View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 46 of 153 FirstFirst ... 3644454647485696146 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

Nice touch out of a section of the liverpool fans to boo the minutes' silence for the Great Georgie Best. the referee was warned that this might happen and (of course) it duely did, in the scouse end.. the minute turned into 19 seconds..
    A disgrace if ever there was one.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Quote Originally Posted by HuRya
    Nice touch out of a section of the liverpool fans to boo the minutes' silence for the Great Georgie Best. the referee was warned that this might happen and (of course) it duely did, in the scouse end.. the minute turned into 19 seconds..
    A disgrace if ever there was one.
    It was an absolute disgrace. I hope these pr!cks are found out and never set foot in another ground again. There's always the potential for a few morons to mar a minutes silence and the alternative of a minutes applause that was used at most grounds is more fitting and sensible. What mustn't be allowed to snowball is a campaign against LFC,as all it takes is a few idiots to lower the name of all Liverpool fans.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

as ye all know ill grab any chance to slate liverpool fans with both hands , but in relation to the booing it wasnt actually the liverpool fans at all but the city fans , i know it was reported other wise and if there was any truth in it at all id be all over it , but fair is fair thats too scummy even for the red****e .

now back to this beattie crouch comparrison being made .

crouch 17 games no goals 0% strike rate
    beattie 9 games 3 goals 33% strike rate

of those 9 game he started 6 and even the utd game he came off injured after 20 mins so really thats 5 !! and he has been making his come back from injury .

yet another 1 nil win this weekend and only for given having a stormer it should have been 3 or 4 -1 ( it was a peno faddy saved on the line with his hand .~)

I was at anfield the weekend Matt busby Died and we Played man city
    they booe'd that minute silence too so it came as a surprize to me when i heard that it was been blamed on liverpool fans as I assumed it was the same city lowlifes
    at least what anto say's backs up my suspicion

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    as ye all know ill grab any chance to slate liverpool fans with both hands , but in relation to the booing it wasnt actually the liverpool fans at all but the city fans , i know it was reported other wise and if there was any truth in it at all id be all over it , but fair is fair thats too scummy even for the red****e .

now back to this beattie crouch comparrison being made .

crouch 17 games no goals 0% strike rate
    beattie 9 games 3 goals 33% strike rate

of those 9 game he started 6 and even the utd game he came off injured after 20 mins so really thats 5 !! and he has been making his come back from injury .

yet another 1 nil win this weekend and only for given having a stormer it should have been 3 or 4 -1 ( it was a peno faddy saved on the line with his hand .~)
    Fair play for clarifying that anto. I was baffled when it was blamed on Reds fans after all the tragedies that have beset the club before. Where did you hear otherwise, as all the papers are pointing the finger at Liverpool?

You can't dismiss the stats on Crouch v Beattie that you've pointed out, but the fact remains that one is a current international, held in high esteem by many a top manager, playing with the current European champions. I hate saying it because it could be taken out of context, but he's a more rounded footballer than Beattie

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Fair play for clarifying that anto. I was baffled when it was blamed on Reds fans after all the tragedies that have beset the club before. Where did you hear otherwise, as all the papers are pointing the finger at Liverpool?

You can't dismiss the stats on Crouch v Beattie that you've pointed out, but the fact remains that one is a current international, held in high esteem by many a top manager, playing with the current European champions. I hate saying it because it could be taken out of context, but he's a more rounded footballer than Beattie
    i was watching it live in a pub in liverpool ,the comentator even said that booing is coming from the opposite end to where the liverpool fans are , the camera zoomed in on the liverpool fans i didnt see any booing (but there could have been off camera )but the city fans were clear as day,

sven does pick the squad though so i would nt read to much into crouchs england carrer

the latest rumour is that cisse is on his way out in jan and with robbie keane coming in .

I wouldn't sign Robbie Keane if he was the last striker on the planet. I've more brain power in my left testicle......watching him frustrate the hell out of me for Ireland is enough thanks very much!

Apparently Simao is on his way, Benitez prefers him to Jaoquin as he's two footed and about £3m/£4m cheaper. He's also bid £4.5m for some centre half from one of the Moscow clubs, but Fiorentina are also in for him. The man I'd sign is Dirk Kuyt from Feynoord - the mans an animal in front of goal, awesome potential......pull the finger out Rafa!

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    The man I'd sign is Dirk Kuyt from Feynoord - the mans an animal in front of goal, awesome potential
    So why waste all that by joining Liverpool? .

Cisse for Keane...one big moaner for another...

Another quiet weeke for Liverpool begrudgers - at this rate they'll explode having to keep all that tripe (that they usually come out with) locked inside them all they need is for one minor slip-up..
    Last edited by dfx-; 29/11/2005 at 10:43 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

176 Posts

Foot.ie! The Crunch

Sunderland v Liverpool

We are at Sunderland tonight, and as we were the last team they beat in the league at home, this game is a revenge mission for us. We have had to wait 3 years since the defeat for an opportunity to put them, in their place!!

fans like season ticket holders , you know the ones that go week in week out and hand over there hard earned cash ,rather than pop down the pub
    i was watching it live in a pub
    oh dear.....

Quote Originally Posted by jockser
    oh dear.....
    oh dear, oh dear, oh dear ...

let me explain me being an everton fan i hold a season ticket to Goodison park .
    this might go someway to explaining why i was nt at the man city v liverpool game but rather watching it on tv in a pub liverpool while the missus went shopping ( btw the everton game was on the following day ).

oh dear, oh dear, oh dear

let me explain me being an everton fan i hold a season ticket to Goodison park .
    this might go someway to explaining why i was nt at the man city v liverpool game but rather watching it on tv in a pub liverpool while the missus went shopping ( btw the everton game was on the following day ).
    Hook line .....and sinker!!!!

anyway 4th now and climbing.....der der der der der der der deerrrrrrrr!!!!!

does +12 in november mean anything to you !?!?! .......ill give you a clue its not the temperature outside!!!

Lightbulb

I'm getting worried about the Liverpool begrudgers now...I hope they're not choking on their own statistics because they are worryingly quiet..

Code:
    P TEAM P W D L F A GD PTS
    1 Chelsea 14 12 1 1 33 7 26 37 
    2 Manchester United 13 8 3 2 21 13 8 27 
    3 Arsenal 13 8 2 3 22 10 12 26
    4 Liverpool 13 7 4 2 15 8 7 25
    5 Wigan Athletic 13 8 1 4 16 10 6 25 
    6 Tottenham Hotspur 14 6 6 2 16 10 6 24 
    7 Bolton Wanderers 13 7 2 4 15 13 2 23 
    8 Manchester City 14 6 3 5 15 12 3 21 
    9 West Ham United 13 5 4 4 17 13 4 19 
    10 Middlesbrough 14 5 4 5 20 20 0 19 
    11 Charlton Athletic 13 6 1 6 17 18 -1 19 
    12 Newcastle United 14 5 3 6 12 14 -2 18 
    13 Blackburn Rovers 14 5 3 6 15 18 -3 18 
    14 Fulham 14 4 3 7 16 20 -4 15 
    15 Aston Villa 14 4 3 7 14 22 -8 15 
    16 Everton 13 4 1 8 5 16 -11 13 
    17 West Bromwich Albion 14 3 3 8 15 24 -9 12 
    18 Portsmouth 14 2 4 8 11 20 -9 10 
    19 Birmingham City 13 2 3 8 8 17 -9 9 
    20 Sunderland 15 1 2 12 12 30 -18 5
    Now about Liverpool being in 12th place, mypost...........

Michael Owen is really proving his worth to whoever he went to isn't he...? They must be doing well after spending €25m on such a prolific striker....
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Imagine if we had bought and spent all that money on Owen - he'd hardly have played a handful of games by now, cos guess what, he's injured all the time. All that bench warming in Madrid must have done his posture! And we'd have no money for a Simao/Jaoquin in January. Amazing the way Owen is always fit for England though, isn't it?

