Thread: Mike Kerley sacked.

Mike Kerley sacked.

Mike Kerley has been sacked by the incoming directors of Limerick FC. These people, who are clearly taking the Charles Koppel/MK Dons approach to taking over a football club (lesson 1: Alienate your fans) initially tried to demote him to taking charge of the clubs underage set-up (I know it doesn't actually exist yet) and Kerley refused which in my opinion he was quite right to do. At this point he was sacked. I think we can all make an educated guess as to who his replacement will be, a man whose terms in charge of Limerick yielded inferior league finishes to Kerley's.

Mike Kerley in my opinion should at least have been allowed to see out his contract. Arsene Wenger could have been our manager last season and we'll still have come last. The ridiculous preperations that the off the field team managed to cobble together meant that we were always aiming to come last. Now in a delightful display of somebody watching out for their friends we see Mike Kerley being shafted. There's a touch of the Ranieri's about the whole thing. Appaling behaviour.

I'm sure that the powers that be are hoping to pull a Waterford United on this when after kicking Jimmy McGeough they pulled a couple of rabbits out a hat in the shape of Alan Reynolds (local legend) and Paul McGrath (national icon). Our administration however have far more modest appointments in mind...

Apparently our new owner is also in the process of trying to ban our vocal support (one in particular). Why is anybody's guess, it's not like we have 60,000 people clamouring to get into games and can afford to throw anybody out, least of all the few people who actually try to create some kind of buzz and atmosphere during games. No doubt this post will see me black-listed too but to be honest I don't care. This needs to be said and I'll be long gone by the time next season comes around so it's immaterial.

Much like Mike Kerley who I hope goes onto bigger and better things.

Can't believe it. Thought he was doing as well as could be expected with your Club under ye're circumstances

As for trying to ban the vocal support, how do they propose in doin that

Why will you be gone SLK?

And oh my God, who the hell are the morons taking over us? Unless we get Martin O'Neill in I can't see who could do a better job than Kerley and where the hell is the loyalty in football anymore? Not one (proper) Limerick fan wanted Kerley out and this is coming from someone who pretty much always wants his other club (Oxford)'s manager out. Let's just hope to God we don't get Graham Rix!

AND can we not do something like start a petition to get him re-instated?

Mike Kerley deserved a lot better than that.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Have just written this story: http://www.ireland-mad.co.uk/news/lo...TMNW&id=189732
    Is this a fair reflection?

cannot belive mike kerley got the sack.some return for his work over the last period.its an appaling decision.i for one wish mike all the best for the future.
    lads,ye have put up with alot at lims and stuck with it,i hope everything works out for you the loyal fan,s.

absolutely scandalous decision, i can see whats going to happen now noel o connor is gonna get the job and we may as well be cork city reserves cos we will have a bunch of lads from cork on loan to get experience etc and there will be no stability on the pitch, any one agree?

Hi Lads:

Can't say I was surprised to hear the news myself today. Felt it was on the cards. Any Manager which finishes last with the same budget for Players, albeit poorer ones in some cases, as many teams which did better in the League is always going to be in Trouble.

Lets face it New Owners will have their ideas on who they want to run the club. If we are in the Premier League in 2 years time will many people complain? Mike's a nice guy, prob too nice but was naiive in getting into bed with our old owners without having any Written contract, Yes it's the case.

It's no secret that Training last year was a shambles according to the players themselves. We won 4 games all season so nobody can expect their job to be safe. We have been talen over by Businessmen. We are not a Junior Football club and The investors will want a return for their money. If I was putting in €1m+ into a club then I would want to have the say on who is doing what.

By all accounts all the Current Directors are gone as well!

As regards the Vocal Supporter I think that was said a few months back. I personally said it to the new owner that would be a wrong decision and I like to think he took it on board. I would have NO worries on that one.

We Prob will get players from Cork. I dont care where we get them from once we get the F**k out of Division 1 Lads

Looking Forward

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

i think we should care who and where we get players from lads if the take over is going to improve the club i think we need players from the locality to entice more supporters, i personally take pride in supporting local players who make the step up and i think more people would come to games if there was a local feel to the team

I have to agree with John D on a lot of what his post said. Like it or lump it, Mike inherited a squad two seasons ago that should have got promoted. He was left that squad SLK, by the same "man whose terms in charge of Limerick yielded inferior league finishes to Kerley's." Fact is that nobody had an inferior league finish to Kerleys this season, and that was with him blowing a good budget on over 30 players.He is an inexperienced manager, plain and simple and while I have sympathy for the guy, it's going to be far better for Limerick football in the long term for us to go the way we're going.He has no coaching experience or qualifications, and I believe he spent the last six games laughing and joking around at training and in the dugout at matches because we were a lost cause. Not very becoming of a manager. And while I'm at it, his compensation demands and attempts to sour the players towards the new administration don't sit well with me either. I'll pm you whats been going on if you wish...

id like to hear a bit of that joe

SLK are you mad we won about two games all season what do you want them to do hold on to him and next season we might try and win four games. start fresh get rid of the crap and there is alot of crap there try and get some money in and if we cant get money they might aswell pull out of the league and not have another season like that its a disgrace for a city of our size were the laughing stock of the LOI

super blues

Super Blues
    Sing Up North Bank!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think he's been harshly treated, but its not entirely unexpected either, when you finish last, you've got to worry, but to be fair who could have done any better?

First, I have not visited this forum in a while but when learning what happened today I wanted to voice my opinion. I must say though how disappointing it is to see the overall response so far to Mike Kerley been sacked. It does not suggest that people are happy with his dismissal, in fact most Limerick FC fans including myself were in favour of Mike staying but it does highlight the lethargy that has crept into the mindset of Limerick FC fans. The reason for this is due to the different crises that have occured, such as today, which has negative connotations for the clubs public image. How many is this now under the stewardship of Michael O'Sullivan and company?

When I learnt of Mike's dismissal this morning I was angry about the manner he was treated in as well as the unprofessionalism and incompetence displayed once more by our officials which inhibits this club to a great extent. In a week where a 77 year old Limerick woman was ready to go to prison over a dog because she stood by her principles and her belief in whats right and wrong, here was the club once more acting like rabid dogs. The more I thought about todays events I soon came to realise that the core issue here is not simply about Mike's sacking but instead the whole moral fabric of the club.

In the past year there have been numerous contentious issues that have arisen and the behaviour of committee members best described as unscrupulous, in particular Michael O'Sullivan. While on a personal level I feel no disdain towards Michael O'Sullivan, however in his capacity as Chairman I feel otherwise. I see in him the root of the problem. Here is a man who went behind supporters backs and registered Limerick FC as a private company. Who issued himself with shares because he apparently invested money into the club for which there are no accounts or receipt to prove such transactions. Who when our new investor showed interest in the club allegedly demanded an incredible sum of money for him to leave (it was said that the other two "shareholders" were willing to step aside for the good of the club). Who could be best described as the 'self proclaimed' Chairman because he actually nominated himself at a committee meeting for which no vote was actually taken by committee members. Michael O'Sullivan may believe he has the clubs best interest at heart but he has not yet demonstrated so. Instead I think he is egotistical, someone who revels in the attention he receives because he is Chairman of the club, I'm sceptical then when John D says "all the Current Directors are gone as well!".
    I guarantee that he will still be here next season.

The lack of moral ethics within the club is worrying, to learn that they were considering banning a fan, one who is popular with the players and at times has been supportive towards the committee is disheartening. The thought of a new investor then should bring hope. While the club will secure its future what worries me is the personnel who will remain and those being brought into the club. How will they run the club? In the foreseeable future I cannot see a change in the style of management. The treatment of Mike Kerley is the first action taken by this new group of directors. SLK drew parrallels with Ranieri and Chelsea, unfortunately for Limerick I do not think that Noel O'Connor is in the mould of Jose Mourinho but instead Gerard Houllier. Also it was interesting to note public opinion when Roddy Collins joined Shamrock Rovers, the Kerley incident is the other side of the coin. While it can be argued that both Roddy and Limerick FC are doing what is right for them, you can't help but get a sour taste in your mouth. It should be remembered that Mike Kerley, since we are now a company, is an employee and the treatment dished out to him is unacceptable and would be in any business. He was offered a demotion which no employee has to accept but basically he was shunted out by the club. Mike Kerley has every right to seek compensation for how he was treated and also because he had a year remaining on his contract, a fact which the committee went to great pains to make sure that both supporters and press knew about.

I would totally disregard Joe Soap's comment simply because it is common knowledge that Noel O'Connor and him are friends. His comments are biased. I would see no great difference between Mike and Noel as managers. It is naive to say that if Noel had been in charge of Limerick two years ago then that Limerick would have been promoted. Since he highlighted that season I must point out that Noel abandoned Limerick FC just before the start of the season to join Cork City, should we not question his loyalty then? Or to say that because Mike Kerley was laughing at training and at matches that he was wrong to do so, in the last six matches I think (I may not be accurate) but we only suffered one loss, obviously it worked. I could easily go on and punch holes in Joe Soap's comments, its clear that his thread was not objective but him merely sticking up for a friend. There are two sides to every story and it is important to remember that…
    Last edited by Nempton; 24/11/2004 at 7:28 PM.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

As usual, a very iinformed, intelligent post from Nempton...there are too few of your posts on this forum, and I say that sincerely.

Referring to your post, I agree with you, it is 'common knowledge' that Noel O'Connor and I are friends.The fact that Noel O'Connor and I are friends has had absolutely no bearing on Limerick FC and its performance on and off the pitch for the past two seasons. Noel left Limerick for Cork City primarily for two reasons; 1). The opportunity to work at a near professional club with one of the, if not the best manager in the league, thus learning the ropes in the best way how. 2). He could no longer stomach the lies, ineptitude and lack of ambition of certain individuals at the club...a club where he had been involved at underage, youth, under 21 and senior level for a number of years. When Noel was leaving, he had left the club in a very healthy state, having won the League Cup, and assembling a squad that included bringing Jimmy Fyffe, Brendan Sweeney, Steven O'Flynn, Gareth Cooney and Colin Heffernan into the fray, plus bringing in Mike Kerley as a number 2 and Barry Heffernan as physio.The club hadn't been in as good shape on the field for ages....and it showed, narrowly missing out on promotion. I dare anyone to tell me that Mike Kerley could have assembled such a squad, or that we would have made the play-offs that season were it not for the way the playing side of the club was left by Noel O'Connor.

