Page 23 of 29 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI Promotion Activities

536 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Excellent articles on the league in the current editions of both World Soccer and Hot Press.
    Would never expect an article in Hot Press when its a music mag?

They previewed the WNL last season as well.

https://twitter.com/dllambo/status/1...nUrbRUpc1LWHvQ

The rest of the league has LOI TV , Bohs have Ear To The Ground

The "Kerry Ultras" guy has been cleaned out of stickers due to demand - even he himself admitted that it started out just as a bit of a laugh, but certainly generated plenty of publicity!

408 Posts
    https://twitter.com/derrycityfc/stat...08642708856833

I wish our league would just get a controlled hold on the use of flares rather than banning them outright. It's one of the things we do that sets us apart. There's a line you shouldn't cross obviously (e.g. a hand cannon in Waterford) but I think we are shooting ourselves in the foot if we start sterilizing the experience. Flares add to the atmosphere and atmosphere is what we have to offer.

This seems particularly harsh from Derry. Lifetime bans on offer for some of their most die hard supporters for flares and a flag?
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

Excellent statement by Shamrock Rovers today - would like to think the vast majority of LoI matchgoers would be of similar mind, but given squads tend to be more representative of communities than either rugby or GAA, worth re-iterating across the League:

https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/2023/0...overs-for-all/

408 Posts
    Excellent statement by Shamrock Rovers today - would like to think the vast majority of LoI matchgoers would be of similar mind, but given squads tend to be more representative of communities than either rugby or GAA, worth re-iterating across the League:

https://www.shamrockrovers.ie/2023/0...overs-for-all/
    Very inclusive. We even allowed a manchester united supporter to attend the book reading.

Some amount of gobahites responding to it on Twitter.

27 Posts
    Fair play shams, good statement that

Alan Kenny ex Bohs appointed treaty commercial director

Any bohs fans know anything?

Kerry FC announce a "Cúl Camps" style fortnight of activity for kids during the Easter break - much like every other LoI club presumably, but evident that the focus in terms of attendances will be in retaining family support.

408 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    https://twitter.com/derrycityfc/stat...08642708856833

I wish our league would just get a controlled hold on the use of flares rather than banning them outright. It's one of the things we do that sets us apart. There's a line you shouldn't cross obviously (e.g. a hand cannon in Waterford) but I think we are shooting ourselves in the foot if we start sterilizing the experience. Flares add to the atmosphere and atmosphere is what we have to offer.

This seems particularly harsh from Derry. Lifetime bans on offer for some of their most die hard supporters for flares and a flag?
    I agree, but for as long as the FAI is slappoing clubs wiht hefty fines fo rthis then what are clubs to do ? Genuine fans would understand that it costs their club a lot of money and stop doing it.

A number of Kerry FC players along with James Sugrue of the coaching staff visited CBS Primary in Tralee today.

1,523 Posts
    A number of Kerry FC players along with James Sugrue of the coaching staff visited CBS Primary in Tralee today.
    Biggest schooling they got since they visited Galway

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    I note that an "ELOI" competition, via FIFA 23, has been regularly streamed by the FAI TV Youtube account over the last few weeks, though it hasn't garnered an enormous amount of views: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TutKXAFhW-k
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

3,213 Posts
    There was one two years ago as well. Was won by Rovers if I recall.

108 Posts
    I gave it a view there... Can see why it hasn't caught the imagination!

To be fair I wouldn't have ever been the biggest gamer but I never enjoyed football games like FIFA. I enjoyed the management games but not so much those type but they do seem to be very popular among the lower generation.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    I gave it a view there... Can see why it hasn't caught the imagination!

To be fair I wouldn't have ever been the biggest gamer but I never enjoyed football games like FIFA. I enjoyed the management games but not so much those type but they do seem to be very popular among the lower generation.
    I play FIFA myself, but I have zero interest in watching someone else play it. Not exactly sure who the target audience is for this initiative; the e-sport watching, LoI fan must be a pretty niche market.
    Have you ever won the treble?

3,213 Posts
    I think it's part of an international roll-out - some of the guys are now representing Ireland, and there's inter-club competitions as well. So I think it forms part of, effectively, qualification Europe at times. That may be more important than the numbers at LoI level.

No interest in FIFA myself, but had a look two years ago (was doing a piece for the programme on the UCD player) and was a bit surprised to see that both teams lined up the same - Ronaldo, Messi, Kluivert, etc. Was just a who's who of the past 30 years and the only thing linking the club in was the kit the players (both controllers and FIFA characters) were wearing. I don't know why it wasn't LoI squads with all ability set to the same amount or something. But I may well be curmudgeonly about that. (In fact, I know I'm curmudgeonly about it Which doesn't necessarily make me wrong)

2,626 Posts
    I get together with some friends here to do a "FIFA night" every couple of months. We'll usually do a tournament and then just a bunch of friendlies. There's always a Bohs Rovers game in there with most comments "jesus, these players are so fckin slow/sh!te" LOL. It always garners a bit of interest in the league though and one of the lads picks Derry sometimes - where his mam was from.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    583 Posts
    I play FIFA pretty regularly, even with all of its flaws (#scriptingisreal). Watching others play it isn't especially thrilling to me personally, but that whole industry, let's plays and streaming even outside of actual e-sports, is enormous. It's not a bad idea for the FAI/LOI to try and grab a piece of that market, but presumably they'll need to advertise it better to get a decent return in terms of engagement.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Page 23 of 29 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 ... LastLast