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by d f x-
    I'm getting worried about the Liverpool begrudgers now...I hope they're not choking on their own statistics because they are worryingly quiet..

Now about Liverpool being in 12th place, mypost...........

Michael Owen is really proving his worth to whoever he went to isn't he...? They must be doing well after spending €25m on such a prolific striker.
    Where are you going with your begrudgers crap?? I don't begrudge the club anything. When things are going well, there's no need to criticise. When they aren't however...

We're 4th now, great. How did we get there? By beating decent opposition? Er, no. We got there by overcoming the mighty challenges of West Ham, Sunderland, and Portsmouth. No disrespect to the above teams, but a club with our resources should demand, sorry expect, to beat those sides every week. Pity we weren't fourth in August.

Re: Owen. Michael Owen was bought expensively by a rival club, and scores goals when he plays. On the other hand, we spend €10 milion on a yoke who cannot score, from headers, sitters, set-pieces, penalties, you name it, he misses it. For €10 million, I expect more output from a striker than the ground-breaking skill of winning headers, and holding the ball up for team mates. The odd goal or two wouldn't go amiss, you know. That's what he is at the club to do.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    We're 4th now, great. How did we get there? By beating decent opposition? Er, no. We got there by overcoming the mighty challenges of West Ham, Sunderland, and Portsmouth. No disrespect to the above teams, but a club with our resources should demand, sorry expect, to beat those sides every week. Pity we weren't fourth in August.
    absolute boll*x coz you were the very person who said we wouldnt get half the points from the above teams!!!for the last 10 years we would have got maximum 10 points from the last 15 we won. now Rafa wins all 5 games and you still say "well its expected"......including beating a 15 year clean shhet record. you talk absolute cr*p i dont consider you a liverpool supporter coz a supporter SUPPORTS his team through thick and thin not whinges and moan at EVERY opportunity.......go follow michael owen FC
    "pity we weren't 4th in August"....what the f*ck has that got to do with anything!!!!! when has the league ever been won in august?!?!?! you havent a clue!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Where are you going with your begrudgers crap?? I don't begrudge the club anything. When things are going well, there's no need to criticise. When they aren't however...

Re: Owen. Michael Owen was bought expensively by a rival club, and scores goals when he plays. On the other hand, we spend €10 milion on a yoke who cannot score, from headers, sitters, set-pieces, penalties, you name it, he misses it. For €10 million, I expect more output from a striker than the ground-breaking skill of winning headers, and holding the ball up for team mates. The odd goal or two wouldn't go amiss, you know. That's what he is at the club to do.
    So your a fair weather supporter then? You stick with the team through both good and bad spells and that goes for players aswell. Its all well and good preaching your a diehard fan when the trophies flood in, but its when things slip a bit that a supporter will show his true worth i.e see the positives and trust in the manager and players.

There has been an improvement on every corresponding result from last year so far except Chelsea and Fulham, if that says anything about the progress the team is making. They are comfortably into the last 16 of the Champions Lge unlike last year, when faced with a make or break game with Olympiakos to decide their fate. There's is still a game in hand over Chavski and if they happen to win that they will be a disastrous 9 points behind them. That good enough for you?

Take a look back at any of Rafa's past Valencia teams and there was never a striker who was an out and out goalscorer. He mainly had Carew or Mista as the fulcrum with Angulo, Aimar, Vicente and Baraja all chipping in behind. Yes, Peter Crouch is a striker and should have scored by now but he has contributed his fair share to recent victories despite not scoring. Is there not a similar pattern emerging in Liverpool's play to that of Valencia's, with Gerrard and Garcia getting their fair share of goals from behind the front man? I think so.

This Michael Owen issue will never stop when people like you are constantly whinging and making comparisons. Throw him into Rafa's preferred formation and Liverpool wouldn't have got the results they achieved recently. You can only play one way to Owen and that is to suit him by getting balls in behind. With Crouch you have plenty of variety and at the moment other players are benefiting.
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 01/12/2005 at 11:45 AM.