Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland V Isreal Protest

84 Posts

Ireland V Isreal Protest

As a member of the Ireland Palestine solidarity campign, I have been made aware of the planned protest at the Ireland V Israel against the treatment of the Palestine people by Isreal's Goverment.

The plan is simply to carry palestine flags to the match and let it be known the disguast with the Isreal treatment of the Palestine people.

The Ireland Palestine under no circumstamnces condone the actions of Hamas or other such terorist groups.

Just wondered if there would be much interest in such a Protest?
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

I can see where you're coming from but lets keep politics out of football

if theres a protest its more likely to be against the fai rather than against the isreali governments treatment of the palestine people.
    sorry for gettin ur hopes up
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    I can see where you're coming from but lets keep politics out of football
    Hmmmm, OK, but then did Israel stop Palestinian players from travelling to a match for purely political reasons.......

Keep this kind of thing well away from our national team.

Whatever views you have on this particular issue, i think we'd all be agreed that having political protests at our international matches is a dangerous road to be going down.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm

Whatever views you have on this particular issue, i think we'd all be agreed that having political protests at our international matches is a dangerous road to be going down.
    I see your point,but do you remember the black armbands for the Princess of Wales?

Quote Originally Posted by Neish
    As a member of the Ireland Palestine solidarity campign, I have been made aware of the planned protest at the Ireland V Israel against the treatment of the Palestine people by Isreal's Goverment.

The plan is simply to carry palestine flags to the match and let it be known the disguast with the Isreal treatment of the Palestine people.

The Ireland Palestine under no circumstamnces condone the actions of Hamas or other such terorist groups.

Just wondered if there would be much interest in such a Protest?
    I'd be fully supportive of such a move, and would help out if i can at all. I think a banner saying "no to genocide" or something along those lines should also be held up during the israeli anthem, and the crowd should turn its back for the duration of that also.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm

balls to that. Just because the FAI and UEFA are too weak to confront murdering scum and ban them from sport like was done with south africa, doesn't mean we should lie down and let the israelis aay with it.

lads if its just waving palestein flags than its a legitimate mark of dissaproval for a repressive regime

go for it

just dont advertise it

fai security will kow tow to political correctness - ie any hint of controversy get the stewards to confiscate them

So why didn't you come out then and protest when the Russians were in town over Chechnya ,and why not protest at the French game over the Ivory coast conflict

52 Posts
    What do Israeli soccer players have to do with the mistreatment of Palestinians? Go protest at the Iraeli Embassy. Keep politics out of soccer.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

politics IS part of football - wars started over a game of football

peace broke out with a game of football (allegedly in ww1 at xmas)

rangers v celtic anyone? spose thats ok cos its just sectarianism?

nobody has any right to tell u what flag you can and cant wave at a football game

go for it

how is waving a Palestinian flag "hijacking" it?????

if people want to show solidarity with them and their plight thats there business

if people wanted to show solidarity with the nazis tehy would have done so at a game by now

they havent - guess it doesnt have much mass support so

Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars
    What do Israeli soccer players have to do with the mistreatment of Palestinians? Go protest at the Iraeli Embassy. Keep politics out of soccer.
    they represent a state who's official policy towards the palestinian people is one of genocide. South Africa were banned for apartheid, Israel should be banned too.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    I just don't think a match should be 'hijacked' (forgive the choice of words) for a political purpose like this.
    the fact that a state such as Israel is allowed to compete in international sporting events is a propaganda victory for their government in itself. so the politicisation is already there

this match is about getting 3 points off the israelis. if you want to make a protest p*ss off to the israeli embassy and stay away from landsdowne road

Go to the airport when the players come through,do it there but stay away from the game,it could affect our team aswell you know.

Yeah, there's no place for it at an Ireland match.
    Protest all ye like but do it somewhere else.
    Champions!

I think protests should be kept out of the ground as who says what protest is valid or not then. Fair enough if want to make your point outside.

Protest I say

and fck the begrudgers/dogooders

there's plenty of place for it, and landsdowne road is as good a place as any for it.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast