Thread: youngsters

I know yer down to the bones with Cisse out and todays awful news about Milan but sure if ye could bring in young JP Kelly alongside Neil Mellor that would terrify most premiership defences!!
    It's looking ever more like a blue victory in Anfield in a few weeks time. Here's hoping.......
    Nil Satis Nisi Optimum

Thats a pity if its true. They were raving about him in u-17 and u-19 match reports up to recently. Liverpool's loss is Boh's gain then if thats where he ends up. We can more or less rule him out as a future full international then I suppose!!
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by Dillo
    I know yer down to the bones with Cisse out and todays awful news about Milan but sure if ye could bring in young JP Kelly alongside Neil Mellor that would terrify most premiership defences!!
    It's looking ever more like a blue victory in Anfield in a few weeks time. Here's hoping.......
    Its at your dilapidated place Dillo.....All the better to beat you again!
    Start saving for your payment now
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    AFAIK, John Paul Kelly was recently seen on trial with Bohs, so I think his Liverpool career may be over. Wasn't physical enough for the premiership apparently, he's only something like 5''6
    You were probably typing the same time as me but Joxer left (as in resigned) Liverpool by his own admission because of homesickness. He would have made the grade IMO.

38 Posts
    He was homesick? He's probably not from Dublin then. How could anyone ever miss that sh!tehole?

38 Posts
    BTW EB I can keep an eye on the Forest youngsters for us. At one stage there was 6 young Irish fellas there. Now it looks like Thompson and Roache will be the only 2 Irish there if Reid is sold in January. Cash, Foy and Kearney have all left in recent years. I'll have a quick look at their website now to see if there are any new Irish guys in their academy.

3,501 Posts
    For my - multiple - sins I'm a Man City fan, there's a few Irish lads in the youth set up, I think there's an agreement with Cherry Orchard, but I'm not sure of the details. Anyway, off the top of my head:

Paddy McCarthy
    Karl Bermingham - striker, just made the step up to the reserves, knocked in a few already
    Stephen Ireland - Central midfielder from Cork. Stop me if you've heard this before

Willo Flood's just made the step up to the senior team.

Over the last season or so the following have left:
    Paul Murphy (GK) - Swansea
    Glen Whlean (CMF) - Sheffied Wednesday
    Stephen Elliott - Sunderland

Any reports I get from the reserves or academy sides I'll post the relevant details

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    You were probably typing the same time as me but Joxer left (as in resigned) Liverpool by his own admission because of homesickness. He would have made the grade IMO.
    Yeah I didn't see your message until mine was posted. Suppose that's good news for Bohs then.

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    Stephen Ireland - Central midfielder from Cork. Stop me if you've heard this before
    I know his Dad well but I haven't seen him in a while whenever I've been back home so I haven't had an update, what are his prospects like and how well has he progressed in the last few years, do you know?

He was always kicking a football about in Cobh and looked as if he'd skill to burn from a very young age.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    I know his Dad well but I haven't seen him in a while whenever I've been back home so I haven't had an update, what are his prospects like and how well has he progressed in the last few years, do you know?

He was always kicking a football about in Cobh and looked as if he'd skill to burn from a very young age.
    He signed a new deal recently to keep him at the club until 2007 (I think), playing regularly for the reserves, despite only being 18. You can read more about the contract here. There's 5 players offered contracts, details on Stephen about halfway down

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    He signed a new deal recently to keep him at the club until 2007 (I think), playing regularly for the reserves, despite only being 18. You can read more about the contract here. There's 5 players offered contracts, details on Stephen about halfway down

Thanks for that. I looked at a few reserve match reports and he seems to be doing well. Hopefully he makes the breakthrough.

if my memory serves me right,when brian kerr was looking after under age teams,at a tourament held in cork steven ireland had a bust up with him.i think steven pulled out of the squard and returned tn manchester before the
    end.think there is still bad blood between them.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CRAMBLER
    if my memory serves me right,when brian kerr was looking after under age teams,at a tourament held in cork steven ireland had a bust up with him.i think steven pulled out of the squard and returned tn manchester before the
    end.think there is still bad blood between them.
    You're right, I found this when I was trying to dig up the link for the contracts - report

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    I was thinking about this last night. I think McCarthy was unfortunate in that he never had such potential at his disposal. He had one or two but Kerr's generation is definitely coming through. It won't exactly be a golden age but the players are definitely there to fill in the gaps when they appear.
    As a lead on to what you've said, it should make more of us feel (a wee bit) more appreciative of what McCarthy 'achieved' during his tenure with us.

