Thread: keating makes stupid choice

keating makes stupid choice

Eoin Keating has made the stupid choice of agreeing to play bog ball next season. He is training with them and taken full part in pre season training which is rich considering he pledged his boots to us when he signed up mid way through our season before getting injured in a club game which "ruled him out" for the remainder of the season! While wishing Eoin well hes goona miss out when he sees what happens with us in the next month.

how could you say that?? he had to make a decision for himself and i think he has made the right one as things stand, what should he do? sit and wait? for something that he isnt 100% sure will happen? dont be silly, would you do?

Totally up to Eoin. Wouldn't have any judgement to make on his choice one way or the other. Besides he's already played Premier League with UCD so I can't imagine he's pushed either way how good or bad we may be next season.

sory lads should have put in a winky after the post but im not too happy at his training when hes supposed to be injured and unable to play for the last ten weeks with us!

to be fair gael afaik the training limerick footballers would be doin would involve very little contact work if any at the moment and the type of injury he has can be a bugger to heal and very easy to aggravate

as for his choice in codes ask yourself this would you rather play in front of 250 max for limerick fc or 5 or 6,000 min for Limerick gaa with the possibility or career moves through the connections he will make especially as he is just gonna come out of college, chances are they may have an all expenses paid holiday coming up for getting to the munster final, also appearences on television and if he continues to make as big a name for himself as last year there is also a possibilty of endorsement contracts further down the line, like muris gavin

Plus in relation to him gettin injured in a club match that is neither here nor there his first loyalty should most definitly be to monaleen as they are the club he has been with since he first started playing and playing alongside people he has grown up with and known for years. Where would you loyalty be?

for what its worth

agree with all of what ur saying and even though the GAA is amatur the money they make in "expences" can be huge. ie paudie o'shea made over 100,000 in his last year in charge of kerry. But Eoin came back and played with limerick for one or two games and he commited himself to playing for limerick for the remainder of the season. As good players were in short supply he was asked to forgo the meaningless club game (which was lost) and he broke a bone in his chest i belive. Its not what he does for the next five months that concerns me its what he did in the last two! I wish him well with the gaa and yea they will get him a job in insurance but for what its worth hes going to miss out on success for the next two seasons with us as we rise.

He was always going to put in his lot with the GAA for next season - next year is most probably Liam Kearns last year in charge and they've all agreed to give it one last go. That includes the dual players who will be back playing the hurling after next season, presuming that the footballers aren't successful in the meantime. Stephen Kelly will be off playing soccer as well, wait and see. Next year is sink or swim for the Gaaballers.

Should everything that is supposed to happen at Limerick FC actually does happen, Eoin Keating will be back, if only for the money. That's if we will have a place for him....

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    agree with all of what ur saying and even though the GAA is amatur the money they make in "expences" can be huge. ie paudie o'shea made over 100,000 in his last year in charge of kerry. But Eoin came back and played with limerick for one or two games and he commited himself to playing for limerick for the remainder of the season. As good players were in short supply he was asked to forgo the meaningless club game (which was lost) and he broke a bone in his chest i belive. Its not what he does for the next five months that concerns me its what he did in the last two! I wish him well with the gaa and yea they will get him a job in insurance but for what its worth hes going to miss out on success for the next two seasons with us as we rise.
    I happen to agree with you Gael353 about Eoin Keatings selection of parcohial bogball over the World game. But that 's part of the problem with the GAA people. They have failed to promote the only half decent game they have- hurling- properly and have allowed the virus of gaelic football to spread throughout the length and breadth of the island.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    But that 's part of the problem with the GAA people. They have failed to promote the only half decent game they have- hurling- properly and have allowed the virus of gaelic football to spread throughout the length and breadth of the island.

57 Posts
    Ultimately it is his choice and we have to respect that.

I regret the fact we didn't sell him to Cork City when they came calling over a year ago. I wonder if he does too.

The key thing is to ensure that we have a club going g forward that makes people want to play for us.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    that meaningless club game was a county semi final not that meaningless

good riddance

If he's chosen Gaelic Football over Limerick FC then fair play, but I hope if we do get takenover and start doing well we won't take him back. When we are at our lowest ebb is when we need loyalty the most so I hope that's the last time I see him in a blue jersey

underdogs

and that county team is so good it even got beaten by the underdogs last night on tg4

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by inexile
    Aren't all GAA games meaningless?

a matter of opinion i think its great

cough

Quote Originally Posted by inexile
    He was asked to forgo............must be a thing with Monaleen players being asked not to play football as we have big games comming up and then getting injured while playing bog ball leaving us with 11 players etc per game....remember Dave McAuley?

In exile:

The simple fact is that he promised himself to Limerick FC for the remainder of the season. He then turned around to play GAA.

Long story short the guy showed that he wasn't loyal to us.

To say a parocial team (Monaleen) is of more importance than a national team (Limerick FC) is ridiculous and weakens the points you put across. It's completely different levels. To claim he was only showing his loyalty to them also is a weak argument. He pledged loyalty to us and then backed out. If he stays true to form Monaleen should make plans to be able to do without him.

Eoin seems like a nice guy, but his actions have left him down. That said, he put in many quality games for Limerick FC, and I for one am appreciative of that. It's just a pity it ended the way it did.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

he didnt pledge loyalty to limerick he signed on the dotted line but told kerley that if there was a clash gaelic football would get preference and i know that for a fact

Strange. We heard differently. If that is true he shouldn't have even been given the time of day at Limerick FC this year. If his heart wasn't in it he shouldn't have even considered it himself.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Smile super blues

hope eoin has a great time playing gaa!have ye anything better to talk about than Eoin Keating. He gave 100 % when playing for the Blues he owes limerick nothing..is it turn on Eoin Keating week or what??the club is suposed to be turning a new cornor with a takeover why not talk about who you'd like to see at the club next season,can they hold on to most of the players,will there be an under 21 team setup,rather than bitch on about the past.Look too the future.....................