Best away support to Derry has to be.....In order of 'numbers and noise'....
Shamrock Rovers....
St Pats.....
Cork City....
Derry, no question; last time in Dalyer less than 20 of them could be comfortably heard at the other end of the Jodi over us having one of our catatonic moments. As for us being silent elsewhere, except for when we score, I would protest; you don't hear the bitter self - criticism
Best away support to Derry has to be.....In order of 'numbers and noise'....
Shamrock Rovers....
St Pats.....
Cork City....
Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach
Cork had great away support but it was nowhere near 1000 against shels. Closer to 500 i'd say.Originally Posted by Pablo
The sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area.
I cant wait to hear what so of the self appointed spokespeople for their clubs have to say on this![]()
Not been away much this season, but City have had 100+ to all weekend games, including the 800+ at Shels and 350ish at both Drogs games.
Waterford - very poor. A cup quarter final replay at the Cross, they brought about 60, that said, they brought little more to the cup final.
Best away Ive seen at the Cross this season was Shels.
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
Was looking forward to seeing the Cork travelling support at Dalymount this year and definitely didn't let down.Sang from start to finish,while all you got from the home support was criticism and groans.Bohs are definitely the countries worst fans.Originally Posted by Pablo
No way! I love that song.Gives a continental feel to the game and a refreshing deviation from the standard chants.Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
Think yer forgetting LTFC in all this.![]()
We brought almost 10,000 to the 2003 FAI Cup Final. About 6,000 travelled for this year's decider. Over 600 went to Drogheda on a Monday night for that memorable Cup Semi!
The Flansiro was almost full to capacity for this year's League Cup Final showdown while 3,500 travelled to Inchicore on a Monday night for the same final last year.
We also travelled in big numbers to Liechtenstein and would done likewise to Bulgaria the previous year had it not been for that airport cockup!![]()
Call Town supporters Bandwagon supporters if ye like but when push comes to shove we're up their with the best of them. For a county with >30,000 (including the vast numbers of foreign immigrants who don't take an interest in LTFC) we make our presence felt wherever we go.
As the chant goes....."We all follow the Longford, over land and sea....... and bog!" Not too many clubs can boast such a vocal and faithful Section O!![]()
Last edited by Dillo; 27/11/2004 at 12:27 PM.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
These pictures are from Rovers in Longford - I doubt any other fans created anything close to this:Originally Posted by DE TOWN
http://www.srfcultras.net/season2004...ngfordcup.html
I'm not being dragged back into a debate about your security men.
Love us or hate us (and I know most hate us!), at least give us the recognition we deserve.
From our point of view:
Shels - not many of them but they create great noise now (even if it is just one chant). A far better improvement on a few seasons ago.
Bohs - Dalymount is a morgue. If gypos stopped their bitter in-fighting they might even get a chant together. They were embarrassing in Tolka a few weeks ago.
Pats - sorry Doc, but it's gone to ****e. Not one chant from Pats last time we played.
Dublin City - I could hear the voices in Ronan Seery's head above their fans
Waterford - RSC is another morgue. Ultimate culchie fans - not one chant but the minute they score they jump up giving us the fingers. Waste of space.
Cork - see above, although the Shed lads do get a bit of atmosphere going
Derry - always fantastic. Any Rovers fan will say they're the best away fans
Longford - jokers. The "Section O" lads - all three of them - are an embarrassment to humanity.
Drogheda - pretty poor.
All in all, it's only Rovers, Shels and Derry making any effort these days. The standard off the pitch has fallen as much as it has on the pitch.
Have ya any pictures from Inchicore (St. Pat's ground) when we dumped ye out of the cup this year??! Barret's extra time winner...
Ye bring the same thug element no matter where ye go. Ye can't take a beaten and then ye start troublemaking.
Yer are a disgrace to the League. Go and try and find a field somewhere and quit relying on other clubs to put ye up. Shame Scumrock Rovers and Roddy weren't relegated to the First Division. At least there ye'd have no fans to fight with only yerselves! Ye bring nothing to the League only bad luck.
Last edited by Dillo; 27/11/2004 at 12:47 PM.
Nil Satis Nisi Optimum
Dont get to Oriel much anymore due to weekday working hours in dublin. So from my experience of watching a few dublin team this season I'd say
Shels: Quite good, wouldn't have the biggest of numbers but give it a good lash all the same. Whats with that woooo wooo song ?
