Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Gartland Gone

Quote Originally Posted by Flea
    So long to Graham Gartland- we only want loyal players at this club. Dillon on the other hand is a massive player for us, the only player capable naturally of the 'big-big' time. We must hang onto him at all costs. I couldn't blame him if he left considering how talented he is. Gartland on the other hand was a two-bit nobody before Matthews picked him up and now obviously has a massive head. The Drog money bubble will soon burst and he'll have egg on his face. Bring back Paul McNally!

Fair play to ya Flea! You know quality when you see it. Hope you're doing your weekly scouting down at Boyle Celtic ! I know that club is steeped in history and has produced a few legends. Just go into Clarke's pub sure- full of pictures and everything about by-gone days.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Foot.ie! why garto left

listen i know graham personally and know why he left longford....his original contract offer was only for 36 weeks.and matthews put it to him that he either sign it or leave he was made feel that he wasnt wanted...he wasnt due to speak to paul doolin until he was forced to see him graham was willin to take a pay cut to play stay with longford but wanted a longer deal with less money...it was only when alan found out drogheda were interested that alan said he'd give him the extra year by this stage it was too late and matthews spoke to him in a patronisin tone...to say he thought he too big for the club upsets me when section 0 were short money i know graham handed over a few bob and thanked them for his sponsorship... he was offered a 3 year deal to leave with money to cover him over xmas which longford werent willin to do and as its his only income what choice did he have... he always made time for the fans and was always there for photos and the kids at the ground...he was an unknown 20 year old with experience of playin england and scotland.Played for ireland from the age of 14 to 20 in the youth olympics or other tournements and it was down to Aaron Callaghan that he came to longford... i wish him all the best and hope people get there facts straight about it... hes a good lad and has the respect of every player at longford so all the best garts... we'll miss yea!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by briano
    listen i know graham personally and know why he left longford....his original contract offer was only for 36 weeks.and matthews put it to him that he either sign it or leave he was made feel that he wasnt wanted...he wasnt due to speak to paul doolin until he was forced to see him graham was willin to take a pay cut to play stay with longford but wanted a longer deal with less money...it was only when alan found out drogheda were interested that alan said he'd give him the extra year by this stage it was too late and matthews spoke to him in a patronisin tone...to say he thought he too big for the club upsets me when section 0 were short money i know graham handed over a few bob and thanked them for his sponsorship... he was offered a 3 year deal to leave with money to cover him over xmas which longford werent willin to do and as its his only income what choice did he have... he always made time for the fans and was always there for photos and the kids at the ground...he was an unknown 20 year old with experience of playin england and scotland.Played for ireland from the age of 14 to 20 in the youth olympics or other tournements and it was down to Aaron Callaghan that he came to longford... i wish him all the best and hope people get there facts straight about it... hes a good lad and has the respect of every player at longford so all the best garts... we'll miss yea!!!!!

sorry but weren't short money, he offered it to someone. and i know all of the above facts also. but there will always be stuff goin round when a player leves for another club.

btw i didn't post bout his contract as somethings should be kept between a club abd a player and not washed in public.
    Last edited by max power; 27/11/2004 at 2:47 PM.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

1,104 Posts
    Forget about it at this stage..there's two versions of events obviously. Facts are he's gone, we move on and so does he.

Btw: the stuff about his contract as i stated, was something I was asked to put forward by the club so i did.

... he was offered a 3 year deal to leave with money to cover him over xmas which longford werent willin to do and as its his only income what choice did he have...
    Garto has worked for Digger for the last year

personally speaking from my dealings with garto - he is an absolute diamond. i spoke to him at the cup final in the annaly and fair dues to him when i was talking to him about the sponsorship he wanted to give us a payment on behalf of himself which is a nice touch. by the way section o will be again be sponsoring a player next season -anyone there can do a postie for me on "what player do you want Section O to sponsor next season"

even though i disagree with the way he did thins section o will miss garto i certainly for one will not be booing him!longfordian are the lads signing tommorrow?

at the end of the drogs match garto was one of the first people to come near us! all the best in your new job garto!

1,104 Posts
    Not sure to be honest Marty, Alan was supposed to be meeting them tomorrow alright, we'll see if there's any news from that..

fingers crossed so
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Heard from someone connected to the club last night that Gartland has been speaking to alot of people about the club and could end up in trouble if he keeps at it!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

its unusual to hear a good player like that being released and no new club mentioned.

i know Drogs seem to be the likly destination but it looks like there was a right blow up there

Question

why was he left til the last week of the season to be offered a deal if the club really wanted to keep him the would have offered a contract to him a couple of months ago maybe after the fai cup final...

every player is in the same boat, kirby, barrett etc...... focus on the pitch durin the season and not off it, i say.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by Maz
    Heard from someone connected to the club last night that Gartland has been speaking to alot of people about the club and could end up in trouble if he keeps at it!
    how will he get in trouble will the club fine him or somethin????

I for one am sorry to see Garto leave but sometimes you have to look after no. 1 and that's what he's doing.He wants to play full time football and we can't give him that and that's the bottom line so best of luck Garto i wish you all the best.The guy is a gentleman and always gave 100% on the pitch and wore the LTFC jersey with pride and i can only hope we can get someone with half his ability and dedication on the pitch.I just hope that everyone else realises this and give the guy the appreciation he deserves whenever he comes to Longford.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

how will he get in trouble will the club fine him or somethin????
    no if u make claims that are found to be false and have damaged the name of the club or any member he can be sued for slander, that good enough for ya.

i talked with him on friday night and he said nothing wrong or out of place.

is there any truth in the rumour that dillo might be folowin garto as the two are insepreable and hes not happy with how hes friend has been treated and the lies being told about him????
    but surely if they wanted to keep him they would have spoke to him sooner they nearly lost kirbs cause of this type of action aswell

is there any truth in the rumour that dillo might be folowin garto as the two are insepreable and hes not happy with how hes friend has been treated and the lies being told about him????
    but surely if they wanted to keep him they would have spoke to him sooner they nearly lost kirbs cause of this type of action aswell
    no there is no truth in that at all, he is under contract and said himself last weekend he was goin no where.

nearly ever happened......

Dillo's going nowhere. I can confirm that.
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

1,104 Posts
    Even if he did feel like leaving next year which I don't think will happen, we'd be due a large lump of compensation for him until he's 23 (July 2006) which may well put off any suitors. Garto's exit is obviously causing a lot of talk but I don't think you can go around saying everyone's lying except him..anyway we've been over all the ground already, I have no desire to keep this going..

522 Posts
    briano, I sent you a PM, please respond to it immediately.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast