View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 7 of 153 FirstFirst ... 567891757107 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    And that is relevant, how???
    About as relevant as talking about McDonalds and NY stadiums in a thread about Liverpool FC, smart arse.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    About as relevant as talking about McDonalds and NY stadiums in a thread about Liverpool FC, smart arse.
    Sounds like you need to get out more...relieve some of that pent-up sarcasm. The thread was following a fairly jovial, mannerly theme, so if you can't continue in that vein, find another thread..

1,101 Posts
    Am I alone in thinking that the transfer window will disrupt Everton if players are brought in? It's often the case that one or two new players disrupts the dressing room atmosphere a little, if you buy in a player it means that one of the lads who's been in the team all season is now under threat, in theory this can be a good thing but often times it doesn't work that way, remember Newcastle in '96 when Asprilla was bought?
    I really admire what David Moyes & Co have done this season but I can't help but feel that a fall is coming.

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Lads yer trying to be gracious in defeat but deep down it's hurting. Yer still licking yer wounds while we're still rubbing salt into them! Oh, I'm still on a high...... Rafa is still Beneathus and will still be on Christmas day.... the perfect Christmas present!

In his pre-match press conference he described Steven Gerard as the "best midfielder in the world"..... if that's the case why is he only playing for the second best team in Liverpool? On another note, it's quite obvious Rafa does not yet understand the nature of a Merseyside derby. Think he's learnt his lesson!

Every dog has his day my ar$e. If that's the best ye can come up with it's a sad day. Once again our defence was flawless with David Weir and Alessandro Pistone outstanding. The tireless Zidane, sorry Kilbane tormented Josemi and for his hard work alone fully deserved his man-of-the-match award.

No matter what ye sad loosers say, Moyes men have quality. We are not in second place by chance. We are there on merit. And long may it continue!
    It must be a great relief not to be fighting a relegation battle again this year for a change.

Anyway things will sort themselves soon enough and everton will finish 10th (a great season for the blues!)and the pool will be back in the champions league positions for next year.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

Exclamation Toffees sticking to the top!

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Am I alone in thinking that the transfer window will disrupt Everton if players are brought in? It's often the case that one or two new players disrupts the dressing room atmosphere a little, if you buy in a player it means that one of the lads who's been in the team all season is now under threat, in theory this can be a good thing but often times it doesn't work that way, remember Newcastle in '96 when Asprilla was bought?
    I really admire what David Moyes & Co have done this season but I can't help but feel that a fall is coming.

Good point Longfordian. It's a worry for all clubs. But we all have great faith in David Moyes. He said himself earlier this week he will try and strenghten the squad but will only do so if he finds what he's looking for. Like all good managers, he won't purchase for the sake of purchasing. After all, the toffees unlike Chelsea, Manure and Arsenal and the like don't have the luxury of splashing huge amounts on one single player. He's brought in the likes of Kilbane, Cahill and Bent for buttons and boy haven't they proved shrewd investments! I can't forsee any major fall at this stage. A successful christmas period could see the blues wrap up the title by April.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    I can't forsee any major fall at this stage. A successful christmas period could see the blues wrap up the title by April.
    Funny enough. Jose Mourinho was saying the same thing a few weeks ago.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

To me, World-Class meansthat he is so good that he would automatically walk on to any team on this earth. With Gerrard, that is not so;
    Man Utd: Ronaldo, Keane, Scholes, Giggs.
    Arsenal: Pires, Vieira, Ljungberg, Fabergas, Gilberto Silva.
    Real Madrid: Figo, Guti, Beckham, Zidane
    Chelsea: Robben, Lampard, Tiago, Makelele, Duff.
    Barcelona: Xavi, Ronaldinho, Deco, Van Bronckhorst
    Milan: Gattuso, Pirlo, Seedorf, Kaka

Theres 6 club midfields that he'd struggle to get into on a guaranteed basis week in, week out.Of those, Keane, Vieira, Zidane,Deco, Seedorf, Kaka are all better central midfield options than him, and certainly aren't any way inferior to him.

ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS statement here!!!! Gerrard is better than all of these players and he is still 24. Bar Ronaldinho and Zindane who are different types of players. But Gerrard is worth just as much as them at the moment. Ask Murinho why he wants Gerard so much and is isnt offering money for any of the others above. Keane, Schole; Giggs Ronaldo are better the Gerrard are they???

144 Posts
    Getting back to Liverpool FC.....is it true that the Kop actually no longer exists. I know its the Kop end of the ground, but someone recently said, I think it was Lawrenson, that the Kop now sadly was a McDonalds...can someone kindly explain??
    The Kop end of the ground is obviously all seater now but behind the Kop facing out on to the Road is McD's, its right next to the Club Superstore.

Quote Originally Posted by jockser
    ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS statement here!!!! Gerrard is better than all of these players and he is still 24. Bar Ronaldinho and Zindane who are different types of players. But Gerrard is worth just as much as them at the moment.
    Keep taking the tablets...

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    On the evidence of last weekend he's about as good as Cahill and Graveson...
    On the evidence of last weekend he's almost as good as Cahill and Gravesen...

Keep taking the tablets...
    give us a few

!!!!!!!!

Better than Deco? Lampard? Kaka? You're having a laugh surely.

On the evidence of last weekend he's about as good as Cahill and Graveson...
    what a rediculous statement
    On the evidence of wednesday night and against arsenal and the whole season he is twice as good as deco and lampard together!

Please you are saying Lampard is better than Gerrard!!

This is a point childish debate now

Wink

That was the evidence of a game where he stamped on a player, went missing for large periods, but did pop up with a great goal against some Greek team that have not won a single away game in the CL...a typical piece of 'magic' that Liverpool fans pluck from his CV.

I will concede he is better than Fabregas. He is 7 years older...

LOL eh maybe its the bitter fans who cant stand him coz he is so good who pluck bad points like everton (where he was not great but still almost got the draw )from his CV. Explain Villa away Arsenal at Basel away (i could name the rest but cmon)and all of last season.

Hell sure lets ask sir drunken nose and the french professor(snigger) who they want to buy next summer....

Wink

Oooooh, Villa and Basel, those giants of European football!!

Gerrard has had some great moments, like England's win in Germany 3 years ago. Since then he has done little at the top level, and his ability was pretty badly exposed at Euro 2004...but this has all been thrashed out in some other post surely...

so what do you want Giants of europe?
    How about world giants?
    Just like you say Germany 3 years ago in Germany when he destroyed them at 21 years old.....queue the "but germany were rubbish crap" now

are arsenal giants of europe? no! are manu giants of europe ? dont make me laugh !!! but he has wiped the floor with viera and pires 2 weeks ago and on numerous occasions against manu home and away

Since then he has done little at the top level
    what do you consider the top level? european cup world cup? you cant expent him to carry the usless england teams also can you? especially when they have muck like rooney and lampard in them

why does wenger, ferguson, murihno, and perez want him?

coz hes is the best midfielder in the premiership.
    No?

right thats enough pointless debating on my behalf...

Really? Are you his agent, because you seem to know more than most (indeed Chelsea were recently reported as saying they definitely wouldn't bid next January, but MAY at some future date, hardly a ringing endorsement)?
    you are making yourself look even more silly now kid....i guarantee you arsenal and chelsea will bid for him in the summer. those quotes you are using were made AFTER he scored that goal against olympiacos. if he had not there would have been a january bid.

anyway what is your point from that above? Its still a fact he is the most wanted midfielder in england......will you disagree on that?

Oh, and those names, are these the same people that 'wanted' Wreh, Djemba Djemba, Kezman, Woodgate etc. etc.
    again another ridiculous statement.....nothing got to do with the fact that Gerrard is not a class midfielder?

Is it not a little embarassing for you as a Lpool fan that you define football greatness by whether the ManU manager, or a Spanish businessman, thinks that player is good?
    the only thing thats embarrassing is how you interpret my words mate i said nothing of the sort. The fact that these people DO want him simply points to the fact that he IS a class player......see his goal again tonight for exmaple.... but this is not how football greatness is defined

At least we can agree that he played well in a game three years ago...
    so he was not his awsome self in the euro2004.....that must make Henry ****e too then does it??

Conor74, you are full of (stereotypical) South Kerry $hit. You truly are THE salmon of knowledge on these boards . No surprise there, seeing that you come from that bastion of soccer that is Kerry......stick to the bog ball. You're either a $hit stirrer, or you know nothing about football. I can't decide which one it is

176 Posts

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by what biy!
    ha ha fcuk the lot of ye. liverpool have been needing a result like this to get their season on track. they have dominated some teams this seaon and now they look like starting to get the results. its better than the arsenal result!
    Back to reality!!

Last night's game was our game in hand for the last 4 months, and we blew it in injury time. Another 2 points thrown in the bin! That's what the board gets, for selling Owen on the cheap to a club who didn't want him. Disgrace!!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

144 Posts
    Theres a lot to be said for dodgy undeserved late equalisers eh Conor.

It's why we love the game though, you've gotta take the lows with the highs.
    if I had a cat it'd have got some kickin last night though.

144 Posts
    If you're referring to last Friday, it was a clear cut penalty, it was the third clear cut penalty following a tackle on Pugh and an obvious handball, and the draw was well deserved.
    No, I was referring to Lua Lua last night.
    Thought the handball was a peno but the actual penalty was harsh, I think he only gave it cause he realised he messed up on the handball 30 secs earlier.

Talking

Oh, and those names, are these the same people that 'wanted' Wreh, Djemba Djemba, Kezman, Woodgate etc. etc.? ...
    I won't have a bad word said about Christopher Wreh's time at Arsenal, vital goal Vs Wimbledon in '98, only goal in the fa cup cup semi-final in '98 in our double winning season and started ahead of wrighty in the cup final. One season, 2 historic goals (in Arsenal history), and 2 winners medals. Maybe not the best player EVER put hardly on the evidence a bum signing considering a price tag of 1 million!!! Now 28 million for Veron, that's a bum signing!!

oh and what a great song he had to - to the tune of the iconic show stingray "Chris Wreh, Chris Wreh, di di di di"
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Page 7 of 153 FirstFirst ... 567891757107 ... LastLast