Bohs: Dire really, very good away support but its like going to a Dublin City game except theres people there.
Pats: Haven't seen them this season so can't comment
DC: No comment !!
Rovers: Weirdos, there team is terrible yet turn up in numbers and act looney. Bit like a cult really. Songs like buttercup and silent night at Ireland games confirm that ! God help the rest of ye if they ever look like winning something
Cork City always bring big numbers to the RSC but doubt if there was 1000 there..Shamrock Rovers brought a decent crowd for the Sunday game on Halloween day.Other than that away support was pretty small at the RSC this year for the games I was at.Getting to away games is a difficulty on Friday nights though and only the truly dedicated will travel.Also work commitments prevent fans myself included from getting to as many games as you'd like.
Cork City were far & away the best supporters in both numbers & volume at the RSC in 2004. And yes there was 900 or so from Cork at that game.
On a separate issue the RSC for atmosphere is a desperate venue. There is no affinity as such between team & players due to the distance they are away from each other each fortnight. Priority number 1 for Waterford is to get out of the RSC asap.
Originally Posted by Beavis
That chant is fine. It slags no other team or other fans and yet encourages their team. By the way did anyone notice that in the CL Qualifying round away to Depor the local fans started to join in on that one?
Ye lost 40% support in 12 months and ye were NOT RELEGATED, but won more trophies? I'd be very worried Dillo if I were a LTFC officialOriginally Posted by Dillo
Compromise rules hit the attendance badly this year, not a case of losing support. just less bandwagoners..all the schools in Longford got free tickets to the Compromise rule meaning alot of kids went to Croke Park instead of Lansdowne and so with no kids going their parents didnt go either..and it was only about 7,000 last year too.
You can see a Compromise Rules international Every 2 years.Originally Posted by Longfordian
Longford have been in 3 FAI Cup finals since 1928.
Such is the nature of Cup football it could be 20 years before you get back to a final. Just as easily as you making it Three-in-a-row
DO I need to say any more than that?
Tell that to Waterford who only brought 3,000 to their first cup final in over 20 years, that from a population over double ours..
No argument from me on that one Passive. I'm just amazed so many other clubs rate us, we've been dreadful this year, by our own standards anyway.Originally Posted by Passive
Revenge for 2002
For 30 minutes after the game the locals stayed in the ground and the entire stadium was singing that song, apparently. I like it, for some reason you can hear it from very far away, more so than any other chants, as I've noticed coming late to games and at least it's not a rehash of old chants as most chants are.Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
In no real order (In pact I copied and pasted the order from a previous post)
Rovers - Obviously the numbers are down on their more successful seasons but they still get great numbers considering, and are always noisey.
Bohs - Good numbers, appaling noise levels. They're even worse at home but this is about away fans.
Pats - The last time we played Pats in Tolka it was a ****e crowd from both sides, normally they're very noisey though to be fair.
Dublin City - When we first played them they seemed to have a load of banners together which looked well enough then they seemed to disappear. Obviously they've smaller numbers than the rest but even the ones they do have don't seem to chant.
Waterford - Heard nothing from them apart from after they scored for a few minutes.
Cork - Best away support in the league numbers wise though not always the noisest. That day in Tolka was superb though and it was around the 1,000 mark easily, and they made the noise to back it up.
Derry - They bring enough drums with thembut they use them well, constantly chanting and the drums only add to it. Definitely one of the best if not the best, espically considering their current position.
Longford - Rarely hear much from them.
Drogheda - When they beat is in Tolka, they were excellent. Really got behind their team and made plenty of noise, the best I've heard from them. Also managed to wind Jason Byrne up and helped in getting him sent off, which is fair enough he should be able to take it, a big improvement from them I thought.
Originally Posted by trevy
At the last WUFC/City game there were about 1,500 WUFC fans at their home game and City brought at least 1,000 if not more.......
Not getting at the few that make the effort, but Waterford are the worst fans in the country. There are about 20 making any noise at their home games, and their travelling support is virtually non-existent. They made the effort for the first game at the Cross, but the last game in Cork was a disgrace.
Really?Originally Posted by trevy
How come City can get between 100 and 200, (and up to a thousand for one game) to travel every second week, and sometimes a few weeks in a row? Derry can do it, Longford and Drogs can always muster a few, why can't Waterford?
I'm not having a go, but where did you get those figures about the cup final attendance?Originally Posted by Longfordian
The sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area.