3,256 Posts
    Conor Hourihane in there I see!

166 Posts
    Article in FLW, encouraging Middlesboro to sign free agent Manning despite his defensive shortcomings; includes stats and infographic from Foresseaball, describing Manning as " The best Non-PL Loan Championship left back in 22-23".

Middlesbrough: Michael Carrick should swoop for free agent to find Ryan Giles solution (footballleagueworld.co.uk)

300 Posts
    In a sense irrelevant, because the Ireland manager refuses to call him up. But I wish him well as a product of the Irish league system.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    866 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trequartista20 View Post
    In a sense irrelevant, because the Ireland manager refuses to call him up. But I wish him well as a product of the Irish league system.
    He did call him up and Manning refused call up. If Cannon gets criticism for turning down call so should Manning

459 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    He did call him up and Manning refused call up. If Cannon gets criticism for turning down call so should Manning
    It's completely different. Cannon is deciding weather he wishes to represent ireland or England in no way is that similar to manning unless he is in the process of switching allegiances

866 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    It's completely different. Cannon is deciding weather he wishes to represent ireland or England in no way is that similar to manning unless he is in the process of switching allegiances
    So what's Mannings excuse?

Is he justified in sulking because he was left out previously? If that's the case he needs to remind himself he's a Championship level player and not Champions League. Should Wes Houlihan have turned down call ups after he was left out for far too long?

Is Manning justified because he is looking for a club and doesn't want to get injured? In which case should Gary Breen have not played a WC in 2002 without a club?

Roy Keane was vilified for years for walking out on a call up, is Manning refusing to play for Kenny because it's personal between them like Keane and McCarthy?

Or is Manning excused cos ye just don't like Kenny?

2,650 Posts
    Or is Manning excused cos ye just don't like Kenny?
    Yes.

There’s wanting Kenny gone and there’s losing all sense of reason… some posters on here would want to come up for oxygen. The stuff on here and the O’Shea thread is just bizarre.

105 Posts
    Comment withdrawn.
    Last edited by Snapshot; 26/06/2023 at 6:14 AM. Reason: infraction

866 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Snapshot View Post
    Tweedledum and Tweedledee.
    Insightful as always

866 Posts

Has signed for Southampton. Decent move, but a bit surprised that hes not going to Real Madrid considering how some go on about him
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 11/07/2023 at 7:34 PM. Reason: Embedded tweet

3,256 Posts
    Whoever thought he'd be off to Real Madrid?! (Even allowing for hyperbole)

866 Posts
    Whoever thought he'd be off to Real Madrid?! (Even allowing for hyperbole)
    I apologize if the sarcasm was too complicated for you to understand

3,256 Posts
    Hence my bit in brackets.

Even allowing for that, your comment doesn't reflect anyone's views in the thread I think

866 Posts
    Hence my bit in brackets.

Even allowing for that, your comment doesn't reflect anyone's views in the thread I think
    I believe theres a view by some that hes better than he is
    Its really not that complicated!!!

93 Posts
    I believe theres a view by some that hes better than he is
    Literally created the most chances of any player in the championship last season...

3,256 Posts
    I don't think anyone has ever even suggested he'd get a top half Premier move though.

I think people are aware our full-backs are ageing and O'Dowda wasn't great in Greece (arguably playing out of position) so probably one of the top-performing fullbacks in the Championship deserves a squad call-up

That doesn't mean we think he's the reincarnation of Cafu like

866 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CSAD View Post
    Literally created the most chances of any player in the championship last season...
    Fair play, with that you'd think he would have got a move to the Premiership instead of continuing his journeyman career in Championship.

One of the excuses going around when he turned down the call up for the Greece game was that he was out of contract so didnt want to risk injury. Glad for him that he didnt risk it, might never have gotten such a big move if he was injured.

866 Posts
    probably one of the top-performing fullbacks in the Championship deserves a squad call-up
    He was called up. He turned it down!

Russel Martin said he turned down two Premiership clubs in favour of Southampton.

3,256 Posts
    Probably deserved a call-up many times before that.

Seems a decent move though, assuming Southampton use their parachute payments to go straight back up. Though they don't seem the best run of clubs, so will wait and see how they get on.

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast