Page 1 of 66 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: League of Ireland in Europe 2015

326 Posts

League of Ireland in Europe 2015

Not sure if there is a thread on this already so mods feel free to merge if so.

Looks like UCD could be in EL this year. You just can't get rid of them. Would they be seeded though due to league's current ranking?http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...lifying-place/

870 Posts
    Never mind UCD getting in to Europe, the shocker in that article is that Cork didnt finish top of the fair play league and by a huge amount. It just cannot be possible having hardly made a tackle all season such was their fair play efforts....unbelievable!!

3,195 Posts
    We regularly win this. We've never qualified. Don't expect to this time either.

Funny that we won it even with one player getting sent off three or four times on his own.

445 Posts
    How in jaysus name are Cork second on that list?
    Here on a technicality.

870 Posts
    Im surprised we are not permanently made stay bottom of this table after the Sean Connor season! 1 in 3 chance of getting the place Stu assuming things dont change majorly so decent chance even if not so lucky in the past. Its a bit of a problem balancing a first division side and facing the prospect of Europe. Id ignore Europe, put together a side that will get you up bank the using Europe money and take the potential hammering.

We regularly win this. We've never qualified. Don't expect to this time either.

Funny that we won it even with one player getting sent off three or four times on his own.
    You don't regularly win it, and you didn't last year either.

You have a very good chance of qualifying this year. 3 countries qualify and Ireland are top.

3,195 Posts
    We do regularly win it. We won it in 2012, 2010, 2009 (First Division), 2006, 2005 (First Division), 2004... Runners up in 2008 too. (That's from a quick search in the UCD forum here; I'm presuming it's accurate)

I never said anything about last year? But if the above isn't regular (and there's more wins around the late 90s/early 00s too), I don't know what is.

Hadn't realised Ireland were top of the rankings though. That's interesting. Can only imagine we'd get thumped by pretty much anyone tbh though.

221 Posts
    The relevant Wikipedia pages are surprisingly good.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015%E2..._Europa_League
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2015%E2...ampions_League

UCD (and Cork) would be unseeded, however as club points are picked up nowadays for progression through rounds and for just being there, there's a chance they could draw a seeded team from the likes of Luxemborg (like Dundalk did last year) who have picked up coefficient points by qualifying regularly over the past few seasons

772 Posts
    Different set-up this year to last year - I'm finding it difficult to see how Pats or Rovers will be seeded if I'm honest. Maybe someone can show how they will ?

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Different set-up this year to last year
    No, it's the same.

If you visit cldraw.com you can see how things are likely to play out. They have Sligo as the potential FP winner (the took top non-qualifying team) but Rovers and Pats should be comfortably seeded. They predict the cut off point will be 3.875. As the winter leagues get closer to a finish, this spreadsheet becomes more and more valuable

1,081 Posts
    Is the manager's behaviour taken into consideration?!

1,522 Posts
    How many fecking cards do you have to get before you top this ranking? Am absolutely disgusted Ten Man Harps didn't win this.

772 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    No, it's the same.
    1st qualifying round is a lot different last year to this year.

2014-15
    1st qualifying round
    (78 teams) • 20 domestic cup winners from associations 35–54
    • 26 domestic league runners-up from associations 27–53 (except Liechtenstein)
    • 29 domestic league third-placed teams from associations 22–51 (except Liechtenstein)
    • 3 teams which qualified via Fair Play ranking

2015-16
    First qualifying round
    (104 teams) • 31 domestic cup winners from associations 24–54
    • 35 domestic league runners-up from associations 18–53 (except Liechtenstein)
    • 35 domestic league third-placed teams from associations 16–51 (except Liechtenstein)
    • 3 teams which qualified via Fair Play ranking

I thought that with higher ranking teams entering at rd1 stage it may be more difficult for our teams to be seeded - but that is not the case.

If you visit cldraw.com you can see how things are likely to play out. They have Sligo as the potential FP winner (the took top non-qualifying team) but Rovers and Pats should be comfortably seeded. They predict the cut off point will be 3.875. As the winter leagues get closer to a finish, this spreadsheet becomes more and more valuable

That is a fantastic find - cheers!

19. Thanks From:

Sorry, I thought you meant different in terms of rounds Ireland entered at. My fault there

ROvers and Pats ranking is still fairly high. The difference is that in previous years, that rank would have been good enough to be seeded in QR2, but won't be this year (in all likelihood). ROvers have a slim chance, Pats don't

326 Posts
    Why the change in the number and country rank of teams entering the 1st round stage this year?

The difference is that in previous years, that rank would have been good enough to be seeded in QR2, but won't be this year (in all likelihood). ROvers have a slim chance, Pats don't
    Hi, Swede lurking around, was curious to see what team that you guys were going to send out to Europe if the fair-play standings stay the same. (they usually do from January and forward)
    So not Sligo then, as cldraw.com has at the moment?

Anyway, as you say, it's a kind of new format and UEFA doesn't do the smaller nations any favors either. Surprise, surprise...First, all nations down to the 24th rank (Swe) has to start with all their teams in the first round. And further on, as it stands now around the leagues in Europe, you will need close to 7.0 in coeff points to be seeded in the 2nd round. Totally unheard of in previous years. For us, teams like Gothenburg will be unseeded if it stays that way, and all your teams as well. And since unseeded winners in the first round take over the co from the higher rank'd I don't expect it to change all that much, just some small corrections. Last year, you were seeded in the 2nd round with a coeff points of 5.2 - It's quite a difference.

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Viking View Post
    Hi, Swede lurking around, was curious to see what team that you guys were going to send out to Europe if the fair-play standings stay the same. (they usually do from January and forward)
    So not Sligo then, as cldraw.com has at the moment?
    No, UCD (who will use the national co-efficient as they have none of their own) will take Ireland's fair play spot as they were the highest team in our end of season fair play rankings (that hadn't already qualified for Europe). They could, of course, fail to get a UEFA licence but I'd imagine that's a slim enough possibility

25. Thanks From:

2,337 Posts
    No, UCD (who will use the national co-efficient as they have none of their own) will take Ireland's fair play spot as they were the highest team in our end of season fair play rankings (that hadn't already qualified for Europe). They could, of course, fail to get a UEFA licence but I'd imagine that's a slim enough possibility
    Presumably they could refuse the place and it'd go to the next highest ranked side? Who would that be out of curiosity?

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Presumably they could refuse the place and it'd go to the next highest ranked side? Who would that be out of curiosity?
    Why would they want to refuse a place in Europe and a guaranteed 120k in income??

Formerly skibbereen co.cork but now Oregon USA
    25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yossarian View Post
    Why would they want to refuse a place in Europe and a guaranteed 120k in income??
    120,000 in travel expenses depending on who they get and how big of a squad they bring etc.
    west cork district league
    west cork commandos

Page 1 of 66 1231151 ... LastLast