View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 63 of 153 FirstFirst ... 1353616263646573113 ... LastLast
Results 1,241 to 1,260 of 3044

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

Thumbs up Arsenal 2-1 Liverpool

Arsenal deserved to beat Pool today. United now go five points ahead with also a game in hand. Suppose ye Pool fans still think ye'll finish second?.

Benitez will be leaving soon too, smart move by the man cos Pool are in turmoil. Hopefully he'll take Gerrard to Madrid with him so he can play with a real team.

Exclamation Oooh my arsenal!!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Crouch in, Fowler out

= Liverpool 0-3 Benfica.
    Watchin the game nice and relaxed from the armchair again I'd imagine. Consider seeing the doctor about those John Giles in the near future or you could be bed ridden and not be able to see Crouch missing those chances every week.

Its great to watch games on TV when its so easy to go over now by trains, planes and automobiles

Keep up the in-depth analysis and we'll have you over working as a pundit at LFC fairly soon; when you get back to full health.
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 12/03/2006 at 6:00 PM. Reason: Just had to!
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    Watchin the game nice and relaxed from the armchair again I'd imagine.

Its great to watch games on TV when its so easy to go over now by trains, planes and automobiles

Keep up the in-depth analysis and we'll have you over working as a pundit at LFC fairly soon.
    Have to agree with you Joe. I'm beginning to think mypost is just trying to stir things. In my view, Crouch has had an excellent season. The fact that Liverpool were soundly beaten by Benfica can hardly be blamed on Crouch.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    be carefull if you keep talking sence you may not be alloud to support liverpool anymore ..
    Same as the sense and realism Evertonians had about competing in the Champs Lge I suppose?!

Now at a bargain knock down price of £7.99 at Virgin in Liverpool is Everton's 10 game Champions Lge adventure.

Suitably titled: "Champions League - We're Havin a Laugh"
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 12/03/2006 at 6:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Have to agree with you Joe. I'm beginning to think mypost is just trying to stir things. In my view, Crouch has had an excellent season. The fact that Liverpool were soundly beaten by Benfica can hardly be blamed on Crouch.
    Dead right P.M. Lads attaching all the blame on one player when football is a team game is a bit blinded really.

Armchairs and barstools are real comfy though!

176 Posts
    Watchin the game nice and relaxed from the armchair again I'd imagine. Consider seeing the doctor about those John Giles in the near future or you could be bed ridden and not be able to see Crouch missing those chances every week.

Keep up the in-depth analysis and we'll have you over working as a pundit at LFC fairly soon; when you get back to full health.

So what's your take on the fabulous achievement of another big game defeat, at Arsenal?? A game which featured yet another classic Crouch contribution; an awful miss from a free header, 6 yards out. That was the sum total of his contribution to the cause for the day.

= Liverpool 1-2 Arsenal

While far from being solely responsible for our problems, That bloke (I'm being nice), is costing us a lot more than €10 million in results. Centre forwards score goals, he doesn't. When you consider the amount of money we paid for him, the fact he's played every week since, the fact he has scored a miserly total of 4 goals in 8 months, he takes a large share of the responsibility for our bad results. He must be sold asap, for someone who knows where the net is.
    Last edited by mypost; 13/03/2006 at 12:29 PM.

144 Posts
    It may be time to call Pongolle, Le Tallec & Mellor back from loan.
    I mean in fairness, how bad could they be ?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Pongolle definitely brings more to the team than Cisse or Morientes has over the last 12 months and should be recalled. Crouch is never going to be a 20 goal a season striker but I do think he adds a useful dimension to the team and would benefit from playing with an out and out poacher who could take advantage of his knock downs.

It's Cisse and Morinentes I have a problem with. Unfortunatley Morientes doesn't look like he will ever regain the form he had at Real and Monaco and I don't rate Cisse on what I have seen of him. HIs first touch is awful, he isn't a goal poacher and he certainly can't play on the wing as he can't cross a ball. Both of them contibute little to the team and should be sold come the summer with the priority been at least to get one decent replacement up front.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

crouch is a joke , and after his day in the sun people can finally see that all he brings to the team is some one to aim all those long balls at . he missed yet another free header from 6 yards out .

i still can t belive liverpool fans where compairing him and beattie and they called beattie the waste of money .

beattie 25 starts 11 goals
    crouch 33 starts 6 goals

finally everton are playing like we knew they could ,getting the ball down and passing it about confidently , not a long ball in sight this weekend as they hit 3 past fulham , and with the injury list finally looking a lot better with the return to training of vaughan , VDM , yobo , wright ,pistone ,carsley ,naysmith last week the run in looks good for the blues .

