View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 27 of 153 FirstFirst ... 1725262728293777127 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    No, you're ripping the pi$$ out of it now anto! There is always a chance that a team with quality players like Gerrard, Alonso, Hyypia, Riise, Garcia etc can get their act together and win a competition. These are top class experienced internationals. Everton on the other hand......are you seriously trying to tell us that the likes of Lee Carsley, Alan Stubbs, Duncan Ferguson, Marcus Bent, Kevin Kilbane, Pistone are capable of winning the European Cup?! Remove your head from your arse FFS! As good as Evertons achievement is, Liverpool still operate on a different planet to them. Ye'll be looking up at the 'Pool again next season, and from a distance.

You should just be grateful that you have qualified for Europe, but no, it just goes to your head and now your warped logic is telling us that you can be successful in Europe! Stop comparing yourselves to Liverpool, because there is no comparison. Everton finish above the most successful British club of all time for the first time in 20 years and all of a sudden ye are world beaters? Spurs, Boro and Newcastle is who you should be measuring Evertons achievements against - clubs who spend loads of money, on crap players, yet never win anything, and have an honours list that you could write on a beer mat.

Come back to us when Everton actually achieve something worth while, like getting to a major final. Just getting to one would be a huge thing, ye wouldn't even have to win it.......
    Have to agree some points Anto made are bit over the top but he should have his his day as his team did excellent this year.

Football is a team game, and the way Everton have played, as a TEAM, this season has been more effective
    than the way that Liverpool have - hence the superior league position.

However, merely listing your best 4-5 players and comparing them randomly to
    Everton players doesn't really mean a lot. In fact, I would also have
    chosen Bent ahead of Morientes if both were to be asked to do the job that
    Bent has done so well this season.

You seem to believe that having lots of expensive players makes you into a
    good team... an idea disproved on a regular basis by your previous manager,
    and specifically by an Everton TEAM that survived the (permanent, not
    temporary) loss of its best player, not once but twice!

You may also wonder why your superstars have managed to concede more goals
    than Everon's honest pros despite having such luminaries. Carsley and Stubbs
    have put in the work, week in, week out, without grabbing headlines, just
    playing a solid, tight, competetive football. I suspect you may have done
    rather better if you had more players who had shown the consistency and
    desire epitomised by these two. Perhaps you should also look at some of the
    frankly abysmal performances displayed by practically full strength
    Liverpool sides this season - Birmingham, Palace, Southampton... Or doesn't
    this suit your argument?

As to the Derbies... 3 points each, 2 goals each - and Everton scored at
    Anfield - if this was a European fixture you would have lost. HOw does this
    make Liverpool better than Everton?

Liverpool have also had a certain amount of luck in getting this far, or
    perhaps you have already forgotten the three times Chelsea had beaten
    Liverpool already this season by the time you sneaked past them in Europe
    following Chelsea's least impressive performance of the season. Anyway, the
    question remains - Did this Liverpool team LOOK as though it could have got
    this far? Based on League performances I would say not, but the only way
    such questions can ever really be answered is by actually playing the games.
    A better question would be "Does this Everton team look like it could
    achieve 4th place in the league?" No? Well appearances can be deceptive!

My 10 cent worth

i must be missing some thing i allways thought that at the end of a season the best team for the full year is on top second best is in second etc etc ...

but in actual fact its the team that finishes 5th is the best .
    thanks for clearing that up for me lads , i might have embarassesd myself .phew!!

but im still a little bit confused , since ye have a much better team play better football etc etc why did ye not finish higher than us in the league which is the only comp that you get a fair reflection of a teams talent from ??

at no point did i say everton will win it , i said they could , same as no one thought greece would win the euro's but they did , you cant right off any team we could buy really good players in the summer and surprise a few people ( the same one that said we would go down this year !!!)

this isnt really directed at 4tothe floor coz at least you were big enough to admit it was a great achievement for moyes to get everton into 4th (rather than calling it a fluke how 61 points won is a fluke i dont understand !).the same way i admit its a great achievment for liverpool to get to the final . i wont take anything away from them you dont get to a final with out deserving it .luck or no luck its the champs league there isnt any easy games

and as i said before i hope they do win it it will be great for the english game to have an english champions of europe again

by the way we have had f all to shout about for 10 years so excuse me for getting excited by it , it may only last one summer so im going to enjoy it while i can .

ciaran76, you could have saved yourself writing all that drivle, I don't think you get what is being said. No one here is arguing that Liverpool were better than Everton in the league this year, cos they weren't. The league table doesn't lie. So what exactly is your point?