I'm not talking Roy Keane-esque achievments, of course. But the style of football changed utterly under McCarthy's rein - and in my opinion a change for the better.

Could have been so easy for us to go ther same way as the North and the Scots. McCarthy supervised a team that remained a 2nd tier European football nation. And now there is sufficient talent to suggest there may even be loftier goals ahead.

Greece won the Euro's for feck sake!!

SKBIO-TOR

Kerr is a good, possibly great manager but thats a good point made about Mc Carthy that was forgotten. After Jack Charlton we had no real team. It was all long ball and the midfield did nothing. Mc Carthy kept the evolution going and starting to play a lot better on the ground soccer.

There are players coming through now but the technical plan HAS to be implemented.

26 Posts
    i read somewhere the other week about darren potter. it rougly went along the lines of him thanking the rules of football which allowed him to play for ireland even though "he isnt irish and is english". the direction of the article seemed to be him saying that if england come calling, off he goes. lets hope not tho.

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    i read somewhere the other week about darren potter. it rougly went along the lines of him thanking the rules of football which allowed him to play for ireland even though "he isnt irish and is english". the direction of the article seemed to be him saying that if england come calling, off he goes. lets hope not tho.
    Yeah, Potter regards himself as English but I don't mind as long as they declare at an early age.

"I think they realised that I had Irish grandparents and seeing as nothing had happened with England they approached me. As soon as the opportunity came along I just took it. "It's a decision I've never regretted, in fact it's one of the best decisions I have made. I've made two appearances now for the under-21s and hopefully I can add to that."

Quote Originally Posted by skbio_toronto
    As a lead on to what you've said, it should make more of us feel (a wee bit) more appreciative of what McCarthy 'achieved' during his tenure with us.

I'm not talking Roy Keane-esque achievments, of course. But the style of football changed utterly under McCarthy's rein - and in my opinion a change for the better.

Could have been so easy for us to go ther same way as the North and the Scots. McCarthy supervised a team that remained a 2nd tier European football nation. And now there is sufficient talent to suggest there may even be loftier goals ahead.
    SKBIO-TOR
    Like any leader, he lost his relevance. He made the break with the Charlton era which, wonderful as much of it was, had to be left behind. He brought in replacements for the old guard, some of whom were rubbish.

He achieved a strange feat of playing dodgy players in dodgy positions and getting good results, it was as if he relished the challenge of it. Why on earth he didn't just play his best players in their best positions is beyond me. His patronage of players like Harte, Breen and Kilbane was infuriating at times but none more so than his insistence on playing Duff upfront to facilitate Kilbane. I remember waiting in traffic to get to Lansdowne for his last match against the Swiss. We assumed that after the terrible display against Russia and considering the World Cup and the qualifiers when neither Kilbane or Harte were up to it, he'd make some changes. Nope. We couldn't believe it when the lineup was read out on the radio. Result? No attack whatsoever and a muck display. That's when I knew that this guy had lost his managerial marbles.

I suppose his best legacy will be the team spirit that he kept going. His decisions were questionable but I think that man would have done anything for the team and that came across in the never say die/backs against the wall attitude. A shame that this was often his only tactic.

38 Posts
    A few I forgot (really scraping the barrel here)

Healy is an 18 yr old striker at Milwall and has been banging them in in for reserve team .... he has an Irish dad but was born in Ingerland and hasn't played for any of our underage teams yet.

Liam Lawrence is an attacking midfielder who's 22 or 23, has scored about 5 goals for Sunderland so far this year. Has Irish connections but hasn't declared for us yet. There's a lot about him on a previous thread here.
    He set up Elliott's goal today.

Aidan Collins. Just noticed his name on the team sheet, as a sub, for Ipswich today. Had a look at the Ipswich site and it says he was born in Clemsford but with a name like that he must have some Irish connections. He's a CB, 18 yrs old and is 6ft2.

36 Posts
    what ever happemd with that tierney lad who was at utd and touted so highly?