Thumbs up Everton 3 Fulham 1

A scintillating performance that oozed confidence and class. That man Beattie again with a delightful lob matched by a magnificient volley from faddy ensured the toffees maintained their 100 per cent record in the league at Goodison in 2006. With super Mikel Arteta (destined for a call up to the spanish squad) pulling the strings in the middle of the park, the relentless running of Neville and Cahill and the quick-feet of Osman ensured there were some lovely passing moves to savour for the Goodison faithful. A european spot is still very much on the cards and I believe Everton are the best equipped of the remaining teams to represent the premiership in Europe. If current form continues, I believe the toffees can pick up 20 points (and that includes three points in Anfield in two weeks) from their remaining nine games which would be a sum total of 60 points and surely enough for a top six finish.

Aston Villa (H)
    Red Sh!te (A)
    Sunderland (H)
    Charlton (A)
    Tottenham (H)
    Chelsea (A)
    Birmingham (H)
    Middlesborough (A)
    West Brom (H)

Arsenal totally deserved their win yesterday. Garcia's goal should never have stood as Cesc was clearly fouled but thankfully Henry got the just reward. Alonso should not have been sent off but there's no doubt the gunners deserved the three points. Henry and co are a different class.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

[QUOTE=anto1208]crouch is a joke, and after his day in the sun people can finally see that all he brings to the team is some one to aim all those long balls at . he missed yet another free header from 6 yards out .

i still can t belive liverpool fans where compairing him and beattie and they called beattie the waste of money .

beattie 25 starts 11 goals
    crouch 33 starts 6 goals

I didn't even bother bringing up the Beattie/Crouch debate anto!
    There's no point rubbing it in anymore!

Crouch, Cisse, Kewell, Traore... the list goes on
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

So what's your take on the fabulous achievement of another big game defeat, at Arsenal?? A game which featured yet another classic Crouch contribution; an awful miss from a free header, 6 yards out. That was the sum total of his contribution to the cause for the day.

= Liverpool 1-2 Arsenal

While far from being solely responsible for our problems, That bloke (I'm being nice), is costing us a lot more than €10 million in results. Centre forwards score goals, he doesn't. When you consider the amount of money we paid for him, the fact he's played every week since, the fact he has scored a miserly total of 4 goals in 8 months, he takes a large share of the responsibility for our bad results. He must be sold asap, for someone who knows where the net is.
    Let's take Crouch first then. I'm by no means a psychologist but by the sounds of your one-dimensional attack on Crouch I sense the lad's appearance may have something to do with your dislike for him? Yes, yo'ure great with your stats and people are happy to listen to tripe like that for so long, and then it gets boring. See the bigger picture like a good man. Peter Crouch is by no means the finished article and, yes, he hasn't scored enough goals. I think I'll trust Rafa Benitez on this one and not the master tactician that is mypost

You mentioned the word problems? It's really problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season-and Man USA for that matter. They are comfortably sitting above Arsenal and have just been knocked out of the Champions Lge as current holders. The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now and there is a fan base of global proportions. Money is a bit tight but I think Rafa has done more than enough in his short space of time to satisfy true Reds fans.

Just as a matter of curiousity, do you know where the net is yourself?!
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 13/03/2006 at 7:42 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Arsenal totally deserved their win yesterday. Garcia's goal should never have stood as Cesc was clearly fouled but thankfully Henry got the just reward. Alonso should not have been sent off but there's no doubt the gunners deserved the three points. Henry and co are a different class.
    Easy on Cesc Dillo, your very protective of him. Although Xabi, like yourself, should know not to dive into Cesc at his age
    Last edited by JoeSemi; 13/03/2006 at 7:47 PM.

176 Posts
    by the sounds of your attack on Crouch I sense the lad's appearance may have something to do with your dislike for him?