The simple fact is this. If Liverpool played to their potential in the league, they'd be challenging for a place in the top 3, never mind 4th. As it happens, they were brutal in the league, and Everton have taken advantage of this. Now if you want to be picky and selective with your memories of this season, here's something for you to chew on. It's easy to forget that at one stage, Benitez had 13 players on the treatment table. For long periods, he had to make do with Neil Mellor up front on his own, or alongside Pongolle. He was bereft of strikers as they were all injured. He was without Gerrard for the first 3 months of the season, after he broke his foot at Old Trafford. He lost Cisse to a broken Leg. He lost Nunez as soon as he signed him to a ligament injury. He lost Garcia to a hamstring injury for 6 weeks. He lost Baros to the same injury for 8 weeks. He lost Didi Hamann on numerous occasions to long term injuries. He lost Alonso to a broken ankle. He lost Pongolle to a ligament injury. He lost Mellor to knee surgery. Harry Kewell out injured almost all season. Then you have the goalkeeping injuries. But lets ignore all that and just pretend that it didn't happen. Lets ignore the fact that a squad down to its bare bones at times still had to play Champions League and the domestic fixtures with youngsters and reserve players thrown in in key positions......

How do you expect a foreign manager to come into a new league and attain consistency with an injury debacle like that? Alonso and Gerrard have played only 14 games together this season, and that's not by choice! That Rafa Benitez has got this side to champions league and League Cup finals is a superb achievement. That he had them fighting for 4th this long despite the injuries was an achievement in itself. So don't try and tell me that in the wider scheme of things Everton are a better side than Liverpool, cos had Liverpool had their full compliment this season, they'd have left Everton for dust.

Quote Originally Posted by ciaran76
    Liverpool have also had a certain amount of luck in getting this far, or perhaps you have already forgotten the three times Chelsea had beaten
    Liverpool already this season by the time you sneaked past them in Europe
    following Chelsea's least impressive performance of the season.
    Another example of your selective memory. Liverpool and luck? The first bit of luck Liverpool had this season was the 'goal' in the semi-final. And the irony is that the ref actually did Chelsea a favour by giving the goal rather than the pen and Cech off. Chelsea beat Liverpool 3 times? They didn't deserve one of those victories, Liverpool were robbed at Anfield and Cardiff. And finally, the reason it was one of Chelsea's least impressive performances was because Liverpool made them look ordinary. The same way that they made the Serie A champions elect look ordinary. So chew on that

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Well that can surely only point to one other club.
    and u would be very wrong razor

[QUOTE=4tothefloor]
    Now if you want to be picky and selective with your memories of this season, here's something for you to chew on. It's easy to forget that at one stage, Benitez had 13 players on the treatment table. For long periods, he had to make do with Neil Mellor up front on his own, or alongside Pongolle. He was bereft of strikers as they were all injured. He was without Gerrard for the first 3 months of the season, after he broke his foot at Old Trafford. He lost Cisse to a broken Leg. He lost Nunez as soon as he signed him to a ligament injury. He lost Garcia to a hamstring injury for 6 weeks. He lost Baros to the same injury for 8 weeks. He lost Didi Hamann on numerous occasions to long term injuries. He lost Alonso to a broken ankle. He lost Pongolle to a ligament injury. He lost Mellor to knee surgery. Harry Kewell out injured almost all season. Then you have the goalkeeping injuries. But lets ignore all that and just pretend that it didn't happen. Lets ignore the fact that a squad down to its bare bones at times still had to play Champions League and the domestic fixtures with youngsters and reserve players thrown in in key positions...... QUOTE]

As for injuries and champions league commitments, take a look at the
    relative strength in depth of Everton's 22 man playing staff versus the 42
    players on the roll over the park. In case that you never noticed Everton
    played most of the season with a lone striker and it wasn't always just down
    to tactics.

