View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 31 of 153 FirstFirst ... 2129303132334181131 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    The Hungarians Man U played were brutal.
    So bad, I thought it was Man Yoo v Monaghan Yoo
    Shocking, brutal, boring!

Rangers had an easy ride in Cyprus too.
    Everton were never going to make and impact on the Champions League!

There are too many English teams in it anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Yes, all the hype about getting into the Champions League and then they go out after 2 games. Unlucky though to be drawn against the strongest team left in the qualifiers. The Hungarians Man U played were brutal. They had been puffed up by Ray and Johnny G because they had beaten Hadujk Split - didn't Shels do them over last year ?
    they did well this is the 3rd best team in spain and a team that recently beat bara 3 nil so to loose 2-1 is pretty good for there first time in the champs league . there is allways next years hope fully we will get an easier draw next time

[QUOTE=mypost]

I think ITV negotiated the shortest European football contract in history, i.e. showing Everton's live European qualifiers. They shouldn't even be in the competition at all.
    QUOTE]

normally i wouldnt attack a poster just the post but you are a fool , the qualifiers are only 2 games anyway because unlike liverpool we qualified using the actual rules not the one s that were changed to allow liverpool in .hence only playing 2 games not 6

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    they did well this is the 3rd best team in spain and a team that recently beat bara 3 nil so to loose 2-1 is pretty good for there first time in the champs league . there is allways next years hope fully we will get an easier draw next time
    I hope now anto that you appreciate the magnitude of Liverpool's achievement last season in winning the competition. You think you have done well by losing only 2-1 to the third best team in Spain, Liverpool beat the best of the best last season. Just proves what I have been saying all along - Liverpool operate on a different level to Everton, a class apart. You are second fiddle and always will be . Also shows up your logic that Everton could win the CL this year, just because you finished above us in the prem and we won the CL, as ridiculous in the extreme

176 Posts
    QUOTE]the qualifiers are only 2 games anyway because unlike liverpool we qualified using the actual rules not the one s that were changed to allow liverpool in .hence only playing 2 games not 6
    You're lucky it was only 2 games. Everton would damage the quality of the competition if they made the group stages, with their "kick lumps out of the opposition, and fire the ball up to Big Dunc" tactics. Everton are not tactically or physically competent to play UEFA Cup football, never mind CL football. A pub side playing primitive football is fine against Bolton and Wigan, but you need a bit more tactical nous when playing against any half-decent European side.

Everton should not be in the competition. They're there by default. They are also the first English side to lose a CL qualifier at home. Says it all really.

[QUOTE=anto1208

but it will be hard for everton because they will have to actually win games no free goals , dodgy off side's ,or changing of the rules for us like liverpool get .[/QUOTE]

sounds like the argument of a 10 year old. off the top of my head....liverpool lost in monaco...clear handball by saviola...so without getting into your stupid point theres one example where it didnt go all liverpools way.

everton are in the champs league cos the finished 4th. fair play. they overachieved. liverpool - the champions league winners (and winners of hearts worldwide, including i might add man u and everton fans) were asked to play from the first round - didnt complain and got on with the job. theres class above alone.
    you gowl!

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    I hope now anto that you appreciate the magnitude of Liverpool's achievement last season in winning the competition. You think you have done well by losing only 2-1 to the third best team in Spain, Liverpool beat the best of the best last season. Just proves what I have been saying all along - Liverpool operate on a different level to Everton, a class apart. You are second fiddle and always will be . Also shows up your logic that Everton could win the CL this year, just because you finished above us in the prem and we won the CL, as ridiculous in the extreme
    yeah and ive allways said they did really well and you dont win the comp with out deserving it , that will allways be the difference , everton fans can admit that but liverpool fans still wont give everton any credit even though they finished 4th and beat liverpools previous points total of 60 points to get there .

they could win it so could utd so could chelsea so could liverpool again , i never said they will win it but its a possibility , who would have thought liverpool would haev won it no one not even liverpool fans

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    You're lucky it was only 2 games. Everton would damage the quality of the competition if they made the group stages, with their "kick lumps out of the opposition, and fire the ball up to Big Dunc" tactics. Everton are not tactically or physically competent to play UEFA Cup football, never mind CL football. A pub side playing primitive football is fine against Bolton and Wigan, but you need a bit more tactical nous when playing against any half-decent European side.

Everton should not be in the competition. They're there by default. They are also the first English side to lose a CL qualifier at home. Says it all really.
    again you are a fool . liverpool played way more long balls than everton but dont let facts get in the way of your points !

everton fans dont hate the liverpool team just moron fans like you that dont have a clue what your on about , got there by default !we used the rules we finished in forth ,god your a ****

71 Posts
    again you are a fool . liverpool played way more long balls than everton but dont let facts get in the way of your points !

everton fans dont hate the liverpool team just moron fans like you that dont have a clue what your on about , got there by default !we used the rules we finished in forth ,god your a ****
    Anto, cool it off now, I'm warning you. Stick to the points and not the poster.

Mypost, you too, stop talking antagonistic rubbish. Everton qualified via the convential means and don't forget your side could not manage to finish above them. Also keep in mind they were unseeded and Villareal is as tough a draw an English side has ever gotten in CL qualifiers.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Anto, cool it off now, I'm warning you. Stick to the points and not the poster.

