View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 29 of 153 FirstFirst ... 1927282930313979129 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

176 Posts

Post Fixtures

The fixture list for the forthcoming Premiership season wasn't kind to Liverpool fans.

We start and finish the season away from home. All the glamour home games come early. We have Arsenal, Ushyted, and Chelsea all at home before the World Cup qualifiers end. The only one away first is the derby with Everton during Christmas, with the home return in March. We only have one trip to the deep south this season (Portsmouth), and it's on the last day of the season.

Everton have a handy start at home to Ushyted. Three points in the bag.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

[QUOTE=mypost]Tell me when sitting back on a lead was outlawed? Like Milan would never do that either, oh no! Everyone thought the same when we played Alaves in the UEFA Cup Final, and the game finished 5-4!!

That's what Coruna, Olympiakos, Leverkusen, Juventus, and Chelsea thought... But guess what, they'll watch the final like Everton fans on tv.

BTW, the postcard from Istanbul is in the post!!!

Relax Hector. Don't go blowin your load! Liverpool are the best team in Europe........ oh yeah and i'm a dutchman.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    Relax Hector. Don't go blowin your load! Liverpool are the best team in Europe........ oh yeah and i'm a dutchman.
    So what part of Holland are you from then?

176 Posts

Scf

Slightly off-topic, but how many LFC fans are planning to go to Monaco for the Super Cup Final in August? Would love to go there myself, as I've always being fascinated by the place, and as LFC are playing, I think it's the ideal chance to go. There is no airport in Monaco, so it would be tricky to organise if you fly in through Nice, and the tour operators don't appear to be running any trips to the final, at least at the moment.

We're playing there in 7.5 weeks, to win the next trophy. Any info on how to get there lads?

wrong place to be asking most of these "fans " didnt even go to the final

Monaco is a nightmare to get to, and very expensive to get to. Tried to plan a trip there the last time we played Bayern Munich and you might as well be trying to get to outer Mongolia. I've heard things have improved slightly since then, a friend was saying Ryanair or Easyjet now fly into some airport down south, and you need to get a train from there. Or something to that effect. You're talking between 500 and 800 quid though, which is ridiculous.

In reply to anto1208's "fans" quip, I had booked my trip to Istanbul but had to cancel it as no one else from our group could afford to go. Having been to all the home CL games on the way Olympiakos, Leverkusen, Juve, Chelsea everybody was broke and the €1400 required to go to Istanbul was just too much. That's life. We went to Liverpool for the final instead and celebrated in the city. It's very easy for an Evertonian to be smart, but the fact is you wouldn't know Europe if you were shown it on a map

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Monaco is a nightmare to get to, and very expensive to get to. Tried to plan a trip there the last time we played Bayern Munich and you might as well be trying to get to outer Mongolia. I've heard things have improved slightly since then, a friend was saying Ryanair or Easyjet now fly into some airport down south, and you need to get a train from there. Or something to that effect. You're talking between 500 and 800 quid though, which is ridiculous.
    Well, they run trips to the Monaco F1 Grand Prix in May every year. It's expensive, when you also consider that the event usually clashes with the Cannes Film Festival, but they manage to arrange a trip to it. The LOSC went there on a day trip for the CL game last season. I thought it would be nice to go to the game and spend a couple of days in the region around it, as some consolation for being unable to watch the CL final live last season. Looks very unlikely at this stage though.

It's very easy for an Evertonian to be smart, but the fact is you wouldn't know Europe if you were shown it on a map
    Oh Everton fans will know where all these exotic places are in Europe alright, while playing in the UEFA Cup this season!!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Oh Everton fans will know where all these exotic places are in Europe alright, while playing in the UEFA Cup this season!!

Like TNS in Wales ???

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    In reply to anto1208's "fans" quip, I had booked my trip to Istanbul but had to cancel it as no one else from our group could afford to go. Having been to all the home CL games on the way Olympiakos, Leverkusen, Juve, Chelsea everybody was broke and the €1400 required to go to Istanbul was just too much. That's life. We went to Liverpool for the final instead and celebrated in the city. It's very easy for an Evertonian to be smart, but the fact is you wouldn't know Europe if you were shown it on a map
    your telling me you turned down a trip to the europeen cup final that your team were in because none of your friends would go with you !!

bet there lucky to have "fans" like you !

also why would everton not know europe ? because of liverpool fans murdering people and getting us banned when we were arguebly the best team in europe .

