View Poll Results: Which Merseyside team will finish higher in this seasons Premiership?

Voters
50. You may not vote on this poll
  • Liverpool

22 44.00%
  • Everton

28 56.00%
Page 18 of 153 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868118 ... LastLast

Thread: Everton and Liverpool discussion

200 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    Do everton still have the only chance of silverware of any merseyside club?
    No way, not at all in fact. Tranmere (which is located just inside Merseyside) have a great chance of winning league one, 3 points behind the leaders (Luton Town) and got a 1-1 creditable draw at theirs last weekend (Luton got a very lucky penalty). The worst case scenario is Tranmere end up in the playoffs, and with only 3 other teams in that competition, a chance of Rovers' silverware would be very high indeed.

Saints 2 Everton 2

St. Mary's is never an easy place to go (as Liverpool will tell ya! ) so one must be happy with a point after a poor, lacklustre performance from Everton. Nice to see Beattie score his first Premiership goal against his former club! A satisfactory point means the gap is down to five points. I'll take that come May!
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Yer playing Chelsea next, which will probably be more points dropped. By the time the merseyside derby comes around, there won't be much between the two i'd say. I still fully expect Liverpool to finish fourth, Everton are struggling more game by game. It'll come down to whether Liverpool can win away from home, which is our big problem.

On another note, Morientes is looking good......a few more signings like that and it'll make a big difference. I see Figo is looking to come to the premiership next season I think Benitez should have a serious look at Richard Dunne as well, he's playing unbelievable stuff at the moment and would cost a fraction of what Ledley King would. Needs to replace Hyypia, who is really struggling these days.

5 points and closing,everton poxed another point yesterday but surely Chelski will be too strong for the journeymen at Goodison. I can't wait for the merseyside derby now.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

144 Posts
    Everton are grinding out results but its not stopping the gap being cut.
    They are getting a lot of luck too lately.
    It frustrates me that referees didn't see the handball against Norwich the other night and then again yesterday.
    Both inside the box, both stonewall penalties, neither given.
    They have been fortunate in lots of games this season, it has to end at some stage. Just pray that its soon. Maybe starting next Saturday.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

1,101 Posts
    Any of you Mersey heads recognise this cheeky little chappie..Dillo should appreciate this..
    Attached Images Attached Images

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian
    Any of you Mersey heads recognise this cheeky little chappie..Dillo should appreciate this..
    It's already been mentioned, it's Gerrards brother. Gerrard grew up as a Liverpool fan on the kop. True red, always has been.

1,101 Posts
    Fair enough, missed that bit of the thread,you can see why people say it was him though, feckin spit of him.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    The toffees still rule the roost. Hang your head in shame. Losing two nil to Southampton is the pits.
    I take it, that the fact you didn't win down there either is just as bad then, for a team that technically is ahead of us in the league.

In December the gap between them and us was 12 points, now it's down to 5. Yous don't want to play in the Champions League, you're just happy you're ahead of us, for the moment.

Our next home league game is in 6 WEEKS, on Paddy's weekend at home to yous. And if we're ahead of you by then, hopefully you'll come out to play, instead of just lumping the ball out of your own box all day, like you normally do at our gaff. As you've only won 3 league games since the derby, and have to play the teams above you in your remaining games, those 5 points will be made up, no probs. You only have to predict the weekend when the inevitable happens, and we go above yous again.

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian

SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool. He knows he'll never fulfill his ambitions as a player while he stays there. Liverpool are playing rubbish football and struggled for long periods over a mediocre Fulham.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool. He knows he'll never fulfill his ambitions as a player while he stays there. Liverpool are playing rubbish football and struggled for long periods over a mediocre Fulham.
    Liverpool FC 3-1 Fulham FC

thank god we didnt play well against them

The 'clutching at straws' stage of Evertons season rears it's ugly head again!

176 Posts

SG in Blue! He'll be blue in a few months anyway- Jose Mourinho's blue! Andy Cole's equaliser in Anfield saturday told us all we need to know. Gerard lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Fulham score as a result. SG has lost interest in playing for Liverpool.
    Taking a trip back in time to our game at home to Palace in November, and their first goal...

...Kewell lost the ball in midfield and instead of trying to win the ball back he resorted to standing in the middle of the park and watch Palace score as a result.

Whether Kewell has lost interest in playing for Liverpool is debatable, but he won't be wearing Chelsea blue in a few months, and neither will Stevie G.

just keepin this thread floatin

Foot.ie! Match 27-

Saturday is big day for both Merseyside clubs.
    Toffees have an early kick off (12:45) at home to Chelsea. The big guns are coming thick and fast with the mancs coming to town a week later . This is a mammoth task for Moyes' men but I firmly believe we will get a positive result. The same tie a few months ago saw Everton go down one goal to nil at the Bridge. However, the scoreline was a harsh reflection on the overall game as Everton created several chances and definitely deserved a point. It took an individual piece of brilliance from Robbenhood to decide the issue!

Dillo's verdict: Score draw

Rafa's Red Army take on Birmingham at St. Andrews, k.o 3pm. While they have done well there in recent seasons, Birmingham are made of stern stuff as they showed last week in Old Trafford and I fully expect the Brummies to put it up to the scousers. Bruce's latest recruit Pandiani looks a promising prospect and let's hope he can secure all three points for Fat Head Bruce and co! Having said that I'd be satisfied if they hold the red sh!te to a draw.

Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

2 points to seperate the merseyside teams come monday......

176 Posts
    Saturday is big day for both Merseyside clubs.
    Toffees have an early kick off (12:45) at home to Chelsea. The big guns are coming thick and fast with the mancs coming to town a week later . This is a mammoth task for Moyes' men but I firmly believe we will get a positive result. The same tie a few months ago saw Everton go down one goal to nil at the Bridge. However, the scoreline was a harsh reflection on the overall game as Everton created several chances and definitely deserved a point.

Rafa's Red Army take on Birmingham at St. Andrews, k.o 3pm. While they have done well there in recent seasons, Birmingham are made of stern stuff as they showed last week in Old Trafford and I fully expect the Brummies to put it up to the scousers.

How is it that we have done well at Birmingham in recent seasons? Our record down there is one win and a defeat in 2 seasons since they got promoted. Before then, our last visit there ended in a a 0-0 FA Cup 3rd Round draw in 1995, and a 3-0 win for us in the league in November 1985. Tricky game for us, but we're on a roll and should get at least a draw.

Moan-inho was busy whinging last week, that his team are the first of the top three to have to play this weekend after the internationals. Tough! He has more resources to deal with the scheduling demands of English football, than anyone else. You'd still fancy them to beat Everton, and increase the gap at the top to a staggering 12 POINTS.

Quote Originally Posted by jockser
    2 points to seperate the merseyside teams come monday......
    Hopefully.

I don't see it happening though.
    Can see the blue sh!ts scrapping out a dour 0-0 with Chelski and liverpool beating fat heads brigade 1-0.
    Chamon Mothafcuka......he heeee.

From a Liverpool perspective, that was a disgraceful performance again today. Especially considering that they knew Everton had lost going into the game. No passion or effort at all, with Gerrard one of the main culprits. Having watched that performance I can't say Liverpool deserve to qualify for the Champions League. People like Djimi Traore shouldn't be allowed near a reserve team shirt, never mind the Champions League.

Can't say much for Everton either who I thought were putrid again today. Apart from set-pieces, do Everton know how to play football at all? James Beattie.....