As for injuries and champions league commitments, take a look at the
    relative strength in depth of Everton's 22 man playing staff versus the 42
    players on the roll over the park. In case that you never noticed Everton
    played most of the season with a lone striker and it wasn't always just down
    to tactics.
    Name the 42 Liverpool players then. And when I say players, i'm not talking about 4th choice goalkeepers or youngsters who are given a squad number as a token gesture. Once you name the squad, you can then see for yourself how bad the injuries were to KEY players
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 11/05/2005 at 3:26 PM.

stop using the injury list as an excuse its a poor one . at one stage in the season everton had 11 fit first team players , on the bench were 2 reserves and 3 youth team players .
    you talk about loosing gerrard for 3 months we lost grav for half a season .
    you talk about loosing strikers we lost rooney ( probibly the best young player in the league ) and radz for the full season .

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    you talk about loosing strikers we lost rooney ( probibly the best young player in the league ) and radz for the full season .
    What are you on about, ye SOLD those players, they LEFT Everton! If that's the case, sure why not throw in Michael Owen, Danny Murphy to our list for good measure

It's convenient for you not to use the injuries as an excuse, as it's the main reason ye finished above Liverpool. Xabi Alonso alone would have made significent difference to the second half of Liverpool's season, never mind the rest. But just for the purposes of Everton supporters, we'll ignore the injuries and pretend that Igor Biscan, Neil Mellor are adequate replacements......

Name the 42 Liverpool players then. And when I say players, i'm not talking about 4th choice goalkeepers or youngsters who are given a squad number as a token gesture. Once you name the squad, you can then see for yourself how bad the injuries were to KEY players

Sorry typing too fast should have been 32 player they used for the campaign.
    And if i am not mistaken i think Everton used 22 players but i might be wrong on that.
    I include all cup comp. and all .

He lost Pongolle to a ligament injury.
    and they still couldnt come 4th

Sorry typing too fast should have been 32 player they used for the campaign.
    And if i am not mistaken i think Everton used 22 players but i might be wrong on that.
    I include all cup comp. and all .
    So it's 32 now! If you go through that list of 32, if it's even that, and list out the injured players and how long they were absent, I think you'll find the squad numbers diminishing quite considerably You saw what happened to Chelsea without Robben and Duff, to United without Van Nistelrooy, the same has happened Liverpool, except ten times worse as all their key players have been out for long periods this season.

oh yeah, Arsenal 7 - 0 Everton Now Liverpool would never, ever lose a game 7-0, not in a million years.......how embarrassing

176 Posts
    Arsenal 7-0 Pub-erton

Welcome to the big league, toffees!!

That's just a taste of what's in store for you next season, should you come up against a full strength Real/Milan/Barcelona/Juventus!! Hopefully, the CL won't need to witness such an embarrassment.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Arsenal 7-0 Pub-erton

That's just a taste of what's in store for you next season, should you come up against a full strength Real/Milan/Barcelona/Juventus!! Hopefully, the CL won't need to witness such an embarrassment.

can u imagine being beat to 4th place by a team that lost 7-0

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    can u imagine being beat to 4th place by a team that lost 7-0
    Very Troll corner, very troll.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

what an embarresing ass kicking the arse were fantastic , everton were not interested they may as well have put out the womens team they would have done a better job .

but who cares we will have a minus goal difference once we let bolton win on sat but we are still 4th best in the league

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Very Troll corner, very troll.
    as i stated previously.......i just love to see liverpools fans getting very upset

Everton Joke

There was fighting at Highbury Tuesday night. Apparently Everton were kicking off every ten minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98
    Fair play to Everton in making the Champions League, lets hope they finish 3rd in their group so at least they'll get a round of the UEFA cup in.
    Or you mean Everton getting Dynamo Kiev in the qualifiers and losing to them...Still guaranteed UEFA Cup football!!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Arsenal 7-0 Pub-erton

Everton are finally shown up for what they really are. A load of codswallop!!

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    Everton are finally shown up for what they really are. A load of codswallop!!

and still came 4th