View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 26 of 153 FirstFirst ... 1624252627283676126 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

ye still cant give everton any credit can ye that will allways be the difference between the two sets of fans , im happy liverpool are in the final and i hope they will win it , which will be great for the english game which is the most important thing 5 clubs in the champs league !!.

everton will struggle in the champs league on there first attempt but if you look at our results against the other top 4 clubs in england , we lost 1 nil to chelsea , we beat liverpool, we took 4 points of utd got a hiding from arsenal allright .

with 30 mill to spend even if we dont get 4th up to 50 if we do . and with players like emre and appaih & davies allready in talks with us for a move in the summer i think we will do better than most expect us to do . but continue to right us off we prefere proving ye wrong as we did this year .

by the way out of the 3 years moyes has been in charge we have had 2 top 7 finishes .

[QUOTE=4tothefloor]lol!

I met a few Evertonians out in Liverpool on Tuesday night, they came out with some nuggets but that one beats all.

QUOTE]

can you explain what you mean here , when its clear we are a better team than ye hence being ahead of ye in the league thats the way things work

we are better than the pool utd are better than us and on & on

42 Posts
    Well done to Everton on getting 4th.I'm a Liverpool fan and like most people didn't think you'd last up there and we'd come good but it hasn't worked out that way.You were more consistent and being 6 points ahead of us you can't argue with that.Only for the Champions League final it'd be a terrible season for us.Roll on May 25 in Istanbul when Liverpool have their chance to rescue the season.

Fair play to Everton, they deserved it over the season espeically with the 'Pool being so brutal away from home

Anyway well done to them but the big test will be to see how they fair next season, I doubt whether they can keep that effort up 2 seasons running.

it depends on who we buy but having champs legue football will give huge pulling power to everton

we are allready in talks with emre ( inter) and appiah (juve) plus robbie keane is making a move most likely to everton ( his house in london is up for sale )

if everton can get a good left back and a left winger they should do ok .

gotta love moyes's comment yesterday about being the best team in the city !

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208
    it depends on who we buy but having champs legue football will give huge pulling power to everton
    They haven't qualified yet.....

Firstly, well done to the bitters, at last ye have something to shout about for the first time in 20 years......shame that yer hour of glory is going to be overshadowed by that crowd winning the bloody European Cup again for a fifth time. Always outdone by the 'Pool eh? . On a serious note, Moyes is manager of the season for me.

From a Liverpool perspective, non-qualification for the CL next year could be a blessing in disguise as we don't have the squad to do both at the moment. Liverpool have made enough money from this years campaign already to compensate for missing out. I'd like to see a squad revamp of about 8 players and full concentration on challenging for the title.

we are allready in talks with emre ( inter) and appiah (juve) plus robbie keane is making a move most likely to everton ( his house in london is up for sale )
    Those players you've mentioned above anto don't impress me at all. If they're the kind of players yer buying, this is the peak of yer powers I'm afraid. CL football will give ye more pulling power, it won't give ye huge pulling power. Everton aren't an established european club. You haven't even qualified for it properly yet. Will Everton even be seeded in the qualifiers? I doubt it, which means ye are going to have to face a seeded side from the stronger leagues such as Spain, Italy, Germany, Holland etc. Europe is a completely different ball game.

I think Moyes will spend the money wisely, on proven premiership players and decent foreigners. I think his aim will be to stabilise Everton's position in the premier, consistant finishes in the top 6, instead of a relegation battle every second year, sandwiched in between seasons of over-achievement.

Do you know what would be hilarious though? A big spending spree in the summer, followed by defeat in the qualifiers

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    A.Moyes is manager of the season for me.

B. From a Liverpool perspective, non-qualification for the CL next year could be a blessing in disguise.

C. Everton aren't an established european club. You haven't even qualified for it properly yet. Europe is a completely different ball game. I think Moyes' aim will be to stabilise Everton's position in the premier, consistant finishes in the top 6, instead of a relegation battle every second year, sandwiched in between seasons of over-achievement.
    A. Why is he manager of the season? He didn't win fourth spot, Liverpool threw it away. It was handed to him. Allardyce's achievements at Bolton were more credible.

B. Don't start going all Houllier with his "blessing in disguise" catchphrase!! That's an expression that a coach uses to explain that his side are sh-it.

C. Everton aren't an established European Club. The fact that they've qualified for the CL qualifiers, shows how far the competition has sunk in the last few years. Everton aren't good enough for the CL or even the UEFA Cup. Next season, they'll be back in their box in the bottom half of the league, after comprehensively losing the qualifier, never to darken the door of the CL again. The top 4 this season in England were Chelsea, Arsenal, Ushyted, and a pub side!!

Fair play to Everton they did the impossible and finished fourth and now have a chance of CL football next year.Dreams do come true.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    A. Why is he manager of the season? He didn't win fourth spot, Liverpool threw it away. It was handed to him. Allardyce's achievements at Bolton were more credible.

sounds like one very bitter liverpool fan

and liverpool fans have the cheek to call us bitter just read the posts above !!.

liverpool didnt trow it away everton won 4th spot fair and square stop being such bad loosers . liverpool got 4th with only 60 points ,this year they can only get 58 points everton have 61 with 2 games left !!
    if us qualifing has shown how much the comp has sunk at least its a step up from liverpool qualifing with only 60 points .

of the 3 years moyes has been in charge we have had 2 top 7 finishes .

of coarse moyes has to get manager of the season

roll on next season if liverpool can get to the final then by all lodgic so can everton considering we are the best team in the city . and the best team in england outside the big 3 !