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    also why would everton not know europe ? because of liverpool fans murdering people and getting us banned when we were arguebly the best team in europe .
    Here we go........ Lads dont bite the bate here please!!!!!!.......dont lower yourself to their level...... Be a European King instead.

your telling me you turned down a trip to the europeen cup final that your team were in because none of your friends would go with you !!
    Plus the small matter that I couldn't actually afford the trip It's terrible the way you have to say things twice to Evertonians before it sinks in.....

176 Posts
    When exactly were Everton the "best team in Europe"? Now, they can't be a Thai Youth Team. And these geezers are deluded enough to think they're going to qualify for the CL? With their star summer signings in place, i.e. re-signing a player they released at the end of the season, they'll be doing very well to beat the drop - again!!

You know that your team is beyond hope, when even Craig "Sign me, Please" Bellamy turns you down!!

Strange that but i just seen on SSN what Moyes was saying "We didn't talk to him (Bellamy) but we are looking to strengthen in two or three areas and are hopeful of getting that done before the start of the season,"

When exactly were Everton the "best team in Europe"? Now, they can't be a Thai Youth Team. And these geezers are deluded enough to think they're going to qualify for the CL? With their star summer signings in place, i.e. re-signing a player they released at the end of the season, they'll be doing very well to beat the drop - again!!

what are you on about moyes never even met bellamy that was paper talk .

everton were the at there peak in 85 when liverpool fans got english clubs banned and set back english soccer 20 years . here is a list
    europeen cup winners cup 85
    league 85 and came 2nd in 86 won it again in 87
    won the fa cup in 84 and runners up 85+ 86
    league cup runners up in 84
    charity sheild 84/85/86/87

what are you on about moyes never even met bellamy that was paper talk .

everton were the at there peak in 85 when liverpool fans got english clubs banned and set back english soccer 20 years . here is a list
    we are all in awe!!!!

it is impressive allright ,

Not as impressive as being the most successful of all time though, which is Liverpool. Everton had a good 3\4 year period, that's it. Lets call a spade a spade, other than that little period Everton are s**t really. And will be s**t for eternity.

176 Posts
    everton were the at there peak in 85 when liverpool fans got english clubs banned and set back english soccer 20 years .

here is a list:
    Wow!!

Is that what you call a peak?? Pass the sick bucket!

At Liverpool, Houllier won the FA Cup, UEFA Cup, Charity Shield, European Super Cup, League Cup, while finishing 3rd, 2nd, and 4th in the league in 4 seasons, and the fans still demanded his head!!

At Anfield, it's the winning that counts, not the taking part. Also-rans win nothing.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    But does it really matter?

I mean, is Liverpools success the real reason why kids who live hundreds of miles away start following them? To me it seems to be the most often repeated issue here, and every kid likes to back a winner.

And then is it really commendable to pick a team that win everything, and then spend the rest of your life gloating precisely about that, that they win everything? If I now decide that Tiger Woods is my favourite golfer, would it be appropriate to spend my days on golf websites laughing at someone who follows Darren Clarke?

And if you laugh at Everton because of their lack of success, you must be positively weeping tears when you meet a Preston fan, or a Rochdale fan. And do you then get all respectful when you meet a fan of, say Real Madrid?
    Real football afficianados adopt teams for a variety of reasons... few of which in many cases have anything to do with success. Which is why the likes of Everton, Tranmere Rovers, Preston and Rochdale still have fan bases.

Anyone else is just a glory hunter and is liable to be fickle. Changing their allegiance when one team fades as a force and adopting another team.
    As a diehard Shamrock Rovers fan once said to me " You can change your mother, you can change your wife, but YOU CAN NEVER CHANGE YOUR FOOTBALL TEAM!"
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 23/07/2005 at 3:28 PM.