Thread: protest summary

protest summary

people showed up we distributed the red cards and wait for it .............
    the stewards confiscated any red cards that people were seen with going in to the ground when i asked a steward why he was doing it he told me that all he knew was the order had come from above to take them off anybody who was seen with them .
    fair play to the lads from ucd longford bohs ccfc and of course robinski and onenil who organised it and anybody we missed
    save the sheep shaggers bring back beheadings for waherford

Yeah... had a ''Heated debate'' with some stewards in the upper east. One of them said he had been told to get the Guards if anyone attempted to distribute anything in the grounds. Had them all given out at that stage tho.

Special mention for elements in the UE for throwing them back at me & managing in one fell swoop to question my parentage, my intelligence & point out my resemblence to a certain part of the male anatotmy... Extended Delaney family maybe?
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Am I mistaken or was the volume of the PA turned up to drown out the booing for Corcoran ?

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Couldn’t believe the level of stewarding at the match, so we pay our money in but we are not allowed to show our disapproval? It turns me against the FAI even more

Don’t know how it looked on the North Terrace but if was funny how the 3 photographers and the cameraman were waiting to take photos of the fans with red cards when Milo came out.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

yea i thought they increased the volume of the PA which was disgraceful although i could still hear the boos from the west upper..i had a protest of me own by not buying a programme.

30 Posts
    We were frisked coming in to the North Terrace and saw a few
    "heated" debates with stewards along the way. The message was
    that they were just to make sure none of the red cards got into
    the ground.

Volume was deffo turned up the minute the booing started for Milo.

how scummy can the FAI get ?? Still, well done lads !!

they sure know how to make friends

i suppose thats the consequence of seeking all the publicity before the match really. at least they'll know the feelings of the fans, seeing as they were afraid of the protest. can't really blame them trying to stop it surely? yeah its a sh1tty thing to do, but if you were in their positions, you probably would've too. they know how we feel, thats what matters really.

did we get any coverage? tv/paper/anything?

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain
    Yeah... had a ''Heated debate'' with some stewards in the upper east. One of them said he had been told to get the Guards if anyone attempted to distribute anything in the grounds. Had them all given out at that stage tho.
    I wonder on what legal basis the guards would be called, what law was being broken?

3,500 Posts
    My mate had the cards he had for distribution taken off him, mine was safely zipped up in my pocket so I got it in. Standing next to one of the exits on the north terrace with it when Milo came out. One of the stewards asked me could he see it, but said he'd give it so I let him have it. He took a look at it and returned it, saying "you're fcuking right!"

dont let them away with it

get out to merrion square

let the bastids have it both barrels

i wouldnt go to one of their
    "friendlies" if u paid me

scum

shankilwanderer
    Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Am I mistaken or was the volume of the PA turned up to drown out the booing for Corcoran ?
    Yeah they did, you still managed to hear the boos on Sky.

Quote Originally Posted by green army
    yea i thought they increased the volume of the PA which was disgraceful although i could still hear the boos from the west upper..i had a protest of me own by not buying a programme.
    at €5 i don't blame u
    "If I wanted you to understand it, I would have explained it better." Johan Cruyff

barglee
    maybe the portugal match if everyone refused to buy a programme?

getting everyone to boycott the match would be very difficult but maybe hit them by not buying the programme

20 Posts
    Photo in the Star of the protest, inside back cover. Scanned The Indo, Times, and Sun and they hoad nothing. Fair play to everyone who was involved. I reckon we should look at this as a dry run and be more prepared the next time (perhaps pick certain points a few hundred metres away from the ground where we could hand them out).

PA thing was a disgrace.

Technically they could argue we were breaking litter laws, while the Green cards for games the FAI give out are ok if there's a licence (although given it's the FAI I doubt they'd fork out the 20 quid, literally something like that, to distribute them).

As for the stewards, they were doing their 'jobs' but shouldn't be allowed to confiscate and it's bloody wrong that free speech isn't allowed.

Is your own argument so weak Milo that you can't others to question it?
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Thanks to all that held up the cards, sorry for those who were robbed of theirs by the stewards.

As I entered the North Tce they were making announcements that anyone holding a red card would not be admitted into the ground, sh*ts!

I have 5 left.

1 for Milo Corcoran
    1 for John Delaney
    1 for Michael Cody
    1 for Tadgh O'Hallaran
    1 for John O'Donoghue

All being posted out to them today.

Might be good to aim for a Programme Boycott for the Portugal game.... could hand out cards saying "If you disagree with the way the fai are running irish soccer ........ blah blah blah, please refrain from buying a programme at tonights game" that way it wouldn't matter if people didn't get the leaflets in or not. Plus there is 3 months to plan for the Portugal game, so shoud be easier to get organised and get the word out.

lads guerrilla warfare - never cede your enemy the battlefield of their choosing - suprise is the greatest weapon v a larger opponent

ie ive watched 2 much sky coverage of iraq but basically get a private email list and plan A SINGLE action - a symbolic one that 10/12 ppl can put together which will get MAXIMUM exposure of Delaney and Milo but offers them no chance to sabotage

the fact that you got these idiots to alert security is a victory in itself - they are afraid of your protest - you have won round one!

well done so far - but stick the knife in - they dnt want their dirty linen washed in public!

Quote Originally Posted by Seamuslawless
    Might be good to aim for a Programme Boycott for the Portugal game.... could hand out cards saying "If you disagree with the way the fai are running irish soccer ........ blah blah blah, please refrain from buying a programme at tonights game" that way it wouldn't matter if people didn't get the leaflets in or not. Plus there is 3 months to plan for the Portugal game, so shoud be easier to get organised and get the word out.
    The FAI don't get much from the programmes, a company called Century Publishing get most of it, whatever the FAI get is minimal. Clever guys, aren't they?