You don't get it do you? He is manager of the season because he has brought a team of donkeys and rooters to Champions League qualification. That has to be commended. Everton have one decent player, Tim Cahill. Great signing by Moyes. Great 'keeper in Martyn. But aside from those, the rest are sh1te. So that is why it's such a great achievement. Look at anto1208 on here if you don't realise it, he can't believe his luck!

Yes Liverpool threw it away, especially in the last few weeks when they couldn't beat mediocre sides like Boro and Spurs at home, despite dominating both games. But that's not Moyes fault. Big Sam at Bolton has done very well too. However, if you look at both squads, I think Bolton have better players than Everton man for man. Plus Boltons style of football is pretty route 1, and after years of enduring Houllier I can't bring myself to commend anything to do with that kind of crap anymore.

Take a chill pill mypost, cos the players Benitez will bring to Anfield in the summer will have Everton fans choking on their toffees. The Jaoquin rumour seems to be gathering some pace I see........

176 Posts
    He is manager of the season because he has brought a team of donkeys and rooters to Champions League qualification. Everton have one decent player, the rest are sh1te. So that is why it's such a great achievement. Yes Liverpool threw it away, but that's not Moyes fault.
    The fact that Liverpool handed his pub side 4th, doesn't make him manager of the season. This is a manager who's side loses to the likes of Blackburn, West Brom, and Fulham, amongst others. Managers of the season don't lose so many league games, and get away with it. The manager of the season is always the one who wins the league.

Boltons style of football is pretty route 1
    And Everton's is.......??????

Considering we are the best team in the city
    Everton's finishing position is false and a fluke. When you have something resembling a decent squad, finished 4th on a regular basis, won some trophies, and had good runs in Europe, then you can begin to argue that you're the best team in the city. As you haven't done that, Liverpool are still the best team in the city.

roll on next season if liverpool can get to the final then by all lodgic so can everton
    HAHAHAHAHAHA,

Don't get carried away Anto biy,i'd be very suprised if ye even qualify for the champions league.Shels have almost as good a chance of making the group stage than the blue noses.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

The fact that Liverpool handed his pub side 4th, doesn't make him manager of the season. This is a manager who's side loses to the likes of Blackburn, West Brom, and Fulham, amongst others. Managers of the season don't lose so many league games, and get away with it. The manager of the season is always the one who wins the league..
    Crystal_P - Liverpool 1 : 0
    Birmingham - Liverpool 2 : 0
    Liverpool - Birmingham 0 : 1
    Southampton - Liverpool 2 : 0
    Newcastle - Liverpool 1 : 0
    Burnley - Liverpool FA 0 - 1

Everton's finishing position is false and a fluke. When you have something resembling a decent squad, finished 4th on a regular basis, won some trophies, and had good runs in Europe, then you can begin to argue that you're the best team in the city. As you haven't done that, Liverpool are still the best team in the city.
    and he's still bitter

and no im not an everton fan ...just love to see liverpools fans getting very upset
    Last edited by thecorner; 11/05/2005 at 7:09 AM.

Jaysus lads give it a rest will yiz

Well done to Everton this year!! Magnificent result for you lot

YNWA

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    and no im not an everton fan ...just love to see liverpools fans getting very upset
    Well that can surely only point to one other club.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Fair play to Everton in making the Champions League, lets hope they finish 3rd in their group so at least they'll get a round of the UEFA cup in.
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    HAHAHAHAHAHA,

Don't get carried away Anto biy,i'd be very suprised if ye even qualify for the champions league.Shels have almost as good a chance of making the group stage than the blue noses.
    people laughed just as hard when liverpool fans said they could win it . you never can tell with football

No, you're ripping the pi$$ out of it now anto! There is always a chance that a team with quality players like Gerrard, Alonso, Hyypia, Riise, Garcia etc can get their act together and win a competition. These are top class experienced internationals. Everton on the other hand......are you seriously trying to tell us that the likes of Lee Carsley, Alan Stubbs, Duncan Ferguson, Marcus Bent, Kevin Kilbane, Pistone are capable of winning the European Cup?! Remove your head from your arse FFS! As good as Evertons achievement is, Liverpool still operate on a different planet to them. Ye'll be looking up at the 'Pool again next season, and from a distance.

You should just be grateful that you have qualified for Europe, but no, it just goes to your head and now your warped logic is telling us that you can be successful in Europe! Stop comparing yourselves to Liverpool, because there is no comparison. Everton finish above the most successful British club of all time for the first time in 20 years and all of a sudden ye are world beaters? Spurs, Boro and Newcastle is who you should be measuring Evertons achievements against - clubs who spend loads of money, on crap players, yet never win anything, and have an honours list that you could write on a beer mat.

Come back to us when Everton actually achieve something worth while, like getting to a major final. Just getting to one would be a huge thing, ye wouldn't even have to win it.......