Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast

Thread: EA Sports Cup 2015

296 Posts
    Poor game imo , we had the better chances but glad to win it in the end after three shootout wins on the trot.It was a great turnout by the Galway public it's the reason I was backing them in the bowl last year it's great to have them back. That's the whole set for Bucko who has cemented his stature as the clubs greatest manager.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paulgufc View Post
    Gutted at the end to lose but very proud of my club tonight. First half was awful stuff but second half was fantastic. If only Enda could have finished that chance. Best atmosphere I've experienced in Terryland, not sure how it came across on TV.
    Hopefully, it is the start of something for Galway.

Cup finals are rarely great games, but it looked like a proper final on TV. Terryland was great and the fans (both sides) were a credit.

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Poor game imo , we had the better chances but glad to win it in the end after three shootout wins on the trot.It was a great turnout by the Galway public it's the reason I was backing them in the bowl last year it's great to have them back. That's the whole set for Bucko who has cemented his stature as the clubs greatest manager.

The stats don't lie.

His biggest test is to come though. He has to rebuild the side for next season.

296 Posts
    What prize money do the winners get ?

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    What prize money do the winners get ?
    I think I remember reading last year, the fai took care of the day and the gate! And the winners got something like 10k, possibly 12.5k,and if the latter figure is correct, there is definitely something wrong with me.

Tough way to lose it, but at least it looked a good occasion for Galway.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

147 Posts
    Heard a few weeks ago it was €12,500 for winners, €7,500 for runners -up and €2,500 a piece for beaten semi-finalists. And I think gate last night was a 3-way split so maybe both clubs make close to €10k each from that as well

296 Posts
    Not a bad few quid after it was divided three ways, I suppose John D's cristal champagne & Lobster Thermidor doesn't buy itself.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Suggest that you guys wait to see the cheque before you go on a spending spree

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Congrats to St Pats

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Suggest that you guys wait to see the cheque before you go on a spending spree
    Hope our spending spree is on finishing that mural behind the town goal! And should have said earlier: congrats to Pats, absolutely devastated to lose, but hands-up, the best team on the night took the cup home. Being honest, also disappointed with the crowd - just over 3,300 for the club's first final in nearly 19 years. Thought there would be more barstoolers, bandwagon jumpers and the straightforward curious who would have attended

445 Posts
    Great occasion on Saturday night. I really hope Galway get a few of the newbies to come back, great setup down there and even better when it's full.
    Here on a technicality.

397 Posts
    Just thinking back on the games this year, Pats had a fairly tough route to the final, may have won most on pens but they were very tough games. They were away to Cork in the QF, away to Rovers in the semi, then away to Galway in the final.

Also I think the old competition still has a bit of a sparkle about it, looked a great occasion in Galway with over 3 times their average and live on TV. Same last year for us, it was our chance to win our first trophy in 12 years and I'm convinced it put us on the right track going into the final 5 league games, if we had lost it, we could have gone on losing streak.

So fair play to Pats, if they make Europe I'm sure they will still see it as a successful season. Tough on Galway but at least they know what the scope of support is now if they can make improvements to the team.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

860 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Hope our spending spree is on finishing that mural behind the town goal! And should have said earlier: congrats to Pats, absolutely devastated to lose, but hands-up, the best team on the night took the cup home. Being honest, also disappointed with the crowd - just over 3,300 for the club's first final in nearly 19 years. Thought there would be more barstoolers, bandwagon jumpers and the straightforward curious who would have attended
    The murals behind the goals look unreal. Credit to the people currently at GUFC they are doing everything right

147 Posts
    Yeah, and it's only taken us 34 years!! In fairness to the guys doing the mural, the weather last week was brutal so they couldn't finish it as the paint would have just ran.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Also I think the old competition still has a bit of a sparkle about it, looked a great occasion in Galway with over 3 times their average and live on TV.
    It felt like a bit of an occasion too. President there (nothing special now), Delaney there (absolutely a rare thing) and everything was run well bu Galway and the FAI/League.

122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    It felt like more than that at the game tbh, I think 3662 was called out. EDP can hold circa 5k, I don't know where they would have crammed another 1,400 people in. It was probably the best atmosphere at a game in Terryland during my time following United.

First half was a very scrappy affair but the game opened up from then on with both sides spurning decent chances. Pats probably had the better of it. Gut wrenching to lose but hopefully the lads can learn from the experience and maintain our Premier Division status over the next few weeks.,

147 Posts
    Thought there was more myself, must have misheard announcement

123 Posts
    Genuinely felt the crowd was much bigger too. I would've guessed 4,100 or so.

Both stands were full, which is about 3,300. Pats had a large overflow on their away terrace and the club is supposed to have sold around 500-600 terrace tickets on the gate and through the Dail Bar/club office.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It felt like a bit of an occasion too. President there (nothing special now), Delaney there (absolutely a rare thing) and everything was run well bu Galway and the FAI/League.
    Delaney ? Jesus, the things you see when you're out without your gun !!

Thoroughly enjoyed the occasion. Thought we deserved it, though Galway had a couple of good chances and on another night could have done it. Was convinced we'd lose on penalties before they started. Bizarre ending too. I was thinking "We've won it, haven't we ?" The lack of reaction made me doubt myself.

Successful season Oriel ? well, ...ish I suppose.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

958 Posts
    Be nice to think the The President had a word with Delaney about attending domestic games at least. If MDH can manage it regularly well JD has no excuse!

Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast