lads what about a protest in merrion square outside der offices?
I can't believe that.... programmes are €5 a go and the FAI aren't making a major profit... why don't they run this internally just using a printing company ? Or is that like asking how long is a piece of string ?!![]()
lads what about a protest in merrion square outside der offices?
"If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff
Just before the teams came out i took a bundle of the cards from a UCD fan and as i was handing them out some old fella started shouting "if yer a true fan ye wouldn't be doing that. That's wrong lad. Ye should be banned"![]()
So if i was a true fan i'd support the FAI for what it is now - shambolic - would i![]()
Finn Harps Dot Com
www.finnharps.com
Has anyone got any pictures of the protest? How did it look?
Try here, I was too late to get further down to get better pics![]()
http://www.yafro.com/?action=viewpho...picfroserver=1
the football ones are crap but the japanese lass on the right are ok![]()
Just a few points, you don't have to let a steward frisk you - you can request a member of the Gardai to be present. I don't see why they'd stop you bringing in a bit of paper.
Secondly, you should contact every media organisation going about what the stewards were doing, under FAI orders. Not allowing a peaceful protest is a bigger story than the protest itself IMO.
From the sounds of it, many people didn't even think to hide them. Next time (if there is one), they'll be wiser.Originally Posted by Macy
Very true.Secondly, you should contact every media organisation going about what the stewards were doing, under FAI orders. Not allowing a peaceful protest is a bigger story than the protest itself IMO.
You can't spell failure without FAI
As was told on Liveline today. Joe lapped it up. Very bad PR for the FAI. They made it hit the airwaves by trying to take away the protest.Originally Posted by Macy
which was exactly my point
round 1 to the protestors
the fai even fck up a clampdown
idiots they cant do ANYTHING right
and someone is DEFFO on the take
yeah, in many ways I think the clampdown has actually worked in favour of the protesters. Shows the FAI up for the crappy little politburo they are
this was in the indo:
Fans at Lansdowne Road last night for the international against Croatia showed their disapproval at recent events in Merrion Square by booing president Milo Corcoran when he took to the pitch for the pre-match ceremony, while there were reports that anti-FAI placards were confiscated outside the ground.
If any of you are in Dublin this Friday night why not go along to see Shels (probably) win the league. Live TV, all the FAI suits there for the presentation. Plus you'd get noticed on TV 100 times quicker in a attendence of a 3/4 thousand as apposed to 30 thousand
Well done to all the lads who put in the hard work and to everyone who took part. It was definitely a success because the FAI were panicked into scoring an own goal. Looked the video and you could hear just about hear the boos although the PA was blaring. There was a substantial amount of people booing. Sku showed a brief view of the terrace and one elderly man holding his red card up.
Only heard a bit on the Joe Duffy programe, but it shows up Corcoran
Delaney and their lackeys for the fascists that they are.
It shows how scared they are though, if they resortd to those tactics. So much for democracy and free speech.
Funnily enough the thought occurred to me during the week that they might try to confiscate the cards. Then I thought that they couldn't be that stupid.................they were!!! and they are!!!!!!!!!
Milo you well might ask "How long is a piece of string" .
Rember this; "Long runs the Fox"
That big skeleton is going to come tumbling out of the locker one of these days.![]()
Not sure of the law at public events but if someone wants to search your person and that includes a pat down IMO it should be done in private
One of the guys on Joe Duffy contacted his solicitor and said that it was technically assault for stewards to take anything that isn't illegal off you in a public place (i.e. outside Lansdowne where they were confiscating the cards).Originally Posted by onceahoop
Anyone want to take this further!![]()
I was going to suggest as well that everyone who's going to Richmond (especially with the live cameras) or Turner's X on Friday to bring them along and protest against Milo or whichever suit is there to represent the FAIlures. Maybe someone can arrange to hand them out if there's any left over.
Also an idea might be to start a Christmas Card campaign for the boys in Merrion Square, making sure to use red envelopes. Nothing's guaranteed to frighten the FAI and their stewards more than "the bad colour". This colour attracts Those We Don't Speak Of (i.e. The Fans) - http://us.imdb.com/title/tt0368447/.![]()
The Evening Hearld actually had quite a big piece about it yesterday. No photos but it did mention the PA system getting turned up when the boos started and what a bad PR job they did with having Milo and O'Donaghue together + stopping fans with red cards. They did say though that the 'planned protest failed to really materialise', kind of a contradiction seeing as they put the bones of a page into their article.
As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.