Mypost, you too, stop talking antagonistic rubbish. Everton qualified via the convential means and don't forget your side could not manage to finish above them. Also keep in mind they were unseeded and Villareal is as tough a draw an English side has ever gotten in CL qualifiers.

sorry he just gets my goat up .
    Last edited by anto1208; 11/08/2005 at 12:46 PM.

sorry he just gets my goat up .
    Everton as good as out of Europe, Pool aren't, Moyesyside my swiss !!!!!!!!
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Mypost, stop talking antagonistic rubbish. Everton qualified via the convential means and don't forget your side could not manage to finish above them. Also keep in mind they were unseeded and Villareal is as tough a draw an English side has ever gotten in CL qualifiers.
    Did Everton qualify for the CL qualifiers? In December, they were 2nd, then slipped to third, then to 4th. In the second half of the season, Everton got 20 points. They were walloped for 7 at Arsenal. They didn't qualify, but were instead handed 4th spot by the fact that other teams directly behind them didn't win enough games. Their players are poor, their "tactics" are primitive. They are the only English team that the rest of Europe want to play against this season. They are the cinderella side of the competition, and as it's the top table of club football, the Champions League should not have cinderella teams, and pub sides playing in it "just to be there". Neutrals want to watch the best teams in the competiton, and Everton are not one of those teams.

We finished 4th the season before, and you know what we did? We sacked the boss. That's what we think of the value of finishing 4th!!
    Last edited by mypost; 12/08/2005 at 5:06 AM.

yea thats nearly a full season in the top 4 a position liverpool werent good enough to get into all season at all .

a cinderella story !! what do you call liverpool one of the weekest teams in the comp winning it , not since greece have we seen such an upset .

since ye value finishing 4th so lowly then how do ye feel about 5th !!

read your post again slips to 4th at least we got into a position that aloud us to slip down to fourth , ye barely got up into 5th place .how many millions did ye have to spend to compete with us ??

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98
    Everton as good as out of Europe, Pool aren't, Moyesyside my swiss !!!!!!!!

still go into the uefa cup . last time i checked that in europe too .

simple facts lads liverpool set the bar at 60 points to get 4th spot , so we went out and got 61 .

give credit where credit is due
    Last edited by anto1208; 12/08/2005 at 8:30 AM.

in fairness Everton had a season beyond their expectations last year. The trick is to come close to repeating that. I cant see it happening.
    On the other hand the Reds have consistantly been in the CL places over the
    past 5 years which culminated in winning the thing. Add the Uefa cup to that
    & we have a recent pedigree europe(not to mention the past) You talk about giving credit to Everton. How about recognising that Liverpool fully deserved
    to be crowned champions of Europe by beating 'Juve, Chelsea & Milan possibly
    the best 3 teams in Europe. Thats not luck, thats pedigree, thats Liverpool FC
    YNWA!!!!!!
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    in fairness Everton had a season beyond their expectations last year. The trick is to come close to repeating that. I cant see it happening.
    On the other hand the Reds have consistantly been in the CL places over the
    past 5 years which culminated in winning the thing. Add the Uefa cup to that
    & we have a recent pedigree europe(not to mention the past) You talk about giving credit to Everton. How about recognising that Liverpool fully deserved
    to be crowned champions of Europe by beating 'Juve, Chelsea & Milan possibly
    the best 3 teams in Europe. Thats not luck, thats pedigree, thats Liverpool FC
    YNWA!!!!!!
    well if you read a few posts up you will see me admit that they did do well to win it and that you dont win the comp with out deserving it .

its true everton had a season beyond all expectations but so did liverpool , this time last year if you had said everton would be in 4th and liverpool would win the champs league you would have been laughed out of the place .

ill admit they deserved to beat milan , but not chelsea ( didnt score !!) nor juve ( 2 dodgy calls from the ref penalty and dissaloud a perfectly good goal ) , in the same way everton didnt deserve to beat utd but we did .the difference is you dont have everton fans coming out with rubbish that we are better than utd in the same way liverpool fans think they are the best in europe .

anto

stop wasting so much time on the net, defending and attacking teams that care little for you and go out and actually go see your local team, limerick.

thanking you in advance.
    you gowl!

well if you read a few posts up you will see me admit that they did do well to win it and that you dont win the comp with out deserving it .

its true everton had a season beyond all expectations but so did liverpool , this time last year if you had said everton would be in 4th and liverpool would win the champs league you would have been laughed out of the place .

ill admit they deserved to beat milan , but not chelsea ( didnt score !!) nor juve ( 2 dodgy calls from the ref penalty and dissaloud a perfectly good goal ) , in the same way everton didnt deserve to beat utd but we did .the difference is you dont have everton fans coming out with rubbish that we are better than utd in the same way liverpool fans think they are the best in europe .
    True, nobdy could have predicted that. We fully deserved to beat 'Juve, ok Chelsea was a close call but did either Juve or Chelsea deserve to beat Liverpool? Anyway I think the whole world bar Everton & a few manure die hards were delighted we put one over arrogant chelski & Moroniho. We were not the best squad on paper in Europe last year in fact we weren't even close but the fact is despite being written off time & time again we went out & got the results. We had the best team performances in Europe. Any realistic fan knows we are not the best team(on paper) but that made it all the sweeter.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    We were not the best squad on paper in Europe last year in fact we weren't even close but the fact is despite being written off time & time again we went out & got the results. We had the best team performances in Europe. Any realistic fan knows we are not the best team(on paper) but that made it all the sweeter.
    you are the first liverpool fan ive met or spoken to that seems to actually understand the game , fair play to you if only there were more like you and less like my post.

i actually think i could have a footy conversation with you with out you loosing the head and saying " champions of europe " like most other have to resort to .
    Last edited by anto1208; 12/08/2005 at 10:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by declan hide
    anto

stop wasting so much time on the net, defending and attacking teams that care little for you and go out and actually go see your local team, limerick.

thanking you in advance.

dont thank me i wont be there after 15 years of supporting them going to all home and most away games , ive given up .

plus ive just shelled out 650 euro for my season ticket , so paying a tenner into see limerick isnt top of my to do list