It's problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season.
    20 points/37 points. Much of a muchness if you ask me. Tell me what you win for finishing the season way behind the champions? Even Fergie hasn't figured that one out yet, and he's been in this game for 20 years.

The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now.

Money is a bit tight.
    That coming from one of the richest clubs in Europe, and a G-14 member.

See the bigger picture.
    Sure, no problem.

1. Worst start to a season since 1992/93.
    2. Out of the League Cup in Round 1.
    3. Out of Europe before Paddy's Day.
    4. Scored less than 35 goals in 29 league games.
    5. A yawning 20-point gap to the league leaders by March, and more worringly, increasing.

That is the bigger picture
    Last edited by mypost; 14/03/2006 at 1:32 AM.

mypost...do you want me to quote you where you said 2nd place is looking assured now (for liverpool)but thats not good enough?!?!
    Stop making an ass of yourself!

[QUOTE=JoeSemi] Peter Crouch is by no means the finished article and, yes, he hasn't scored enough goals. I think I'll trust Rafa Benitez on this one and not the master tactician that is mypost

You mentioned the word problems? It's really problematic when they have considerably reduced the gap on Chelsea from last season-and Man USA for that matter. They are comfortably sitting above Arsenal and have just been knocked out of the Champions Lge as current holders. The manager is probably the most coveted in the world right now QUOTE]

there is no way crouch should be on any prem team never mind the england squad he is just bad at football his height has gotten him this far all he has to his game is headering and he is very poor at that even , but he does suit rafa's long ball tactics so i see why he bought him .

i dont buy this he wasnt bought to score goals does rafa apply this to all the strikers he brings in ? have they got 10 between them yet .

1. Worst start to a season since 1992/93. Best defensive run the club has ever had.
    2. Out of the League Cup in Round 1. Go support Wigan then
    3. Out of Europe before Paddy's Day. Go support Arsenal then.
    4. Scored less than 35 goals in 29 league games. Second best defence in the country.
    5. A yawning 20-point gap to the league leaders by March, and more worringly, increasing. Go support Chelsea then.
    Whatever you do don't think you support Liverpool.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Quote Originally Posted by d f x-

Whatever you do don't think you support Liverpool.
    why because he doesnt blindly follow like the rest of ye sheep

the very fact he doesnt rate crouch and wont accept second place proves he is a real fan that wants to see his team succeed rather than plod along like the rest of ye seem happy to do

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    why because he doesnt blindly follow like the rest of ye sheep

the very fact he doesnt rate crouch and wont accept second place proves he is a real fan that wants to see his team succeed rather than plod along like the rest of ye seem happy to do
    If you dont rate crouch as a footballer, then you know nothing about football.
    He is not & never will be a prolific goalscorer but that does not mean he is not a good footballer. He is a target man / hold up player with a great touch & good vision. He also never gives up which is an admirable quality considering some of the chancers playing in the premier league. The problem is that we failed in signing our primary goalscoring targets during the summer & jan window. That will be put right this summer & then all you begrudgers will see why crouch is highly rated by the Liverpool manager/players/ fans & most pundits. However Traore/Garcia/Cisse & morientes will all be moved on as they are not good enough for Liverpool. Apparently Everton are interested in signing Traore.....go figure
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j
    If you dont rate crouch as a footballer, then you know nothing about football.
    He is not & never will be a prolific goalscorer but that does not mean he is not a good footballer. He is a target man / hold up player with a great touch & good vision. He also never gives up which is an admirable quality considering some of the chancers playing in the premier league. The problem is that we failed in signing our primary goalscoring targets during the summer & jan window. That will be put right this summer & then all you begrudgers will see why crouch is highly rated by the Liverpool manager/players/ fans & most pundits. However Traore/Garcia/Cisse & morientes will all be moved on as they are not good enough for Liverpool. Apparently Everton are interested in signing Traore.....go figure

oh great an other one of these i know more about football than you debates let me nip this in the butt right now .

target men gets goals and sets them up for his fellow strikers

crouch 7 goals 1 assist in 35 odd games end of discussion ,4 prem league goals 1 cup goal and i think 2 were from that friendly tournament that no one bar liverpool fans count . we ll say 5 goals in total

yip he is great
    Last edited by anto1208; 14/03/2006 at 3:53 PM.