Thread: Official Cork City Supporters Club

Official Cork City Supporters Club

from official website

The official launch of the all new Cork City Official Supporters Club will take place at the Cork City FC end of season celebration party that takes place at the Rochestown Park Hotel on Wednesday 20th November. Membership forms will be available on the night and all City fans are invited to sign up and become part of what will hopefully become Ireland's biggest supporters groups.

All those who join the supporters club before the beginning of January will be able to avail of a special introductory offer.....
    - This once off deal entitles all new members to a cut price membership fee of only €15.
    - It also means that your name will be entered into a raffle for a prize of a free season ticket.

A general meeting of the Cork City Official Supporters Club will take place in early December at a date and venue to be announced but hopefully it will be possible to stage it at a venue where all age groups are welcome i.e. not in a pub. Details of this meeting will be revealed on this website and in the local media as soon as they are known. It's your supporters club so what it achieves is entirely up to you. Remember it's our club, we are the Rebel Army and we are all in this together. Let's do our bit for the future of Cork City FC.

Colm O'Sullivan
    PRO Cork City Official Supporters Club

Colm O'Sullivan
    PRO Cork City Official Supporters Club

should it not be wednesday the 24th? seeing as saturday is the 20th..if its the 24th damn them anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by Citygirl
    should it not be wednesday the 24th? seeing as saturday is the 20th..if its the 24th damn them anyway!
    Yes it should. Damn I'm so stupid
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Yes it should. Damn I'm so stupid

no i mean damn cos i cant go..its my birthday!lol..im like a little kid at christmas with this birthday!

how do any exiles join? if there interested
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Quote Originally Posted by exile
    how do any exiles join? if there interested
    Good Question.
    any chance of bringing a few registration forms along Friday night Colm?
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

AAAAArghhhh!

Why can't it be Thursday night?
    Thats the first thing on the agenda...NO meetings on Monday, Tuesday or Wednesdays.......

and what exactly are we getting for the 15 yo yos il join anyway just wondering though, id like a signed photo of dolan to put over the mantle piece please
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Lads Just a quick point here......If you mean 'Official' as in your associated with Cork City FC be very careful. The club will dictate everything you do. Your better trying to 'fund' an Independant SC, then you do what you please in all respects.
    Go lí cúnna ifrinn do thóin bheagmhaitheasach

Ok, so when the f*** was all this decided?

Official? Fifteen euros? Rochestown Park Hotel? And what exactly ARE we getting for our fifteen euros please?

I thought the whole idea of this was to be officially sanctioned by the club, not for the club to run the damn thing.

And who exactly voted Mr O'Sullivan into such a high position?

If this is the shape of things to come then I, and a lot of other fans I would imagine, will not want to get involved.

Discuss.
    Football is life. The rest is mere detail...

Quote Originally Posted by colblimp

Official? Fifteen euros? Rochestown Park Hotel? And what exactly ARE we getting for our fifteen euros please?

I thought the whole idea of this was to be officially sanctioned by the club, not for the club to run the damn thing.

If this is the shape of things to come then I, and a lot of other fans I would imagine, will not want to get involved.

Discuss.

there were meetings on!

At the first meeting ... it was decided to have another meeting .. as you'd expect and then it was decided to have a third, it was then decide for people to take up roles until feb when the club is bigger and more people will be involved, basically .. a kind of elections i suppose.

This was decided the last night ... Rochestown Park Hotel was decided because there will loads of City fans there, so where better to ask people if they are interested. Theres no secret, the opposite infact.

They are not ... it is the fans !!

Mr. O'Sullivan was one of several people who put himself forward for the position, someone has to stand and be counted kinda thing. It was agreed by everyone that turned up ... it was open to anyone who turned up .... very hard to ask people who weren't there .... again ... just to get things moving until Feb

It was a bold and progressive move ... getting people into positions and gettting stuff done .... quite daring infact .... dynamic and decisive ... men before their time. I know i know .... it was like a whirlwind of action and reaction .... you could see the sparks flying .... and some claim they saw fireworks ...... its a story that will be passed down through generations .... quite legendary !!

Meanwhile there is LOTS of stuff to be done, if anyone is interested ..... it is all open to the public, if you are interested ... make yourself know and be ready to run a couple of lenghts with the baton ..... thats about the size of it lads ...... if you want to be involved ... you can be ..... if you dont .... then there is a very good chance that we'll drag you kicking and screaming until you do ... nah seriously, if you dont ... we probably wont notice !!

The choice is your people ... the choice is yours !!

good point. I'd love to know what you get for 15euros and where the money is going. hopefully one of the lads can clear this up, as I for one won't be putting money in unless I think its going to the right place.

Discuss.
    isnt there always one who has to take a bad view of things!
    i fully intend to join this new supporters club cos its a way to meet other fans and join them in helping the club and stuff.
    i wouldnt complain about the 15 euros, its actually very cheap. maybe the lads involved are working on some benefits for people or maybe there not but why do people always have to think of whats in it for them, is helping and supporting cork city not enough for some of ye!

people have a right to know where their money is going, and who is doing what. what if you joined the supporters club, and you told people you were and then some leading members of it were involved in something you didn't agree with- that would mean you being associated with them, would you want that? people have the right to ask these questions before getting involved. debate is healthy

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    people have a right to know where their money is going, and who is doing what. what if you joined the supporters club, and you told people you were and then some leading members of it were involved in something you didn't agree with- that would mean you being associated with them, would you want that? people have the right to ask these questions before getting involved. debate is healthy
    what are the leading members involved in that you dont agree with? they all seem decent enough to me if they are who i think they are.
    are u one of the old men from the old supporters club eanna? cos i heard that they are a bit bitter about the progress and change the new lads want to introdce. as i said i intend to join anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by nice one sham
    what are the leading members involved in that you dont agree with?
    I never said that- I said "what if." I know most of them too, and I agree with you. I think Colm is a very good candidate for PRO, he's got a lot of motivation and energy and thats a huge positive in a position like that.

Quote Originally Posted by nice one sham
    are u one of the old men from the old supporters club eanna? cos i heard that they are a bit bitter about the progress and change the new lads want to introdce. as i said i intend to join anyway.
    I was in the old supporters club, but I'm not one of "the old men" (I'm only 22 like ) I'm happy that there's a new supporters club, it was crazy that there wasn't one. All I'm saying is exactly what I said when Iwas involved in the last supporters club- people have a right to know whats going on, who's involved and where the money goes. thats one of the reasons the last supporters club failed, is because people thought it was too secretive. Hoepfully the new one will be a different story. Any of the lads I know who are involved seem very determined, and good luck to them and anyone else who chooses to get involved.

Lads, the benefits that would be got from joining the supporters club, or the where abouts of your €15 is not set in stone yet ...... i know that you all agree ...... (if you dont then you'd want to step back and look at yourself long and hard ) that it is early days yet and alot of that is being sorted out and will be revealed in time.

But what has been agreed is that all the money from membership will go directly back into the supporters, i.e. it wont fund anything else, it wont be used in any way that doesn't directly affect the members. The club obviously will keep all its members up to date on the funds and what we spend it on, (vote to decide yay or nay etc. the way it normally would) ..... and it wont be via postcard from Rio people .... be a small bit rational

The club will also be working on other benefits that members will be able to avail of, i.e. using the numbers that join the supporters club in getting discounts in various outlets ... i dont want to say anything more on that as nothing is set in stone.

All of that is probably stating the obvious i know .... it is only what people could expect to find happen .... there is no mystery to it .... not even a card trick !! .... not a rabbit in a hat to be seen anywhere

Does that clear things up ...... and people if it doesn't ... go to the next meeting even just to see for yourself

thats fair enough. but nobody was told any of that before you just posted it. so how were people to know.