Mike Kerleys record for Limerick is as follows:
    Season 1. Great league run, ending in play-off defeat.Obtained by a squad he did not develop, but all credit to him, he did very well in his first season and I genuinely thought he had a future.

Season 2. 4...yes....4 victories in a 33 game season. 30 players on the books, the majority of them crap or too young. He showed no leadership skill in a crisis, thus the mass exodus of players from the club, when he shou;d have concentrated using his €3000 a week, ...yes €3000 a week budget wisely rather than paying muppets to replace them and 'goalkeeping' coaches.

I believe that he had to go, and it is irrespective at this moment in time who replaces him. The new people at the club are businessmen, and sportsmen, and if you combine both, you expect and demand results. Mike is a genuinely nice guy, and I sincerely wish him well, but the club went seriously backwards on the pitch under his tutelage, and any manager thats getting paid good money as he was, has to justify that wage or walk the plank.

In the workplace, ,If you have a seriously unproductive employee, you let them go. If you don't, thats bad business that will put you under. Football is a business these days and Limerick FC is a business that is badly suffering all round. New blood and management is required and there should be no room for sentiment.

Please feel free to punch holes in my threads...I welcome the criticisms. I believe that if you watch how certain people react to this situation in the coming days, then you might get a true indicator of their personalities, and reasons why this ended like it did. The welfare and future of the club is what is important and I believe that is going forward from today.

The new directors of Limerick FC will be looking at the club essentially as a blank canvas. Therefore it is no surprise to see that Mike Kerley is to be replaced as manager. He didn't do himself any favours with performances on the pitch this season. As much as fans endeared themselves to Kerley, a budget of €3000 per week should not end up with the need for sub goalkeepers to be playing outfield in a bare 11. That kind of stuff is ridiculous, and that is why, in my opinion, he has been let go. You have to look at it like this - If you were investing a lot of hard cash in a club, you would not be sold on Mike Kerley's performance this season. And thats what it boils down to.

On another note, if it is a thing that Noel O'Connor is part of this takeover and is friendly with the new directors, is that not potential for a conflict of interests further down the line? I mean, if he is part of this new group, what happens if his team isn't doing the business on the pitch? Will his buddies be as quick to sack him as they have been to sack Mike? I doubt it somehow. Great, that's all we need, more politics down the line.........

re

I must say mike getting sacked does'nt surprise me and i have to agree with joe soap and john.After what has been a bitterly disappointing season i think the new management had no other choice but to sack him.

Mike was a very nice guy but I think the club needs a big pr job, a la major ground improvments, nickname a la supersaints, rebel army etc . Limerick is a big city and shouls be in the premier division atracting crowds of 3000. Derby games against city and waterford. The best possible 12 team premier would be,

Cork City
    Derry City
    Shamrock Rovers
    Finn Harps
    Sligo Rovers
    Galway United
    Bohemians
    Limerick fc
    Waterford United
    Shelbourne
    St Patricks Ath
    Drogheda United

Even tho I have a soft spot for Longford I feel there attendances are small.
    If limerick appoint the right manager and have a chairperson who will communicate well with the fans and have a good buisness brain it should see the club get stronger and look to get promoted in two or three years. I feel sometimes that clubs that tend to yo-yo between the two divisions seem to get larger attendances at the top of the first division rather than at the bottom of the premier division.

Any way best of look next season.
    First Division Champions

Football is a meritocracy the best 12 teams will be in the Premier Division next season let's examine your list of ideal clubs however:

[quote Kevin Cronin 2000] The best possible 12 team premier would be,
    Cork City - Almost went bust in 1996
    Derry City - have almost gone bust on three occasions since 1985
    Shamrock Rovers - No ground
    Finn Harps
    Sligo Rovers
    Galway United
    Bohemians - having experimented with full time professionalism may be partially reverting to part-time professionalism next year... remains to be seen.
    Limerick fc - No ground and and have fallen quite a distance from the days they moved to Rathbane
    Waterford United - Previous board squandered IR£ 400,000 raised from the PLC Share issue
    Shelbourne- In spite of their success on the field are rumoured to be €300,000 in debt and cannot draw decent attendances to their splendid venue
    St Patricks Ath - Financial problems at the tail end of last season have seen them shed many players and barely stay up this year.
    Drogheda United - Almost went bust twice since 1989

[/QUOTE]

AS you can see Kevin from your ideal list are clubs that have in the best been among the most poorly administered in the League.
    It is a shame that Limerick have fallen to these levels I wish them luck next season and am sorry that Kerley seems to have been the first victim of the new regime.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 24/11/2004 at 10:15 PM.