Page 27 of 58 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: 2015 attendances

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Briuk View Post
    Not only the twitter, the website is also poor. The supporters notes are alright, but only once per week. Small preview of the game with Cousins thinks about it, some small injury report, etc. Would be awesome.

Supporters notes after the match are alright, though a bit of report and Cousins opinions would be great. Galway, Sligo, Cork, are doing all this stuff very well.
    Cousins doesn't want team news online, I used to do match previews but was never allowed to put in injury news, which I had no problem with. Several people have offered to do the social media as the current man in charge is in England and finds it hard to stay in the loop from there. There's so much we could be doing like soundclloud interviews, March previews, special features etc.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    March previews
    I know we all look forward to March but may be a little early? Unless you've seen the future? If so how many points did dundalk win the league by? Did 5 Irish clubs qualify for European group stages? Did roddy manage to last the rest of the season in Waterford? Did the bray takeover go through?

**All this on the basis that you said March instead of match by mistake**

1,552 Posts
    I thought it was in the participation agreement that clubs had to circulate match previews / team news every week?

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    I thought it was in the participation agreement that clubs had to circulate match previews / team news every week?
    We are one of very few that do not issue press releases, we have no media officer that I know of and since early last season there are no match previews posted on the club website.

555 Posts
    We are one of very few that do not issue press releases, we have no media officer that I know of and since early last season there are no match previews posted on the club website.
    Are the people on your web-site still reviewing the performance of ball boys/girls in opposition grounds?

The public berating of the ball girls following the opening day visit to Oriel Park was hilarious.

Who's going to hold ball girls to account if not the Longford Town website?

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Are the people on your web-site still reviewing the performance of ball boys/girls in opposition grounds?

The public berating of the ball girls following the opening day visit to Oriel Park was hilarious.
    it was the supporters club PRO that did that not the adminstatrator of our website. In hindsight that comment should be censored but its not fair on our person whos based in UK to do it!

861 Posts
    I was the first one to speak out about these 'ground reivews'. The oriel park review was particularly embarrassing as it criticised the fact oriels away end has no cover for fans or proper toilet facilities despite the fact we don't have them either. Really hope it's a segment we stop publishing

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

That must have slipped through the cracks. As far as I'm aware those notes are usually edited in order to take out that kind of guff.

399 Posts
    This probably explains the really poor effort of a match programme, the one I got at the Dundalk match was really not acceptable for a PD club. It reminded me of a Non Lge club putting one together for an FAI Cup match.

All of this is a real shame, as its a decent ground, and looks a good set up over there, however getting things right in the media area is very important too.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    It is. The league's press office have to be included too.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    This probably explains the really poor effort of a match programme, the one I got at the Dundalk match was really not acceptable for a PD club. It reminded me of a Non Lge club putting one together for an FAI Cup match.

All of this is a real shame, as its a decent ground, and looks a good set up over there, however getting things right in the media area is very important too.
    I can't criticise the fella behind the match programme he puts in incredible work but his hands have been left tied in the last year or so as he's pretty much had to do all the work himself.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It is. The league's press office have to be included too.
    I remember when I used to do it for a short while, the press office would be onto you if you didn't have it sent out by lunchtime on thursday or something like that. They must have just given up with Longford.

1,104 Posts
    The last couple of games there's been team news on extratime as far as I can recall. I don't check the papers etc but the league may have been onto the club about it.

I think we are caught between two stools.. its not that long ago since 2003 when we were runners up in the programme of the year awards.. I know our editor well as hes one of the founding members of section o..he puts in a huge amount of work for one man! theres not enough contributions made to it and its the same people that contribute to it every two weeks..
    up to a yr ago we had interviews with the players in it but that died a death thanks to a certain someone in the club who remains nameless who went over the top with one of our lads that post here who was doing a great job!that person who contributed hasnt being replaced..

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The last couple of games there's been team news on extratime as far as I can recall. I don't check the papers etc but the league may have been onto the club about it.
    But that team news is commonly known or obtained by the reporter either through players or someone else, we don't actually physically send out team news to the press as far as I'm aware. I get all the club press releases but have never received one from LTFC as we don't seem to have a proper press officer. I'm sure that is a position clubs are required to have so it would be interesting to see who that is and if they are just filling it for the sake of it. Plenty of people would be happy to do it if asked.

288 Posts
    We've gone a long way from talking about attendances, but I'll just say that you will 100% get more and better coverage if you do press releases with some quotes and team news. Managers need to be put in their place at times too. If more or less everyone is doing team news but their own club is letting them get away with barring anyone from doing it, they will take advantage. Overall, I think it has a very negative influence.

2,446 Posts
    It's always a bad sign when a manager has such an influence in the way the club is run.

115 Posts
    Last season Tommy Dunne didn't want highlights of our matches put up on the website because he didn't want opposition manager seeing set piece routines etc. which is probably understandable but a bit frustrating for fans who missed matches.

For a club not to report team news seems very backward - why not just report incorrect team news such as "Osam is doubtful"? If a lad is suspended everyone knows he's suspended. If your keeper is suspended and the sub is carrying a knock there's no need to report that but at least send something out!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Last season Tommy Dunne didn't want highlights of our matches put up on the website because he didn't want opposition manager seeing set piece routines etc. which is probably understandable but a bit frustrating for fans who missed matches.

For a club not to report team news seems very backward - why not just report incorrect team news such as "Osam is doubtful"? If a lad is suspended everyone knows he's suspended. If your keeper is suspended and the sub is carrying a knock there's no need to report that but at least send something out!
    You can tell TC and Dunne are related anyway that's exactly why we don't have highlights online either.

Page 27 of 58 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast