross this year was as bad as it ever has been. Even Waterford barely managed to bring 150 down. Usually Rovers are pretty good but this season they didnt seem to be the same numbers. Also the fact that they were attacked by City fans with stones 1st time round probably made their mind up second time around.

Cork's support away support this year was pretty good. Ian has made it a lot easier with the busses and the fact that were on a good run was the reason we got 1000 at Tolka.

Waterford was a good effort too.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    Waterford was a good effort too.
    Naturally enough considering it was a Munster derby.

Well it was a "Munster Derby" in Turners Cross too and Waterford fans didn't seem too bothered to come to Cork.

Rovers: Weirdos, there team is terrible yet turn up in numbers and act looney. Bit like a cult really. Songs like buttercup and silent night at Ireland games confirm that ! God help the rest of ye if they ever look like winning something[/QUOTE]

LOL Exactly any other club at this stage would have no support.

A few points though. Any team that is winning ie. cork and shels will have numbers travelling. The true test is the amount traveling CONSISTENTLY when the team is doing bad and for that it's only us and Derry.

Also if the away games (and by that I mean down the country) were played on a saturday night or a sunday afternoon numbers travelling would be more like the old days. This travelling to cork on a friday and derry on a thursday is a disgrace. And harry crumb a few stones dont deter us.........well used to it down there over the years.

Anyway as someone who went to all 36 league games here's my list in order of their final placings:

Shels: Obviously doing well and good to see flares, flags, and a new song but overall shocking really when you think they have everything. Didnt hear much when we walloped them 3-0 though........

Cork: Back to my point they would have more if there was none of this friday night crap. But still we did play them on a saturday before their their All Ireland and I thought they would have at least a thousand but no

b**z: Considering we played them 3 times at dalymoan and once a tolka will just tell you that any noise comes when they score. Says it all really.

Drogheda: Good support but they had a good season. Fair play but will need to keep this up. A satellite town so should be actively pursuing more support.

Waterford: Great club but was very disappointed with their support especially in the Cup Final (was hoping they would win). Though they have all the tifo stuff..........

Longford: So many deluded fans it's unreal. Look at this board with "fans" like dillo Again a successful season for them (despite nicking our Cup displays) but for the league games not good.

Derry: Very noisy and fair play for supporting us at the peaceful protest. Good knowledgeable bunch. Given the distance involved put other clubs to shame.

Pats: Best flag in the league but what happened with the noise? Used to be pretty good but still havent got over running onto their own pitch at the final whistle!

CHF: Do me a favour. Better atmosphere in a phone box. More flags than fans. Utter waste of breath.

Overall on consistency we ALWAYS travel and support our team.

I don't think anyone will argue about it because there is no doubt that we have by far the best away support in both numbers and noise. The Rebel Army have really set the standard over the past few years, while our away support has rocketed others seem to have faded away.

I'll judge the others on what they brought to the Cross this year.....
    Bohs: Brought a small crowd both times and made absolutely no noise or colour. A far cry from the huge fans display and decent crowd they brought to the Cross 3 years ago.

Shels: Brought a decent enough crowd the first time but still should have brought more considering it was a bank holiday.

Longford: They brought nobody on either occasion and combine that fact with my trips to flancare and I have to ask do they have any fans at all!!!!

Derry: Didn't bring near as many on either occasion as we brought to the Brandywell but despite that they still brought more than Longford and Dublin City.

Pats: Didn't bring much of a crowd but made a bit of noise.

Rovers: Brought about 100 the first time and fcuk all the second time. Always make an effort noise wise though.

Waterford: Brought fcuk all on both occasions and considering it's only an hours drive they're an abolute joke and haven't a clue about supporting a football team. Worst fans in the league after Dublin City and UCD.

Drogheda: Only a handful both times. Their fans are sililar to Waterford imo.

Dublin City: What fans?

In conclusion, apart from Cork City nobody can boast about their away support. I think Rovers (fair play considering their position), Shels and maybe Pats make an effort in fairness but there's still room for major improvement.
    If Cork City fans can travel the length of the country every second Friday night surely other fans can do it a couple of times a season.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    I don't think anyone will argue about it because there is no doubt that we have by far the best away support in both numbers and noise. The Rebel Army have really set the standard over the past few years, while our away support has rocketed others seem to have faded away.
    How can you judge yourself as an away support? How do you know what other teams have done at various grounds. Not saying you're necessarily wrong, just don't think you can judge yourselves that's all....

For the record, mine would be Pats (this season excepted) and Rovers in terms of noise. Derry wouldn't be far off, but I remember a few Saturday night games since our promotion that they've brought fook all, and have made sod all noise either.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    How can you judge yourself as an away support? How do you know what other teams have done at various grounds. Not saying you're necessarily wrong, just don't think you can judge yourselves that's all....
    I can compare what we brought to Dublin with what Dublin teams brought to Cork as it's the same distance to travel. It's actually a lot harder for us because we have to travel on a regular basis but we still manage more on every occasion.
    You can't judge what fans bring to Dublin derbys as they are not really away games when you only have to travel 20 minutes accross twon.
    Champions!

82 Posts
    Derry: Didn't bring near as many on either occasion as we brought to the Brandywell but despite that they still brought more than Longford and Dublin City.
    Your first away trip to Derry this season, Saturday 17 April, I would have said, charitably, you brought about as many (30 max) as we did on our first trip down on Friday night 11th June.

I wasn't at either of the end of season games home or away as I couldn't get the time off work, so I can't comment on those.

67 Posts
    I have to be bias too and say we definitely have best away support, this year was a bit less though. I also didn't think Cork had good support in Inchicore at all this season.

Quote Originally Posted by SAINTS4EVER
    I have to be bias too and say we definitely have best away support, this year was a bit less though. I also didn't think Cork had good support in Inchicore at all this season.
    Eh we had nearly 300 in Inchicore on Good Friday and about 200 the second time. Ye brought at most 100 to Cork both times. I'm sure Dodge or Nightdub will verify this.
    Champions!

I can compare what we brought to Dublin with what Dublin teams brought to Cork as it's the same distance to travel. It's actually a lot harder for us because we have to travel on a regular basis but we still manage more on every occasion.
    You can't judge what fans bring to Dublin derbys as they are not really away games when you only have to travel 20 minutes accross twon.
    But you've also got to factor in the number of exiles living in Dublin, that doesn't get reciprocated in Cork to nearly the same extent. It applies to all non-Dublin teams.

Basically until all but Derbies (as in under an hours travelling) are played on a Saturday or a Sunday there'll never be a true reflection. Age profile of the support etc all kick in when it comes to taking time off work, if the support is old enough to be working and not in college (or school in shels case )

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    But you've also got to factor in the number of exiles living in Dublin, that doesn't get reciprocated in Cork to nearly the same extent. It applies to all non-Dublin teams.
    In fairness there are only about 20 or 30 exiles at most so they only make up a tiny portion of our away support.
    I'm not denying that there are loads of Cork people living in Dublin but sadly very few of them support City. Some of the lads on here were trying to set up an exiles supporters club earlier in the season but didn't have too much success afaik.
    Champions!

'Drogheda: Only a handful both times. Their fans are sililar to Waterford imo.'

Eh, what do you mean by that? Please explain.

Very surprisingly, I thought our away crowds werent as good as the previous season (when we just escaped relegation). Fact is, no matter how we're doing in the league our supporters wont travel anywhere apart from dublin (or longford for some reason apart from the last match of this season) or a cup match.

I've seen maybe 70/75 matches this season (too scared to count exactly) and heres what I reckon:

Shels: Good noise, alright numbers this season but should be bringing more to united park - probably the worst dublin away support over the years to united park (not including dublin city or pats this season)

Pats: Over the years have always brought a good crowd up and used to be fairly noisy - sad to see that they have gone to f_-k now - even at home which is disappointing cos I have alot of time for pats

Bohs: Again like pats, were good in the past but this season they were brutal - even the match in united park towrds the end of the season when theyd an outrside chance of getting 2nd they brought a very poor crowd

Rovers: Numbers down, but good noise and colour as per usual and theyre a credit to the league - take a bow lads. On a personal level, I look forward to rovers fans coming to united park more than anyone else in the league. (where have their tifo flags gone btw?)

Waterford: Only a handful

Longford: Very poor travelling support - no numbers, no noise not just in united park but also the time ive saw them in dublin this season

Derry: Good noise most of the times i saw them this season- even when there was only a handful of them in dalyer they were really loud. They have been very poor numbers wise though (unlike previous years) Would probably give them more credit if they didnt have a habit of over exaggerating their numbers. Oh and their drum is really irritating.

Cork: Very good numbers this season compared to other seasons. In the past their numbers were probably like longfords to united park, ie crap, but for some reason this season their numbers have increased greatly. Good noise and fair play to them (btw lads, again, you have a good travelling support but theres no need to exaggerate your travelling numbers)

Dublin: Pass

UCD: Pass

Craptown: Have a good travelling support (while it sickens me to say it). Brought a decent crowd up for the cup match and saw them in bray and theyd a very good travelling support there.

Overall I reckon theres been a decrease in the majority of teams travelling support this season.

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Craptown
    Lol

I've seen maybe 70/75 matches this season (too scared to count exactly)
    fookin hell, the new Canny....

Theres a couple of us out there Macy

I remember the eL saddo years.... until I got a life and a wife...

Some of the lads on here were trying to set up an exiles supporters club earlier in the season but didn't have too much success afaik.
    That was successful in fairness. It was only ever intended to be an informal thing. Just a bunch of City fans who were sick of turning up solo at away games and wanted to go for a beer before and after, and huddle together for warmth.

Anyway, Macy's point about Cork fan's based in Dublin boosting the numbers doesn't hold water for me. Pretty much 100% Shel's, Bohs, Rovers and Pat's fans are Dublin based but they don't travel to each others grounds in huge numbers either (Rovers excepted on occasion).

Best away fans IMO are Rovers and Derry (honourable mention to Harps, who I'm looking forward to seeing again next year).

The Best away support I saw this year was when I went alaong to Flancare to see Drogs in Longford for the FAI cup semi. Loads down, lots of colour, could have been noisier though.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast